We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varkala Marine Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala Marine Palace
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The beach is very close by so it was nice to just go for a swim with very little walk. The rooms are also very nice and we enjoyed very much and the people so friendly.

Very nice food also, good breakfast, with some nice vegetarian options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pernille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    79
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
182
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We picked this place based on the reviews on the this website, no doubt about the location, staff, and food. The resort is located towards the south cliff…the papanasam beach
The restaurant serves delicious and fresh food.
Only thing that needs improvement is the rooms. We selected the high end apartment suite..but the interior of the room is very old and untidy. It really needs improvement like a high end suite..we could see ants, reptiles in the rooms and wash rooms..gardens and lawn could be maintained to look better..The rooms on the ground floor don’t have sea view so at least you will expect a good interior in the high end suite. FYI - No Air conditioners…

Bhasker and Vishnu both are very nice and always happy to help.
Altogether a relaxing vacation..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikash_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

With huge, comfortable (but not overly luxurious) rooms, a plentiful breakfast that was included, good food otherwise and very friendly management, this was very good value for money and a lovely place to spend a few days. It is right on the water but don't expect a wide beach where you can lay down your towel, kick back and get a tan. There is access to the water and it is OK for a swim to cool off but there is not really a beach there. The is really only one "beach" (as we know it) in Varkala as far as we could see and that it is down from the cliff that is in all the pictures, a short pleasant 10 minutes stroll away. The Marine Palace has some reclining chairs to spend your days on facing the sea and the small grounds are well kept and very relaxing. Great place to watch the sun set. Food in the restaurant was good but would also recommend walking to "the cliff" for dinners as the choices there plentiful and also very good, the seafood there slightly cheaper too (due to the competition I suppose) as far as we could tell.

Room Tip: We stayed in a heritage superior room facing the sea which was great. Had its own verandah where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are excellent value for money and give you some luxury on your travels.

They seem to have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable - lots of towels, your own balcony with a sea view and loungers, and a good mosquito net (you need it!).

The location is amazing, right on the water and the food is great (especially breakfast).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodrowhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

During my travels through Kerala I stayed three times with Bhasker and Vishnu, the managers, always coming back to the Marine Palace as it truly felt like a home away from home.
Super clean rooms with clean towels every day and incense burning on the terrace in the evenings and a garden right at the beach. Very nice, caring and helpful people. The location is great: Away from the busy North Cliff but still in walking distance to shops and restaurants. There is also a great little restaurant right next door where one can have breakfast and watch dolphins and eagles with great service and good food! Thanks again to all the wonderful people there. I hope to be able to return very soon!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for nearly three weeks, relaxing by the beach in Varkala. Babu the owner and his assistant Vishnu have got a happy knack of mixing an Indian feel with western service standards.

Pros :
- Room. Had a big room with a balcony where I could sit, read, net surf and look at the ocean. Comfortable bed. Space for hanging and storing clothes. Small table and fridge. They gave me a kettle and tea and coffee as well. No A/C but fans and being by the beach, the breezes and fans made A/C unnecessary. Bathroom was clean and large. No hot water but again it didn't matter. Fresh good quality towels every day and lots of little touches in the room care that made me feel looked after. For example, someone comes around every night at dusk and lights a candle lamp on the balcony table.

- Service. These guys really understand service. Service standards and attitude are first class. yet the place is so relaxed. Casual enough to hang about in a lungi and not much else, but service never slipped. Nothing is too much trouble and they really go the extra mile. Anything you need can be arranged by Babu and Vishnu. They even found me a replacement Mac charger in Trivandrum. Needle in a haystack, but they found it and organised me getting it.

- Location. At the southern end of Varkala beach, so away from the main Varkala tourist area. But close enough to be there in about five minutes walk. Many restaurants and places to buy stuff to choose from. All overlooking the ocean. Really liked Varkala. And along the clifftop and at Marine Palace there is no vehicle traffic. So no beeping horns to listen to day and night.
And Marine Palace is right on the beach. Less than one minute walk from my room through the resort and restaurant and I was on the beach. And going away from the main tourist areas towards the south from Marine Palace you can walk for km's along the beach seeing only the fisherman, crabs and not much else. Beautiful.

- Restaurant. The restaurant is leased to an independent operator by Marine Palace. Food there could be really good. I felt that the Indian dishes, i.e Aloo Gobi, Veg Curry, were somewhat modified for western tastes, which made them less appealing. A lot of western items on the menu as well a wide range of juices, fruits and southern Indian dishes. Best part was the very fresh fish available every night. Fish tikka was great.

- Free wi-fi. Available but at times unreliable. This was usually due to a server or power outage in the area and not to do with the resort system. Wi-fi available in room and restaurant.

Cons :
None.

Loved this place. It is a fantastic place to stay for a chilled out beach holiday. Close enough to the variety of restaurants and cafes and shops to keep you entertained if you want and far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Quiet at night. Lots of yoga options in the area if that's your thing as well as Ayurvedic massages.
It's a great location, comfortable, clean and reasonably priced with stand-out service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

we didn´t know what to expect when we arrived, as our friend has made the booking of the room s @ varkala marine palace....one thing for sure is that we really do appreciate our friend to book romms at this amazing place. well we arrived, were immediately greeted by the owner of this beautiful place. rooms...gotta love them. food...hmmm.yes gotta love that , too ( thanks ;o) ) . and the location right by the beach and away from the busy cliff is just perfect. Thanks babu for the great stay hope to see u again one day in paradise ;o)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.4 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#7 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala Marine Palace

Property: Varkala Marine Palace
Address: Varkala Marine Palace Pvt Ltd Papanasam Beach Janardhanapuram,, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varkala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#4 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the prime properties as far as Varkala is concerned owing to our location. We are rightly on Papanasam beach, ideally in between the north & South Cliffs. We do have road accessibility inside to our resort. We offers 6 sea face extra spacious (suites) high end rooms, with private kitchen, attached toilets, balconies overlooking sea, running hot water as the specialties. Three rooms are on top floor, made in traditional Kerala style wooden cottage types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Varkala Marine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varkala Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Varkala
Varkala Marine Palace Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing