We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, beautiful beach and great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala Marine Palace
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful beach and great food!”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed at the Marine Palace for 6 nights in April. It's located just off the beach with a fantastic restaurant (we ate there must evenings!). Vishnu the manager was great..... Nothing too much trouble.....don't be concerned about the need to pay 50% deposit in advance by Western Union but make sure you take your receipt along with you
Rooms fab..... Clean towels and sheets every day..... We had a downstairs suite which had a small kitchen with fridge which was really useful. They also supplied beach towels and mats which was a nice touch
Location great as not at the touristy end of the beach - only a 5-10m walk to get to that end if you want a more lively night out
Beach spotlessly clean, sea a bit tougher at that end but there was always a lifeguard on duty
Perfect place to relax.... Would go back there in an instant!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyGaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    81
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
188
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in Varkala Marine Palace for 9 nights at the end of February / early March. For us, the location of the hotel was perfect: between the south cliff and the north cliff, right on the beach. The room was very atmospheric and though there was no AC, the temperature by the end of February was still cool enough to be comfortable. The restaurant with the hotel is OK, and the restaurants on the busy north cliff are about five to ten minutes walk away. Both mr. Bahsker and mr. Vishnu were great hosts ... always ready to assist or to give advise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJJ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at the Varkala Marine Palace for three nights at the end of our trip to Kerala.

Originally I was torn between staying on the north or south cliff and then stumbled upon this place on Trip Advisor stating it was on the only accommodation actually on the beach. It is exactly that and exactly what we were after. Ultimately we were there to hang out on the beach, not shop or hang out in bars. Great not to have to walk up and down cliff stairs to access beach.

Good restaurant attached to the accommodation. Breakfast was included as a $ amount to spend on the restaurant menu. Nice to be able to choose what you want instead of a set menu.

Also restaurant next door and a few shops about 200m away to buy essentials.

We stayed in an upstairs, deluxe room. Our room was huge and included bathroom as well as small kitchenette with fridge and coffee making facilities. The bed was massive. Think it was three singles joined together. It was so big it was almost comical! No air con in the rooms but we didn't need it. Fans were enough.

All the small things were what made this place great. Fridge in the kitchen, beach towels and mats provided, table and chairs outside (some even had day beds). wfif. Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh flowers in the room.

We went up to the north cliff at night for dinner and a few drinks. Loads of places to choose from with all pretty much the same menu, happy hour cocktails etc.

You can rent sun beds and beach umbrellas. 2 beds and umbrella 450 Rs for the day. Beach was pretty quiet during the day (late March). Water very rough to swim in. Definitley need to swim between the flags!

Would highly recommend this place looking for a relaxed beach holiday in India.

Room Tip: I didn't see the downstairs room but was happy to pay the extra for the upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noogs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

If there was a review above "excellent" we'd rate this hotel that!
Vishnu on reception was such a nice guy. He definitely exceeded our expectations, provided excellent service and really made sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Also, he REALLY helped us out of a sticky situation when our motorbike broke down.
The guys at the restaurant were amazing, and the food and service was perfect.
The rooms were so reasonably priced, big, serviced daily,and perfect for couples, a family or groups. We would recommend this place to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Marine Palace has a lot going for it! Staff were always helpful friendly and flexible. We had two different rooms both big with comfortable beds and great view of the beach. Rooms have little kitchenettes with a fridge, excellent for having watermelon and drinks in the arvos on the verandah. No Air con but was not needed with two fans and windows with fly screens. No TV also not needed. Great location right on the beach with convenience of a number of eating places or a walk up to the cliff was not too far. Beach was interesting at the south end with quiet area going further south and Puja rituals happening daily. Food at Varkala was probably the best for choice that we struck in Kerala. Vishnu and Baskar were made our 2 week stay a happy one.

Room Tip: The first of the Upstairs rooms with the extended verandah was excellent space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This place is the best accommodation we've found in Kerela. Was gping to stay two nights but ended up
staying four. It is right on the beach you can hear the waves from your bed. Our ( two adults, two kids) room was spacious and clean. Warm water, kitchenette. Wonderful lounging area with hammock etc for us right outside our door. The adjacent restaurant, though not part of the 'hotel', was our favorite even though we tried the higher rated places on the north cliff.

The manager was very helpful. He arranged an Ayurveda massage at a nearby 'clinic'. Wife loved it, but the whole pseudo-health-medicine ordeal was not my cup of tea.

The previous reviewer had a bad experience with the laundry service. I can only say that my family and I
felt very safe and comfortable the entire time, and that I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for good-value clean relaxing rooms in a prime location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This place was truely amazing.
The rooms were wonderful, the staff was superduperfriendly and the view to the beach....still dreaming of it!
Travelled through India for a while, seen so many beautiful places.
But fell in love with varkala marine palace for sure!
Would love to go back and enjoy this peaceful place again :)

Thank you Bhasker/Vishnu & all others for the amazing time!

Greetings from Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yfke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala Marine Palace

Property: Varkala Marine Palace
Address: Varkala Marine Palace Pvt Ltd Papanasam Beach Janardhanapuram,, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#4 Family Hotel in Varkala
#5 Best Value Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the prime properties as far as Varkala is concerned owing to our location. We are rightly on Papanasam beach, ideally in between the north & South Cliffs. We do have road accessibility inside to our resort. We offers 6 sea face extra spacious (suites) high end rooms, with private kitchen, attached toilets, balconies overlooking sea, running hot water as the specialties. Three rooms are on top floor, made in traditional Kerala style wooden cottage types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Varkala Marine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varkala Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Varkala
Varkala Marine Palace Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing