We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly comfortable stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly comfortable stay ”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This simple hotel was comfortable and the rooms are spacious, all set out around the pool. We visited out of the peak season so more or less had a private pool. Restaurant was fine, although we only had breakfast there, eating lunch and dinner down by the cliff where there were plenty of restaurants with sea views.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend if staying in Varkala.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank purplenickbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM-BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us.

We hope you can share your good experiences with your near and dear ones.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    114
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
85
91
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel was selected and booked for 6 nights by Maavalan Travels (www.maavalanindiatravels.com) for our month long private tour to India as a place to have some relaxation from extensive sightseeing. Nice small hotel, 8 min leisure walk from the cliff/beach (have a flash light after sunset). Hotel has backup generator to provide power during frequent power outages. Well maintained, clean, very spacious rooms, all around the pool. Beds are with thick pillow top, very soft. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We requested to have a kettle and small refrigerator in the room during our stay. Newly purchased kettle was provided and we got access to the hotel's refrigerator. We used restaurant only for breakfast since it was included with our stay, which was OK. We used numerous restaurants on the cliff because they offer fresh seafood, tasty European baking products, good espresso. Hotel has ayurvedic doctor and therapists who provided various treatments that served the purpose of our stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your good and wonderful experiences with us.

Deshadan is committed to offer every possible services to make all our guest feel at home.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Just spent another 15 night stay at the Deshadan, we have been coming for several years now and will be back again next year. This small friendly hotel is a real joy, set just 5 mins walk back from the cliff top in a quiet area. Big thanks to everyone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sky5Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your whole hearted support as we do not have any words to express our happiness.

Thank you so much.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in January for the second time in 3 years and would thoroughly recommend it. Thank you to all the staff especially the restaurant staff for making us again so welcome. Felt very sad to leave but I am sure we will return.

Room Tip: Not too near reception as the rooms do not get any sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We do not have enough words to express our sincere thanks for remembering us .

Thank you once again.

Looking forward to serving you soon.

Warm Regards,


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January 2014. The staff were very helpful for example they kept my wine bought from the Liquor Store chilled and brought it to my room on demand! When I left my jewellery behind after we had moved to our next location the hotel staff arranged for it to be brought to me in Kovalum! The only thing I did not like was how easy the birds were able to access the dining room. It is only a few minutes walk to the beach/restaurants but not an easy walk when it is dark and a torch is recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for choosing Deshadan Varkala.

It was our duty to make sure that every guest feels at home and to maintain the highest standards of Cutomer service.

WARM REGARDS


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed three nights, between Xmas and New Year, having chosen this place via reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel lives up to its good reviews. Staff very helpful, rooms are fine and the pool and added extra to swimming at Varkala beach. We arranged via the hotel for a taxi to pick us up at Trivandrum airport, which made arrival very easy (cost very modest by European standards at 1,500 rupees for a 50km journey).
Varkala cliff top and beach remain relatively unspoilt by tourism and development, with a mix of restaurants, cafes and juice bars. Most serve beer (sometimes discreetly) and several serve very good and cheap cocktails. (Cochin Fort, north of Varkala, is less inclined to produce alcohol in its hotels).
Tourism is Kerala's main driver of the economy, and there are some risks that its continued growth is having adverse effects. We steered clear of Kovalam, which has suffered from too many package hotels. Varkala remains an attractive place to visit albeit that a few efforts at litter-picking on the cliff paths down to the beach would not go amiss. You would have thought it was worth the hotels and restaurants clubbing together to organise. Same could be said, in spades, for the famed area of beach at Cochin Fort, where the picturesque Chinese fishing nets now stand surrounded by plastic bags and bottles.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagnusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Varkala.

Sorry for the coffee taste; hope we can full fill your taste buds.

Looking forward tom serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Unfortunately our flights were changed and thus we couldn't stay the second night we had booked. The one night we did stay though was excellent. We were able to check in very quickly, the room was immaculate and after a month around India we finally found a bed that wasn't like rock! I felt like I slept on a cloud!!
The only negatives were the WIFI was hopeless -they give you 2 options to log onto for free but both dropped out regularly and weren't available in the room - which is not essential to some but as we were trying to confirm flights it was annoying. The other would be the food. We were starving when we arrived so ordered food from the restaurant and literally out of 4 dishes we ate about 6 mouthfuls...horrible....and they charged for everything. We didn't realize how close it is to a HUGE amount of restaurants....we found out shortly after.
Neither would prevent me from coming back, I would definitely stay here again - its close enough to everything but being a little stroll away gave us the peace and quiet we were craving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYAUSSIE_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Varkala.

We have understood that your overall experience was good and at the same time we have looked into your concerns.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#14 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Property: Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing