We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, brilliant staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel, brilliant staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. Pool is also very good. The only issue is that the hotel is a ten minute walk from the main cliff, where the beach and all the shops and restaurants are located. At night you will need to bring a flash-light (which the hotel staff provided for us) in order to find your way back to the hotel But in some ways it is nice to be away from the hustle of the main cliff front. Breakfast was good also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your good response.

We expect to have such good feedbacks from all our guests who stays in Deshadan properties.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    112
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
83
90
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

unfortunately I fell ill, on my second night during a short holiday in varkala. The staff was so very helpful, they went out of their way to make sure I was ok. A person from the hotel made arrangements for a doctor, when that was not possible as it was a sunday. personally took me to the hospital, helped in the translation ironed everything out. Not just that, the next morning the gm had arranged to get my tests delivered to me. which was really very sweet.

They did all this without me even asking. they went the extra mile, they even offered to make food not on the menu, that would make me feel better..

this really made me fall in love with the place and people here. well i recovered the next day itself. but stayed another extra day.

Food is very very good. the pool is always clean and 7 out of five stars for how they treat their guests. OOOhhh and the beds are so soft and springy, loved them !!

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adi1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your encouraging comments.

Deshadan would like to make a difference by providing the services which would be out of the way as mentioned and to create an everlasting impression.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent Head, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked into the Deshaden for three nights and extended our stay for another week. If you have the time you can easily slot in to a very relaxed holiday in Varkala staying at the Deshaden. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the pool is magic, the rooms are spacious, very clean and nicely decorated and are serviced daily. The beds are large and extremely comfortable (just like clouds) with good linen and pillows, a little of a rarity we found. The bathroom is good, everything works and it has a shower curtain. Wow. The hotel is in good condition, well kept and the gardens are nice, creating a beautiful setting. The breakfast is served in the open air restaurant in the garden, is a la carte, complimentary and very good. The beach or more accurately during our stay the cliff top, is (we timed it ) 4 minutes 20 seconds down some sandy lane ways . This provides lots and lots of cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and are probably very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judit731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

As rightly mentioned any guest staying in Deshadan Varkala feels the same.

Our motto is to create home away home feel to all the guest.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards

Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The resort is no where close to "luxury"... the location is good but not that great. But still the overall experience was very good because the staff is very good.. they go that extra mile to make your stay comfortable. The breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your sincere thoughts about our property.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days. The resorts is at a walkable distance from the cliff. The time we went to Varkala was not pleasant, but the stay in the resorts made us happy and enjoyable. The room service was excellent. Pool a great plus point in the resorts. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Varkala.

We are happy to note that you have enjoyed our pool and the overall ambiance.

Looking forward tom serving you agaon.

Warm Regards


Anup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

There needs to be a subtext added in here, I proposed to my girlfriend in the pool so it can't be too bad!! Very pleasant place to spend a few days, short walk to the strip of restaurants at the cliff and a nice pool with friendly staff. Breakfast was fine and the room was very nice, nothing at all to complain about. Would thoroughly recommend if visiting varkala for a few days

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandShelley80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for visiting Deshadan Varkala.

We are happy to note that you had a great experience and we also hope that you can spread your
good experiences with all your near and dear ones.

WARM REGARDS


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed in this resort in july.The property even though small is well maintained.The rooms are very clean and comfortable.The food was good.The staff were very helpful.I was on an official trip.The manager helped me to locate different places that i had to visit and even offered me to use his scooter for short visit.Also my train was in the evening and the hotel didnt charge anything for late checkout.Its one of the few resorts in varkala which is fully operational through out the year.The overall experience was great.Looking forward to stay again in this property next month

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vigneshnayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,


Our basic motto is to make sure every guest feel at home and we are making sure that every single guest staying in Deshadan properties takes memorable experience back home.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#8 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Property: Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing