We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little hotel with great staff!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I loved this hotel! You couldn't ask for more from a hotel in this price range. The staff couldn't be more helpful, they will go out of their way to meet any requests and can arrange cars, sight-seeing and excursions at great prices (not with the mark-up you'd expect from a hotel). The hotel is small (22 rooms) so it is relaxed and a great place to lounge by the pool. The cliff top and beach is about a 5 minute walk away (the hotel has torches for night time as Varkala is not big on street lights but with a torch it really isn't a problem). Being away from the chaos of the cliff top makes the hotel an ideal retreat but the close location means it's really convenient. We had an early morning flight when we left and the manager Abilash gave us a room to use right up until we left without any charge for the extra day. Also, the manager's assistant Sajin got us an upgrade for free at another hotel when we went off exploring for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimieeandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for highlighting the comments which we are known for.

It makes our job even tougher as we need to maintain the best of Deshadan hospitalities at all times.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    114
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
91
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Was fortunate enough to be working in Trivandrum and was able to make the short trip up to Varkala several times, staying in the Deshadan on three occasions. It was wonderful - the staff couldn't have been more helpful or obliging. The rooms are spotless and very pleasant. And the pool was perfect after a day's riding around on an Enfield Bullet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richgSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great way to express your experience of Deshadan Varkala.

As rightly said a great place to take a break and enjoy a wonderful drive from Trivandrum to Varkala.

Thank you once again for your great comments.

Warm Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a very nice time at the hotel. The rooms were really nice with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. The only negative is that the bathrooms do not have screens on their windows and have a large opening where the fan has been incorrectly installed (it sucks air in instead of taking it out as an exhaust fan should). During our two day stay, we were visited by a bunch of fun insects including a flying cockroach, a spider the size of a hand and a hornet.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road as the rooms inside the hotel complex are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerfromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your feedbacks.

Having read your concerns we have taken necessary steps to make sure such incidents does not occur again.

Assuring the best services at all times.

Warm Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A friend and I stayed here recently. It is a really nice quiet and comfortable hotel. Breakfast is good and we found the staff to be especially friendly and efficient. The pool area is good and the hotel provides free wifi. The rooms were clean and spacious but not well lit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

Requesting you to share your experiences with your and and dear ones.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife, a friend and myself stayed here as the second hotel on a 3-week tour of Kerala and Tamil Nadu in October. We stayed for 4 nights before moving on to Aleppey. The hotel is small and set in a quiet location and all the better for it. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. They face the swimming pool and are moment's walk to the restaurant. We had a lot of excursions and saw some remarkable sights in the vicinity. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and we want particularly to thank Soju, Abilash, Sunil and Joshi for their attention and kindness. The menu is tremendous and helped to extend our experience of Keralan meals. My wife (a chef) had lessons from Joshi who was an excellent teacher. Thank you again to all the staff.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you immensely to share your great experiences during your stay in Deshadan Varkala.

The highlight of your stay was definitely the food experiences your have shared with our staff and we are sure that the outcome will be tremendous.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent two nights here over New Year. We've been coming to southern India for the last 20 years on holiday, only this time with our kids too. The staff were charming. The food was excellent. The pool was clean. The family bungalow was perfect. Very clean and great value. It is a little back from the main drag/beach, but this is a good thing. Very relaxing. It takes five minutes to get to the beach and bars/cafes etc. We'd come here again the next time we visit this part of the world. Thanks to everyone there from two happy parents and three very happy kids.

Room Tip: The family bungalow has two doubles next to each other with one entrance and hall for both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

We have only one thing to say " Thank you very much for the great comments".

Looking forward to get such experiences from all our guest staying at Deshadan properties.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with a group at the end of an xodus group. My husband and I loved this hotel. It's just a short walk from the cliff location which was ideal for quiet and privacy. We had a large poolside room which was clean with a really comfortable bed. The food was really good and good value. Power cuts happen but having travelled around India over the last 2 weeks - that's just life! Good to get free wifi throughout the complex. Staff were helpful and arranged transfers at good pricing and also some yoga at an Ashram about 100m away - great yoga - only R350 and chargeable to hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Varkala for your extended stay.

We are extremely grateful for sharing your experiences.

Looking forward for serving you better in your next visit.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Property: Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing