We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Little Hotel”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great stay at the Deshadan. Abilash along with all the staff will go out of their way to make your stay a trully wonderful experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the beds are just to die for. The buffet breakfast was abit hit and miss depending on how many guests were staying, having said that they offer everything under the sun and it's all great -first time i've had a curry for breakfast. Abilash took my husband and I to a nearby temple to take part in a cermony which was a wonderful privillidge and he also organised for us to take ride on an elephant.
We stayed for 7 nights but many guests seem to use the hotel for a 1- 2night stop over before travelling on so there were many days when we had the pool to oursleves.
Deffinitely recomend !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPMason52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for mentioning "Will definitely recommend".

Our motto is to make the guest feel home away home and with Abhilash and his team being the pillars of the property we are sure to maintain Deshadan Varkala the best in town.

Wishing you all the very best and looking forward to serving you again.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    114
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
91
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Deshadan. The staff were really sweet and helpful. The hotel is a little oasis, being walking distance to the cliff restaurants and shops (bring a torch at night) The room was very clean (cleaned daily) and had a TV with multiple channels (some in English), wifi, fan, AC. The swimming pool was clean and food cooked at the hotel. Nice breakfast at the hotel and room service available. The only place Ive stayed at in India which has had western spring matrass beds. Heavenly. Im not sure about the tipping box in reception. Depending who you speak to, room and restaurant staff are/arent given part of these contributions. Maybe that was just a misunderstanding on my behalf. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misskrissMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

The term OASIS is such a valuable gift to us.

We hope to have such great comments from all our guest staying with us.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Rooms situated around the central pool- not used
Good breakfast
WiFi- in lobby and helpful staff used PC to print off travel docs
Light airy room, good layout, large soft bed.
Intermittent hot water
a/c and fan
TV,, table and chairs
Temple and cliff side near by
Reception changes money
Auto rickshaw 40 rupee to temple
Really enjoyed this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacredcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

It is great to read such great comments and we hope to maintain such great standard of service to all our valuable guests.

Thank you and wishing to serving you better in your visit.

Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We found we had made the perfect choice of place for our 6 night stay in Varkala. Do yourself a favour and eat at their restaurant as they serve authentic Keralan food, a rarity in the area, you won't be dissapointed! We enjoyed every meal that we had there. We stayed in a poolside room which was kept spotless by the housekeeping boys. All staff provided excellent service and ensured we were well looked after. It offers the best of both worlds in being close to the Cliff but also offering a pool which allows you some quiet time away from it all. Should we be lucky enough to have the opportunity to return to Varkala, we simply wouldn't need to consider anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

What more can we expect as such great comments help us to improve more.

Looking forward to get such more comments and to be the best in town.

Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am currently living in Kochi and wanted to go for a weekend get away.A friend of mine suggested Deshadan Resort.We were very happy and was really confortable.Very friendly and professional staff,Room and bathroom was very clean...Lovely pool.Good breakfast in the morning and so over all noting to complain...Keep up the good work guys...Three chears !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepsmath77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your great comments.

Hope you can share your good experiences with your loved and near ones.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lovely experience at this hotel for me n my girl friend.all staffs are extremely courteous& Friendly including general manager abhi(hope I spelt rite).lovely food in the cliff and in the hotel aswell
Since it’s the last part of our journey we thought of taking a private taxi from the cliff as we are planning to save a few shilling .Got a bit less than the hotel offered. Nice driver.But the journey to airport was snails pace.Taxi arrived on time.Heavy rain . Driver extremely friendly and helpful as me and girlfriend get planked into sagging back seat……doors kept shut with help of coat hangers…….air conditioning supplied by lack of windscreen. ready for journey n car didn’t start. Other taxi drivers give us a push start…driver proudly announces scheduled route etc pilot style……no safety briefing though!one wiper doesn’t work. ."we asked him the reason and he replied with a smile one is more than enough for him So now we were going at a snail's pace so to avoid death.my girl friend given out to me for this heaven forbid decision of getting a private taxi n try to save a few shilling by chancing LIFE…
AFTER ALL VARKALA IS A NICE N PEACEFUL LOCATION N BETTER THAN GOA……HIGLY RECOMMEND EXCEPT THE TAXI IN CLIFF

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davedude80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

It was wonderful to read and understand that you had a great stay but felt upset the way the taxi person operated.

We will look into the matter with the concerned authorities as such events bring down the image of the location.

Looking forward to serving you better.

Thanks and Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed at the Deshadan in October, the hotel was spotlessly clean and the pool was fabulous. The location was perfect - close enough to the cliff to pop to the restaurants but far away enough to ensure peace and quiet.

We were stupid enough to leave our passports, cash and credit cards in the hotel safe (entirely our fault), after a 3hour train journey to Aleppey we realised our mistake. We called the Deshadan and they sent someone over with them first thing the next morning so that we wouldnt have to waste a day of our holiday on the train. This was so kind and helpful and they did this without asking for any money - perfect service, a real home from home where the staff really go out of their way to look after you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experiences of Deshadan Hospitality.

We expect to offer the home away home experience to all our valued guest who has stayed with us.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Property: Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing