We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - stay in this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent - stay in this hotel!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in July / Aug 2012, it was a total treat to find such a wonderful place to stay. The hotel is very well maintained, clean everywhere and to a very high standard, the pool is a total luxury to get relief from the hot sun. The room feels like a 5 star hotel, large, with a great powerful hot shower, excellent AC and a great fan, plus a TV with English film channels! The restaurant is also excellent, the food is fresh and the best we had anywhere in the area. But despite all that the hotel has to offer it is the staff who make this hotel so special. The manager and his staff in every area of the hotel, reception, restaurant, room service staff and the night security guard are excellent. They are so friendly and so helpful. The night security guard doesn't speak a lot of English but he is total legend.

In summary if you can, stay in this hotel! It is without doubt the best place we stayed in India. We went for two nights and stayed for 6! That's how great it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA020277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

Iam sure any body will be total flattered with such heart touching comments.

Thank you so much ...

Our only request to you is to please patronize Deshadan properties; as Word of mouth marketing is the best marketing tool in the world.

Looking forward to serve you even better in other Deshadan properties.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    114
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
85
91
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed there back in February with two primary-school aged children and really enjoyed it. Waking up and diving straight into the pool felt like a great start of the day. Our room was on the ground floor with easy access to the pool but also quite noisy as you are literally next to other guests enjoying the pool. I know one mustn't complain about noise in India! I just wonder if a first floor room might have been a bit quieter. Also responding to an earlier comment - I myself did see the pool getting cleaned as the water got murky, the management was pretty adamant about it even though some guests were keen to have it as long as they could swim - which counts as customer service in my book. Based on our research this is one of the two hotels with swimming pools on the Cliff, and the other one is more expensive and not so nice. We did check as we originally only booked for 2 nights but then wanted to stay longer but they had no availability, so we had to find that other place with the swimming pool for the kids, but it was not as enjoyable as Deshadan. Lovely place! Nice food too, the only thing is that - I guess as everywhere else in India - the way the restaurants seem to work is that food takes absolute ages to arrive, so if you eat at the hotel place your order at least 40-60 minutes before you are planning to eat.

Room Tip: rooms by the pool are quite noisy and windows are very small = quite dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

Customer satisfaction is the ultimate goal of any service industry and we make sure that we keep up the reputation as we always have.

Thank you for your great comments as we look forward to receive such wonderful response from all our guest staying with Deshadan properties.

Hope you can spread the experiences with your near and loved ones.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We planned a family holiday in the resort. The resort was good and very calm. The serivce was good and the resort manager was there to assist and help us with all our queries. The food and the serivce was also good

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ramku_pillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your good experiences with Deshadan.

We hope that such experiences can be offered to all our guest staying at Deshadan properties.

Looking forward for serving you much better in your next visit.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very quiet hotel, not big hotel which human size hotel which was good for us, very well situated in Varkala ; very nice and clean swimming pool ; room are clean and good size and simple decoration ; good and trusted massage center ; very nice people working at this hotel , helpful ; we really enjoy our 4 days there with our daughter Eva 2 years old. Good breakfast, good food. We ve been to an excursion to the elephant farm and they arrange a car for us, they answer to our needs, very cool! No doubt, I will look for that hotel when I will be back in India, Kerala, Varkala.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Varkala.

We are really greatful for your great comments.

Looking forward for your revisit to Deshadan Varkala at the earliest.

Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ittre, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Excellent hotel with all required amenities for western visitors. Nice and service-oriented people, good food, very clean pool which is important after a hot day. Pleasant Ayurveda treatment to recommend and situated across the hotel entrance. Sure I'll be back when I will return to Kerala.
Also ocean is a walking distance from hotel and the cliff.coast area offers good shopping opportunities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Achilles9948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your great experiences.

We will continue to showcase the same hospitality to all our guest staying at Deshadan Varkala.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The highlight of this place is the pool. The rooms, most of which faces the pool are well maintained and comfortable. The property has a good restaurant which serves a decent variety of Indian and Continental cuisine. People are friendly and make you feel at home. As with most hotels in Varkala, they have an Ayurvedic center. My wife used it and was quite impressed with the service. The place is just a couple of hundred meters from the cliff and the cafes and hence is quite accessible as well.

Overall a very good experience - helped recharge my batteries after a hectic week at work. :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

As you have rightly said "a place to spend your weekends with peace of mind.

We have made sure that every guest feel at home and we will also request you to share your experiences with your known ones.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Deshadan is in a great location 5 minutes walk from the cafes, restaurants and shops of Varkala but is also quiet and relaxing. The pool is really nice and the rooms are comfortable. Definitely worth a look if you want to experience the relaxed vibe of Varkala but also have the comfort of a pool, tv, hot shower etc.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

It is definitely a great comment to feel proud about.

We would expect the same feedback and interest from all our guest who are staying at Deshadan properties..

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#7 of 50 in Varkala
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Property: Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing