We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky find!”
Review of Akhil Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akhil Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We loved our stay here. We had one of the first floor rooms over looking the pool with a big balcony. The pool was great, really clean and warm all the time. This was great as the beach was a bit of a walk down the cliff and not that clean. Really peaceful here. Brilliant staff. Beer available and even G and Ts. Was nice to return to our lovely surroundings after walking the cliff edge for food and shopping. Could be very windy along there so we found our hotel to be the perfect location. Massage was well worth the money and something quite different. The only downside was the food which we tried once. This is not a problem as there are so many fab restaurants on the doorstep. Really good coffee though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank figi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 401 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2011

Just returned from 2 wks stay in Varkala. Stayed at the Preeth for 13 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were excellent, always very polite and willing to help. [we spent a very interesting evening with them watching the India v England world cup cricket match, thank god we didn't lose!!].
We stayed in a non a/c cottage and found it to be quite comfortable, the ceiling fan worked well and there was an extractor fan in the bathroom that created a bit of a draft!!!
As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are nothing special and maybe you could get the same standard on the cliff front for a cheaper price but you are paying for the pool and surrounding gardens, for us this made it worth every penny. If you use the beach and want sunbeds and umbrella you will pay 450rps for 2 people per day ..... and you don't have the luxury of cold drinks on tap!!
We would definatly stay here again on our inevitable return to Varkala!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squashmanalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed in Varkala for 3 months (my wife was working at the hospital and my kids were going to a great swedish school in town). We spent our first week at Preeth and then returned once or twice a week for the following months to swim. The rooms are ok and the people who work there are very friendly, but it feels a bit overpriced. The kids loved the pool and the area around the pool made it convenient for meeting up with others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estlandsgatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Apart from a false start with a room that had not been cleaned we were very happy here. The place is ideal for little children who can be safe with a lovely clean pool. Beds were a little hard and room could do with a face-lift but management were fantastic and very helpful. Food can be delivered to the room and you have to try the Prawn Bryiani! This was a wonderful relaxing end of our trip and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The hotel was lovely we had our own apartment which was very clean and quite with a nice balcony. The pool was also lovely clean and big with loungers and towls all provided. The best thing about Preeth resort however was the staff who went out of their way to help and accomodate us. In one case I had to catch a train from Kerala to Delhi and unfortaunatly could not get a ticket. When one of the staff saw that i was upset by this he got up at 4am the next morning and waited in the train station untill he secured a ticket for me and got me on a train. Amazing thank you so much.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyKShiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We enjoyed our holidays couple days in akhil beach resort. Very helpful and nice behave all the staff except front office one staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_khalliswoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Nice and quiet resort with friendly staff and a great pool for the kids to play in. A bit overpriced. Rock hard beds.
A few minutes walk to the shops, restaurants and the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akhil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akhil Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road | Kurakanni, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#7 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $27 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akhil Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you can feel the rhythm of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Akhil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akhil Beach Hotel Varkala
Preeth Beach Hotel
Akhil Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing