We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great either”
Review of Akhil Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akhil Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Location:
The resort is pretty far away (2.5 km) from the main Varkala town, so you have to have your own vehicle or rent an auto if you want to move around.
However, it is a short walk from the beach.

Food:
Food was average. Nothing great to write about especially They could do with some better preparation of the Indian dishes.

Rooms:
Rooms were small. Hardly any place to move about. But they have a balcony with seating area which can be used an extension to the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sriniketana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Akhil Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 398 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Me & my wife had the awesome experience of spending 2 nights and 3 days in Akhil Beach Resort. As a newly married couple our experience was more than excellent. The rooms were fabulous for the price that we paid. Having worked in the tourism industry i was pleasantly surprised by the service that was provided. The staffs were friendly and helpful, we enjoyed the food and the pool to the fullest. I will recommend this resort for those who are planning to visit varkala for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bijomathew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and as it was so hot at the beach it was great to be able to laze around the pool in the shade. Quiet, friendly and cheap for a hotel and food was good. Close to beach and cliff tops bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The resort was earlier called as preeth but is now called akhil. Its a nice property with around 30 cottages. Each of the cottage is different from the other. The pool is big and nice and also has kids option.
The service is great, be it Sajid at the reception or the other people around. They also arrange an auto for me in the early morning hours. It is very close to the beach - walking distance. The food is also nice and tasty - especially the banana split.
Only drawback is not many indians book this hotel. We were the only indians while we were there. So you would feel that you are in a foreign country.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank Rajesh_Patnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked a deluxe ac room in this hotel on 13-3-14 through goibibo seeing good reviews in trip advisor. But when we reached there they said all rooms full and they arranged rooms in another sub standard resort near by. The rooms were small ,congested and without any facilities offered in trip advisor or goibibo . they didn't even provided a tv set which they highlighted in the booking site. we complained about this to the manager but he was so arrogant and said they are not responsible for what u see in trip advisor. We had to argue with the staff atleast three times a day and they keep on irritating us .. And ultimately spoiled our trip.. So my sincere advice is avoid this hotel ..

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Ajith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhilbeachresort, Manager at Akhil Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Most of the cases we try our best to explain the things clearly.Unfortunately people do not get what we intend to say and they think that we speak rude and arrogant. You booked through an agent and do not know what facilites are inside your package blankly think that everything is included in that price.We really had a tough time explaining things to you and you didn't show maturity to understand what your booking voucher says.It would have been wise if you could have checked the details before you paid the agent. You really do not know what are the faclities you get for the price you pay and type of accommodation you book since you done the booking on last moment. The hotel has Minimum 8 hrs to reconfirm the booking and before that you were here .So we accommodated you with the better accommodation than you booked and you knew about it coz we did show you the tariff difference but you didn't seem to understand and reacted like you are right always. You had lack of information about the booking you made and do not ready to admit whatever your booking voucher says.So in future we request you to book in advance and do contact us for better understanding for any clarifications regarding the rooms and faclities .Thank you for the valuable! time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at Akhil for 9 days in January, and it really was a splurge for our family. And totally worth it! We got a great deal on expedia for a standard room, and breakfast was included. The place is lovely and family friendly. The pool is gorgeous, with tile, and murals of mermaids, and lovely gardens all around. There were lots of other children around, and my kids were in bliss. The pool/garden was a grat place to lounge and read and sip milkshakes or a beer. A magical week went by, and I am grateful to have stayed here. Highly recommended to traveling families!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaDena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just returned from Varkala and Akhil was a great find. It exceeded my expectations. The standard room was large with fan and tv. The bathroom was very modern and everything was really clean. I had a lovely balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. The restaurant did some really nice Keralan meals and breakfast although not included was great and really cheap.
We enjoyed the swimming pool as my husband found getting up and down to the beach too difficult. Their treatment spa was also very good value. The location is really good as set back from the cliff but only minutes to restaurants ect. A real gem and excellent value.The staff were all very polite and helpful and do a great job keeping the gardens, pool and surrounding areas really clean. The room cleaning staff were also really good and did a great job.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skudderbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.2 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akhil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akhil Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road | Kurakanni, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#7 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $21 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akhil Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you can feel the rhythm of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Akhil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akhil Beach Hotel Varkala
Preeth Beach Hotel
Akhil Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing