We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pool, not so good service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akhil Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akhil Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
292 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice pool, not so good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

At Akhil is quite usual that you have to change rooms at least once as their booking policy is a bit weird. Also it is quite usual that they don't ever clean your room unless you specificaly ask them to every day. However, the cleaning ladies will wake you up every day at 7.30 with their loud voices, eventhough after you tell them not to do so.
And if you pay with credit card you will be added up a 3% to your entire bill and will be charged in euros/dollars instead of in rupies (they do the conversion).
Finaly, the day before my leave I asked them to book a taxi for the next day as it was leaving to the airport very early. They assured me the taxi booking was done, but the next morning no taxi did turn up and there was no one in reception to explain why.
Akhil has got a beautiful swiming pool and great gardens.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor, they are less noisy and those on the ground floor are extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterElbaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    151
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
113
133
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I and my family spent 14 days in Akhil beach resort in October. The pool here is amazing. Very good atmosphere. Cottages are excellent which are surrounded by a lot of trees and plants. We had a very good time here with the Nirvana yoga and Areiki spiritual healing sessions. Very relaxing and had curing effect on us. I felt a lot more than just a trip to India. For the first time in my life I experienced the real meaning of peace and happiness.

Room Tip: The luxury cottage near the pool is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_jones341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed there for a week with family. They have a great facility. Especially the package that comes with attending yoga class. Nirvana Yoga is a great program. One of the best. It makes you feel healthy and lively. Brings peace to the mind and body. Areiki healing was very helpful. Has been practicing since that. Resort has a great pool. Rooms are also very nice and neat. Food is also nice with some great flavors. Varkala beach is very near, it is a good beach. Will again come to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s0by_th0mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I and my family stayed in Akhil beach resort for two weeks this November. The cottages were excellent. The place were full of herbs and trees of great importance in Ayurveda. The atmosphere here resembles that of a medicinal garden of Ayurveda. The system of Nirvana Yoga here is wonderful with its healing practices for various diseases and relaxation of body and mind. The Areiki system of healing and meditation was very effective. The pool here is fantastic. We enjoyed the real essence of the trip which I may call a spiritual tour to India.

Room Tip: The wooden cottages are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnmichael091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

they have a pool...YAY!!! well I'm sorry but that it!! ver very poor services. extremely stuffy room. worst thing about the room is the lack of Screen doors, very important in a place Full of ginormous mosquitos. if it rains, and lets face it, it rains (its Kerala), your room will be full of water that seeps in from the balcony!! good luck trying to get someone in under 45min to come clean up the mess!!
the check-out was quite possibly the most interesting thing ever. how many men does it take to get a printout, well in this case it took 5.

to be fair its beautiful, and close to the beach. the pool is quite nice...........
as long as you expect no services at all, you're good!!
oh the food is quite nice.......if can ever manage to order it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pree13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are a little cramped and the food isn't the best but we had a nice stay here. The reception staff were super friendly and helpful. Only a short walk to the shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the swimming pool as the sea was a little too rough for us.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a find after travelling kerala for 10 days. Great pool, lovely surroundings. Rooms were basic but roomy, pool was a good size, but could get busy as people from outside the hotel could use for 300 a day, we did experience indians diving in fully clothed, and spitting in the pool, but told them off, this apart a good find.

Room Tip: Need air con on nights as fans just blow hot air around. Would reccommend you eat in cliff restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tupster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#8 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#19 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akhil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akhil Beach Resort

Property: Akhil Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Kurakanni, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#7 Family Hotel in Varkala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Akhil Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you can feel the rhythm of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Akhil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akhil Beach Hotel Varkala
Preeth Beach Hotel
Akhil Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing