We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place, esp during offseason”
Review of Akhil Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akhil Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent place, esp during offseason”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here in late May/ early June, 2012, which is the offseason. Unlike some of the other hotels, the place was fully staffed and operating as usual, but at reduced rates.

The rooms are airy and clean, and the service is good. There is also a great swimming pool.
I think you'd be hard pushed to find better value for money.

Also, Nithin, the manager, is always smiling and onhand to help out with whatever you need.

I highly recommend it.

And I would also say that late May is the best time to come -- fewer people, better rates, and still pre-monsoon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjcindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    155
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
117
135
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We mainly chose this hotel as we wanted to stay in Varkala but somewhere with a pool and for that reason I'm glad we stayed here. We had just reached India and it was the perfect place to chill out, infact for the five days we stayed there, we spent most of our days by the pool. The complex was well looked after and despite it being low season, there was still people always tending the garden and on hand to help. The food was actually quite good and reasonably priced.

My only slight compaint was that we stayed in one of the Deluxe AC garden cottage for our stay and the room had no natural light as it only had a couple of small windows in the corner of the room. It kept the room cool but meant that it was so dark that I didn't want to spend much time in it. I wished I'd asked to change when we arrived. My other gripe was that I think it was a little expensive so therefore not to include breakfast was a bit cheeky!

Room Tip: When you arrive, if they show you one of the rooms with little natural light, choose to change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2012

It was a fantastic stay with my hubby and 5 yrs child.basically i am from chennai but we settled in uk.befor check in akhil we searched somany hotels in cliff.but we selected akhil because of pool and wounderfull cottage. first impersson is the best,that's it.

Yearly once we travelling in india.first time in varkala.this time we are very happy to stay in akhil.
super garden ( well maintained),fantastic pool (big with kids pool ),great management,helpfull staffs,delicious food,calm and quiet,variety birds( if you wake up early morng),great ayurvedic centere,24 hrs front desk,24 hrs room service (every day asking for room cleaning,Highly apreciated) and everything perfect with akhil.

we allready arranged our trip in akhil for next year feb.
Thanks for all and your host.....

Highly reccomonded this place.ever

Room Tip: We saw a herittage cottage in akhil near the pool.such a luxury cottage never seen.try this.good luc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praviprsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Pros
The location is lovely, just a couple of mins from the main clifftop with all the restaurants
The pool is great and a lovely retreat from the beach (clean and with towels, sun loungers)
The overall impression of the resort and the cottages is very good
They have free wifi in a number of locations around the comple
Good laundry service and helpful management

Cons
The standard room block is very basic
No hot water in the standard room (but they are clear on this for this type of room)
Dirty plates from another room left in the stairwell of the block for the 2 days of our stay hence there were cockroaches in the corridor and in our bathroom.
Taxis struggled to find the location as their hotel signs seemed to be the only ones without arrows on!

We had hoped that as we stayed in a good hotel and went for basic accomodation that this would drag up the standard of the basic rooms but it was not the case. Would stay here again but only in a cottage

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonners70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The ABR is a westernized hotel complex just a few minutes walk from the cliff. The grounds and pool area are v nice and well maintained. We'd requested a pool view a/c room on the first floor but on arrival were given one on the ground floor - we arrived in the early hours and so we weren't really in the mood for making a song and dance about this. The room was a good size, a/c worked a treat and it was v quiet at night. We had a small sitting out area overlooking the pool but it would have been nice to have had a balcony to stretch out on.

Despite staying for 3 days our room was never cleaned - not a big issue but clean towels and more toilet tissue would have been nice. Only time we were asked if we wanted our room cleaning was the day we were leaving!

Couple of minutes walk to the main cliff area with lots of restaurants, cafes, bars etc. We didn't eat at the ABR as there's a lot of choice on your doorstep.

Pool area was v well tended - the water gets so warm though that a swim doesn't really cool you down - probably best for kids.

Checkout seemed a bit long winded and the deposit we had already paid was initially overlooked till I said that the bill was wrong - this was quickly remedied though.

Overall we enjoyed Varkala and our stay at the ABR. The room rates don't include breakfast and with no cleaning provided I think it's a little expensive for what you get. It was though our first time in India so the ABR provided us with a good safe start to the rest of our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PjayP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Akhil's a wonderful place for stay. It's like a forest feel coverd with palm trees and other variety trees. Nice pool for kids and family. Well maintain garden. We watched variety type of birds here. Delicious food in restaurant. F&b manager deals highly appreciated. Nice staffs especially front office. This hotel personally i am Reccomonding for all.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjunam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Located about 5 mins behind the North Cliff we found this a great location, nice to come away from the cliff at night to total peace and quiet.
The pool is also a big plus, one of the biggest and cleanest in the area and perfect place to end lazy beach days! Hotel grounds are beautifully kept and very clean.
We only had one breakfast at the hotel and it wasn't great, would recommend eating outside to be honest. At night the restaurant /bar closed early, which is fine but even though people were there skyping and using laptops (wi fi was patchy around the resort) the lights and fans were turned off...
We had a garden cottage and seemed to have a damp problem, rooms were cleaned if asked but this only extended to clean towels and sheets, no actual cleaning..
Staff were ok, we were given wrong information by reception re buses onwards so check out bus/train times elsewhere.
Also there was no yoga while we were there, their yogi was ill and no replacement, but there are so many other places to choose from it's not a problem just needed to be made aware...
Having said all of the above this is a good location the pool is fabulous and rooms are big, think there is just some way to go on the service level.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akhil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akhil Beach Resort

Property: Akhil Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Kurakanni, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#7 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Akhil Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you can feel the rhythm of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Akhil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akhil Beach Hotel Varkala
Preeth Beach Hotel
Akhil Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing