We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the hotel, staff, and service”
Review of Green Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Palace
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2007

i am a 50 year old woman who was taking a long break in India. Found Varkala by chance and stayed for Christmas at small guest house but unfortunately on Boxing Day the place was swamped with cockroaches so I packed my bag, ran to find a cleaner place to stay and chanced upon the Green Palace Hotel. The staff were fabulous. I had a v.v. clean double room with balcony - great views of fab gardens and sea. The place was safe, happy and laid on great new years entertainment with fireworks and an elephant. The room service was good, restaurant was great. I became ill with blood vessels (nothing to do with hotel) but they made sure I was taken to local hospital (which was good) with english speaking guide who took me through hospital system. Back at Green Palace, the staff checked on me regularly, organised trips for me, in face, instead of staying 4 days, I stayed 2.5 weeks and hope to return again next year. kathy

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank gertrude50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2007

As we searched the cliff top locations of varkala , we found Suresh Kumar to be very courteous and not even slightly pushy as can sometimes be the case after you enter an accomodation. The central location of the Green Palace (close to stairs that lead you to the expansive beach) was handy but it was the service of all the staff and especially manager Suresh that made our stay so pleasant. The food in their picturesque garden restaurant was always top class and freshly prepared and also backed up by a fantastic view of the sunset over the horizon. Generally, we found Varkala to be a great place for relaxing massages, lazy days and although restauant service is sometimes slow, it compliments the ambience of what this place is about. Loved it.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank matkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

While we were in Varkala, we found the Green Palace which looked like a great place to stay. Met the owner and the manager and booked in for the next night. When we turned up with our baggage we were told the room was not available due to unforseen circumstances so were booked in to the hotel next door (Hill View which was totally brilliant). Hill View only had accommodation for 4 nights and we needed somewhere for an extra night so we returned to Green Palace because they were very friendly and we'd mentioned we'd be back. 3 days prior to our needing the room we made a booking. The day before moving we confirmed the booking. On the day of turning up to take our room we were told there were no rooms available and, as the manager was away and hadn't written down our reservation (something he does regularly, apparently) there was nothing the other staff could do except send us on our way.

The advice I would give is pass over the Green Palace Hotel and stay in Hill View which has far superior rooms at similar rates.

Stayed: December 2006
5  Thank kaseyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank gruppomancini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Christoph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank светлана к
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank clubrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
319 reviews
1 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
1 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#8 of 52 in Varkala
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palace

Address: Clifftop,Varkala P.O | Trivandrum, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $24 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Green Palace Varkala, Kerala
Green Palace Hotel Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing