We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Comfortable As home”
Review of Green Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Palace
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Anand, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As Comfortable As home”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Was really a cool and comfortable experience. Owner and staff were very cooperative and friendly
as it was a off season trip the restaurant was under renovation, but we were made comfortable in a nearby restaurant. Anyway if any next trip to Varkala then the stay will definitely be at Hotel Green Palace.

Room Tip: Sea Facing Room are the Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jay8092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
38
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've been going to Varkala since 2006, since when I was staying in Trivandrum (when every other weekend we used to run off to Varkala) till the last time when I went in September, 2012 from Bangalore. I think I have been there for atleast 14 times and out of those I've stayed in Green Palace for atleast 10 times. And out of these 10 times I've taken along friends, family, extended family, in fact have also stayed there alone with my mother. Am saying this to emphasize the fact that it is a very safe place to stay, even for 2 ladies alone.
The best thing about Green Palace is how neat it looks from the outside and the inside lives up to the image as well. It's nothing very fancy, but whatever it has is very well maintained. The rooms are clean, the sheets are clean, the bathrooms are clean, the AC works fine (only problem the TV does not have many national channels to offer). Must commend the management because it has stayed the same since 2006.
There is another great thing about Green Palace - its location and view, which I have always felt is the best on the Clifftop. All its rooms are sea facing and the view that you get from the verandah is something you will not easily forget (I'm not sure about the ground floor rooms though, I have always stayed on the first floor).
The only negative point here is the food, nothing to write home about, in fact would recommend to eat outside. Otherwise, Green Palace for me, is where I will always head if I am in Varkala.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tba001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

i am staying divine plus hotel in varkala they offer food and room but food is very very bad they serve only dal and rice daily ,morning only bread and omelete and same fruits daily that time i found the green palace resort they serving best food with good staff , the staff all time smiling and taking caring guest like a friends . u going to varkala 100% u get good food in green palace

Room Tip: next time i am only staying in green palace resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopalgopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponda, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We came here after two discontented nights in another nearby hotel on the beach. We spent a few hours looking at just about every hotel and homestay on the cliff strip, and chose this one for several important reasons. It was clean. The rooms were cool without a/c. The ABBa restaurant just in front is a happening place with great food and a fun crew of Nepali waiters. It also cost half of the place we left. The guy at the front desk, Subi, is very helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Belugajguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. The view is beautiful and the sea breeze is coming in so you can listen to the sound of the incoming waves, there really isn't any need for the AC. Our room was clean when we arrived but wasn't cleaned at all during our stay. We had a double with an extra bed. All beds comfortable. It took such a long time to get warm water for a shower that we didn't think there was any hot water at all.

The location is great with lots of restaurants around and stairways to the beach nearby. The hotel's restaurant, where breakfast is served, has an extensive menue, friendly service and fresh veggies, sallads, bread etc + good coffee.

We got excellent service from Sunil, the travel agent on the premises, who answered all our questions, took us on a trip and even helped us book a room with a neighboring hotel a night when Green Palace didn't have one available for us.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruppur, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

we stayed this wk in green palace . 2 star property
PLUS
proximity to beach. just a steep30 plus steps away
clean rooms with small balcony
clean spotless toilet
nice view of sea
one of best restaurant in varkala ABBA.
lcd tv wth all channels.
MINUS
only big minus is during busy season they dont have room service due to shortage of labours

Totally nice hotel with good view and good restaurant

Room Tip: top floor rooms have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashokbalajirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Green Palace Hotel is right in the middle of the cliff in Varkala so the position is ideal. Our room was fairly basic but quite spacious and we had air con which we really needed. I would say the only thing that wasn't great is that we needed more storage space. We stayed for a month and some good shelves would have been really appreciated, we used our suitcases as cupboards which was a bit inconvenient. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. Abba Restaurant on the same site is excellent. Definitely the best thing about The Green Palace was the employees. You could travel far and never meet such a kind and friendly group of people. They made our stay very comfortable, we only booked for two weeks but we stayed on because we felt so much at home. I have one suggestion - name badges. We would have liked it better if we could have greeted people by name, it would have made it more personal. Thank you Green Palace for a lovely holiday and for your kind attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.7 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.0 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palace

Property: Green Palace
Address: Clifftop,Varkala P.O | Trivandrum, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Green Palace Varkala, Kerala
Green Palace Hotel Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing