We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best stay in India” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Claus All Seasons Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Claus All Seasons Village
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not the best stay in India”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here based on Lonely Planet and TripAdvisor positive reviews. I think we may just have been unlucky with this one but out of 3 months travelling around India and SE Asia, our night here was our worst one.

We had a room at the back around the empty pool rather than one of the nicer ones at the front. The room was shabby and although the linen had probably been washed there was mold on most of it. I usually know what to expect staying in budget places, I don't mind dated rooms as long as it is clean, after all, we didn't come all the way to Kerala to stay in the room all day. But I did think that the bathroom could have done with a good scrub.

There was an air conditioning unit in the room but the only control we had was to turn it on or off, the temperature was controlled centrally. The room had two doors, a front door next to a tiny walkway to exit the resort and an old decaying teak double doors which was right behind reception. If we ever did open the double doors, the staff would come over and close it (to ensure the air con worked properly). The lights from the store next door kept us awake for a while as did the noise of the geckos running around the room.

I do think we were just unlucky as I'm sure all of the good reviews will attest to. My feedback would be to get rid of any linen with mold stains on (sheets, pillow cases and throws) and make sure towels are fluffy and clean, throw them out when they get old. Providing the plain white sheets that other places provide instead of the older looking floral throws might also help the place look a little more sanitary. It would be worth improving the quality of the doors and windows too to make the room feel more secure.

All that said, I think the location is perfect and the cheerful Santa Claus decor on the exterior is very sweet and it has the potential to be beautiful with a little bit of TLC.

I think you can avoid our bad luck if you ask to see a room before staying here if possible.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before staying if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EilisNoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
13
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Thoroughly recommend this place. Great location and lovely rooms at a good price. Rooms come with a verandah and fridge, which is a nice touch. Staff are easy going, friendly and leave you to get on with enjoying your holiday. There is a pool, but unfortunately there was no water in it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apelynns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Santa Claus after a terrible night at another hotel which was very noisy due to the disco and following fights at Rock N Roll Cafe! After such a night our Santa Claus stay was a very welcomed experience. The hotel is at a very good location. We had a front room which also had a very nice view. The staff is very friendly and helpful. However, as in almost every Indian hotel, the bathroom was not clean at all and we had to disinfect everything before we could trust to use the taps, toilet etc. They have hot water coming only from a small solar system, so if you are within the first few guests to take shower after a sunny day then you may get warm water. However if the day was cloudy it does not make a difference if you are the first or the last, you end up with cold water. We had an AC but it was not working, and the fan on the wall was so laud that we had to turn it off. Luckyly it was not very hot in the night that we could manage without fan... My partner also took massage there and she was pretty pleased. And one final point, room or massage, they ask different price from different people. At the begining they told us the massage is 800Rps, but then because we were hotel guests they reduced it to 600. Then we noticed from the non-hotel guests that they charged 500! So we paid also 500... Same for the room too, infront of us they booked the same room for 200Rps more for the next day... Still it was a pleasant stay. If you want a quite and fairly priced place at the North Cliff in Varakala, i suggest you to check a room at Santa Claus but do not forget to check the noise limit of the fan:-).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lars879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A small, basic guest house, but with perfectly good, clean rooms, and fantastic views. If you can get one of the four front rooms, you're in one of the best spots in Varkala.
Restaurants and cliff walks all right at your front door. The beach is just a five minute walk along the cliff promenade.
We found the owners very friendly and helpful and the place unpretentious - not sure why the name though!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidzGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Santa Claus. A fantastic view, Ragu the manager very friendly and helpful. The price for the clean rooms and hot shower is more than fair. And i enjoyed the interesting talks with Ragu a lot. Thanks for everything to the team, Frank and Ursula

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We only stayed here one night, as we chose to move to a different hotel for our second night in Varkala, which is a wonderful place.

We got our room (one of the four sea-facing rooms) for 500 rupees off season which is great value. However, we got what we paid for here as the bedsheets were little damp, and there was an ants nest on the wall, and insect eggs round the sink. I'm not normally one to complain, but we kept clearing away all these eggs and within half an hour they reappeared again!

Aside from the insect issue though, I can't complain about this place. The guy working at reception was helpful, and considering we paid the off-season price for the room, we were satisfied because it was clean and the room was a fair size. However, I wouldn't be too happy at paying expensive peak-season prices to stay here!

Hotel is situated on the cliff top, an easy walk past all the shops to the beach. I would also probably not be so happy if I was staying in one of the back rooms here, but with the great view from the front room, this is a good budget option off season. Also, as two young girls travelling alone we did feel safe here, just fancied somewhere with a few less bugs and drier sheets for our second night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

beware woman!!! make sure you get treated by females when you are having a massage!!!

females should always ask for a female masseur, no matter on which place.
and always ask for a certificate of the person that is giving the massage before it starts, ask to see it! watch out women! as a female in india, you are worth less than a man!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank am_anderen_ende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varkala hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Zion Villa Beach View Resort
0.7 mi away
The Haiwa Beach Residency
The Haiwa Beach Residency
#46 of 49 in Varkala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#20 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Savithri Inn
Savithri Inn
#17 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kerala Bamboo House
Kerala Bamboo House
#35 of 49 in Varkala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hill-Top Ayurvedic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Claus All Seasons Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claus All Seasons Village

Property: Santa Claus All Seasons Village
Address: Thiruvambadi | North End Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located right over the cliff and offers direct views of the Arabian Sea. We guarantee you a relaxed holiday amid peaceful environment. The building is made of ecofriendly materials and resembles a typical ancient Keralan building. This budget resort offers you clean and affordable rooms. The Papanasam beach, medicinal water spring, Ayurvedic massage centers, variety of restaurants and bars, shopping centers, ancient temples, etc are within 2 to 5 minutes walk along the cliff pathway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa Claus All Seasons Village Hotel Varkala
All Seasons Varkala
Santa Claus All Seasons Village Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing