We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falling in love with Varkala!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Claus All Seasons Village
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed November 20, 2011

After 2 days stay in Santa Claus last week with some friends, we traveled to other places up to Kocchin, just missed Varkala very much so I decided to come back for a longer stay by myself. Now I'm here at Santa Claus for a week, and just decided to extend my stay for a week more!
Probably because of the nice and helpful staff in Santa Claus, Mr. Binu is such a helpful person, I feel here like a home. After traveling to some places, just wanna find somewhere nice to stay and relax! I stay in a sea-view room (there are totally 4 room with sea view), a few meters from the cliff, just a good distance that I don't hear the noise from the street, and can feel so close to the sea and sky! I can sit on the chair in the balcony for hours, just enjoy the sea, sunset, sky, people passing the street, or just read. It's such a relaxing place!
The staff are all very nice and helpful, trying to help me on almost everything, that's why I can feel so relaxed and safe when traveling by myself.
It's not a luxury place, with simple facilities, but just enough for me. :-)
The price is reasonable, if you compare it with those recommended on the Lonely Planet (such as Bamboo xxx), and you can always bargain. I think you can get a better rate if you confirm a bit longer stay over 3 days or above. And Santa Claus has a much better view than many others!
There are 2 nice restaurants just nearby: Mile Stone and SunShine. I have tried several restaurants around and found these 2 are above average, and the staff are nice too. Mr. Binu said if I go to SunShine restaurant and say his name, can always get 10% discount.
I really enjoy my stay in Varkala, nice beach and cliff, nice people (some people are a bit tricky too, just like everywhere, so still need to be careful, and don't forget to bargain for everything!)
Highly recommend you to stay in Santa Claus and enjoy a relaxing vacation in Varkala.
Oh by the way, there are several Yoga and Meditation classes here to attend too. I go to a German teacher, teaching Sivananda Yoga, the name of the place is "Sharanagati", they offer Yoga retreat too, but I'm not sure about the detail. However you can google it. :-)
Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Nice sea view room
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Santa Claus All Seasons Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

staff very good and cooperative. clean and comfortable ambience. not luxurious but the comfort of thatched roof i remarkable. yoga class by suran was really good experience. tried the ayurveda. i belief i enjoyed one of the best massages i ever undergone.

Room Tip: sea face rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomasvpjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Stayed in Santa Claus for 10 nights during February 2011. The hotel manager, Ragu, was very helpful as was his assistant. room nice and clean, plentiful hot water and great sea view.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annhedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The people here were really nice and helpful. The rooms clean and there was even hot water.

At the same time... the key to our room was broken, so we ended up locking the outside door, and the staff kept an eye on the door that opened to the tiny courtyard. It was not ideal, but it worked. For 1000 Rs, I thought it was a good value for a decent and tidy double room. Also, it has such a kooky theme (year-round Santa + Kathakali), that always made me smile.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rescaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The staff was attentive and polite. Rooms were clean, with AC!!! - and they were really cheap including AC and other facilities.
Not more than 5-7 minutes to the ocean. Nice stores and restaurants not far.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allienka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

This hotel looks like a 70s ski cottage, there are even pine trees in the front yard for heaven sakes! This is the tropics guys! Big pathetic Santa Claus at the entrance didn't help much either.

Rooms are dark and bathroom was not clean, and we got one of the best rooms overlooking the sea, I can't imagine how dark the other rooms might be. It is way overpriced too, 2500 Rupies is way too much for a place like this, even in super high season in late December.

For some strange architectural bad taste reason, they built a pool inside the building. The water on the pool is dirty, so dirty that even the illegal brazilian manager confessed she would never use. It seemed it was proper enough for Indias to use, since there were a couple of Indian kids swimming there. The internal rooms overlook this unnecesary and ugly pool, so be ready to hear some noises. If you like silence don't even think about getting other than a sea looking room (even better, search for another hotel).

Breakfast was terrible. Dry bread, melted butter, ugly jam and worst off all, the fruit salad they gave us was copletely soggy and acid like it had been prepared 48 hours before and left outside the fridge. Coffee was VERY bad also.

The pictures you see are not updated. They have built a shop on the gardens which partially blocked the sea view from our room. View is also blocked by a gazebo on the other side of the front yard.

Overall the Varkala cliff is a sad and overpriced place. A profusion of overpriced restaurants (served by illegal Nepali immigrants), souvenir shops, travel agencies and Internet shops. Ah, the pleasures of mass tourism.

We hated the cliff so much we adventured ourselves further north, were we found several very nice hotels on the beach, which is what I recommend you to do too. Better and cleaner beaches too.

Don't go to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheParisExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed at Santa Claus Village for 4 nights in December. Karla, who seemed to be managing the place, was very nice and helpful. We had one of the sea view facing rooms which had a little porch on the front. The rooms were set back just far enough from the path that we couldn't hear people passing. The only problem we had was that the AC in our room kept tripping the circuit and it would have to be reset, a lot. But I think only our room had this problem as the other three sea view rooms didn't have the issue. I got an Ayurveda massage from the place in the back of the hotel and it was interesting to say the least. I would not suggest a massage for anyone who isn't comfortable getting a totally nude massage (no sheets).

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puddinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Puthooram Ayurvedic Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Varkala
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Claus All Seasons Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claus All Seasons Village

Address: Thiruvambadi | North End Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $50 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located right over the cliff and offers direct views of the Arabian Sea. We guarantee you a relaxed holiday amid peaceful environment. The building is made of ecofriendly materials and resembles a typical ancient Keralan building. This budget resort offers you clean and affordable rooms. The Papanasam beach, medicinal water spring, Ayurvedic massage centers, variety of restaurants and bars, shopping centers, ancient temples, etc are within 2 to 5 minutes walk along the cliff pathway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa Claus All Seasons Village Hotel Varkala
All Seasons Varkala
Santa Claus All Seasons Village Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing