We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed vacation away from hustle & bustle of city life”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kadaltheeram Ayurvedic Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I got information about this resort in Varkala through a medical services organization Artha. They had provided options to take a vacation in 3-4 resorts in south India. As Kadaltheeram looked interesting we chose this. We booked in the month of May, crazy time to go to Kerala, as it gets very hot and humid. But surprisingly, we had a pleasant weather near to the resort and we enjoyed it very much. We got down at Varkala train station, had a great breakfast at Hotel Janardhana(right in front of train station), it looks shabby, but iddiappams and chicken curry are fantastic. We then took auto to the resort, costed us Rs.90/. Checkin was easy, we got room 105. The place was picturesque, lot of coconut trees, greenery and plenty of hammocks. Hot water didnt come though. Bathrooms are great, neatly maintained, flooring very white and clean.The basin was quite elevated, shower was also quite high, giving us a feeling that it was designed for Europeans. Walk of <1 min and you get to the beach, its not a beach that you can walk on, has rocks and is walled. But we can take right and keep walking, you will hit the beach. There also was some backwater kind of thing still further ahead, which we didnt venture out. As it was off season, we were the only people in the resort, but we still got good service. Food was quite expensive, but very tasty at the same time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The next day we explored the little village of Edava (you need to go 1km to main road and then take right), and had great lunch of thali+fish curry and fry at small hotel called Nadhan (You can only see Meals Ready board). There was some awesome Malayalam songs with great vocals in the background too. There were fans which were keeping us cool; food was great, melodious music going on, no crowd at all, overall an awesome experience.

Overall, it was a great experience to stay in this small lovely place ‘Varkala’ and at the lonely and relaxed resort! Big thumbs up to this trip!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Kadaltheeram Ayurvedic Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 84 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2010

I spent 4 weeks and enjoyed the complete Ayurvedic treatment. Dr. Honey and his team are fabulous and I returned as newborn! I lost weight, got a fantastic - almost wrinkle free skin and I just felt light and happy. The garden is a place for really relax. The staff in Restaurant, Reception and in the medical part are all friendly and you really feel the hospitality!
I will be back - for sure!
sissifritz@gmail.com

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sissifritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

This is a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of India, eat delicious food and take long walks along the beach. Most clients do go for the Ayurvedic treatments but not all. I suggest you give them a try, maybe you'll learn something and feel even better!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We have spent three nights in the Kadaltheeram Beach Resort this January. I imagine this Resort to be absolutely fantastic for those of you trying to get the full ayurvedic treatments done. But even if you are not into this (or not all the time at least), this resort is worth going to. The Resort offers a fantastic and rather secluded (for Varkala standards) beach and yet is near enough to get to Varkala Beach in about half an hour walk along the cliffs. The beach restaurant (sea lodge) is absolutely gorgeous, the food there is fantastic and the staff are excellent and friendly. Maybe the only "downside" is that the breakfast (for those not on ayurvedic treatment) can be a little "slim pickings", but that's the only downside we'd mention at all.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

it has been a pleasure to stay in this beautiful resort away from the crowded beaches in varkala........i came here for the first time in 2007 for doing ayurveda treatment to rejuvenate my body.since then i am a regular traveller to this peacefiul place.the main attraction of this place is the peaceful atmosphere they are maintaining.i felt like coming to a kerala family.All the staffs are like family members.After doing 14 days of treatments i feel like reinvented my lost energy........

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maxwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

I had an offer from a health services organization to pick a holiday destination from a choice of 6 holiday reosorts.
I checked the website of these places and chose 'Kadaltheeram' in a small town called Varkala in the state of Kerala,India.
Varkala is about 60-70 kms from Trivandrum.
I took a train from Bangalore and after 16 hours journey, landed at Varkala station. I took an autorickshaw from the railway
station to Kadaltheeram resort, which is about 10 kms from the station and the fare came to Rupees 80.
The resort is quiet and serene and is built on the cliff adjoining the sea. So the beach is just a diving distance away.

The place surrounding the resort is a village, and has a mix of people living in huts as well as those living in
bungalows, built from the earnings of people working in Middle-East countries.

Kadaltheeram has about 12 rooms - small, decent, minimal,and built just enough for 2-people stay. The landscaping in the
resort is pretty good with lots of coconut trees. The restaurant serves mostly Indian food, both South and North Indian.
The vegetarian dishes were pretty good and since i'm a veggie, i wouldn't comment on the quality of non-veg food. The dish prices
are atleast 50% more than what you would pay for a similar dishes at other restaurants. The restaurant offers a good view of the sea, which may justify the higher food prices.

The resort has an ayurvedic spa, with all the normal ayurvedic treatments available in Kerala. The foot massage i received
was amazing.

If your trip is a short one, it makes better sense to spend all the time in the resort. For long haul, you may explore the
Varkala town and the main beach center. Varkala town does not have anything of importance, but it's idyllic and has the
charm of laid back small towns....reminiscent of Malgudi in
R K Narayan's novels.

For shopping you can take a one hour drive to Trivandrum, capital city of Kerala.

On my morning walk along the beach, I met the local fisherman returning from the sea on their country boats.
I had a glimpse of the poor creatures caught in the fishing nets. A 2 kilometer walk from the resort will take you to the back waters, running parallel to the sea.

On a concluding note, Kadaltheeram is an ideal short stay and budget travel destination. And if you have a right companion it can be very romantic.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Sridhar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sssaju, Chief executive officer(ceo) at Kadaltheeram Ayurvedic Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2009

This is to inform all the viewers and also to trip advisor that the management of kadaltheeram beach resort has changed and it has been taken over by my company named JANAKI HOTELS RESORTS AND HEALTH SOLUTIONS FROM 01ST SEPTEMBER 2008. The resort has been renamed as KADALTHEERAM AYURVEDIC BEACH RESORT . It was reopened on 14th november 2008 after a major renovation work . The soft launch was till the 14th of december and we had the proper functioning from the 15 december 2008. We are now generally concentrating on the ayurvedic health care . Resident doctor, experienced therapists and very proffessional staff forms "Team Kadaltheeram" now. In addition we are also opening a new sea food beach restaurant for the desired guests.
Hence forth please neglected the previous short coming and also i would request all the people who stayed with me since 15th december 2008 onwards to open up your comments.
PLEASE BRING THE TRUTH .....SO THAT OTHERS CAN GO...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We booked this hotel for 4 nights over New Year, we left after 2. The hotel is 7km from varkala by road (we did not walk the apparent 4km sea path) and has no other bars and or hotels near by. My main issues were given the inflated high season price we paid this hotel had very few amenities. No beach that you could get to without significant rock climbing skills, no pool no sun loungers, only a few hammocks. The rooms were very small for two people with luggage and only one room has a sea view (odd building decision). The electricity was very flacky so the rooms were dark, so bad that you could not read in the rooms. We did meet "chef" but without a menu you had to guess what was on offer and we drank the bar dry in 4 drinks. Overall the staffs were pleasant and nice and seemed disappointed when we left but did not stop them charging us a cancellation fee. We moved to a hotel in the middle of Varkala (the Green Palace) which has a great location, huge rooms, A/C and hot water and was half the price to boot!

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank FlynnyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
2.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 99 in Varkala
403 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#24 of 52 in Varkala
282 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oceano Cliff
Oceano Cliff
#24 of 99 in Varkala
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadaltheeram Ayurvedic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadaltheeram Ayurvedic Beach Resort

Address: Sree Eight | Edava PO, Varkala, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range: $156 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kadaltheeram Ayurvedic Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kadaltheeram Beach Resort and Ayurvedic Spa is located in Varkala, Kerala, India. It is situated by the beach and has a private access to the beach. Take the beach trail to go to world famous Varkala beach and or Kappil where beach meets world renowned Kerala back waters. Indulge in authentic Ayurveda based Spa packages. Visit a 2000 year old ancient temple. Visit other fabulous beaches. Visit traditional industries like coir factory and cashew nut peeling factories. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kadaltheeram Ayurvedic Beach Hotel Varkala
Kadaltheeram Ayurvedic Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing