We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location but old interiors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice location but old interiors”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a nicely located property and all the rooms have good sea view,the service is quick .
The pool is small but nice and has a nice sea view as well.Morning breakfast is good and roof top Resturant has amazing views.
The standard room does not have a kettle to make your own tea which is so common these days in even a 2 star hotel and is really a put off.
The linen and style of room is old and needs to be done up with,the television is old CRT type.

Room Tip: All rooms have good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    119
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
89
97
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatwick
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last August with my family and we had a fantastic time. The staff were very friendly, clean place, good food, excellent view of the beach, walking distance to shops and restaurants. We will definitely stay again. The manager Mr Valsan was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonlee388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is situated overseeing the beach in Varkala. We had stayed there for 4 days and the room was modern, spacious and always cleaned and the staff were really friendly. The food at the hotel was amazing they had a good variety. We had a room overseeing the beach which was beautiful. It was wonderful seeing the sunrise and the sunset from our room. In the evening we would go to the hotel restaurant and order a tasty meal and we would sit near the windows so we could get the lovely sea breeze. The staff at the hotel were able to organise a boat tour and a spa for us which was great as we didn't know where to go or who to contact to arrange this. Overall Hindustan Beach Retreat was an excellent hotel and when I return to Kerala I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overseeing the beach because its beautiful seeing the sun in the morning and the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trupti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hindustan beach resort is bang on the varkala beach, and probably the only hotel of it's stature having this advantage in Varkala.

Room :Our Suite was nice and spacious with a nice view of the Varkala beach.

Food: Good, the ala carte was ok, but the breakfast spread was good.

Service: For every service request we ended up calling them twice for reminders. This we experienced from room service to restaurant service. The most annoying service was when at the pool side, I inquired for towels with the staff on duty, and all he did was ignored me citing lunch timing reasons. Quite disappointing.

Caution: The Varkala beach is slowly turning into a spot for 13 day ceremonies after last rites. When we reached at the beach, we saw pandits carrying out number of these ceremonies for locals. The shocking thing was that went all till almost 9pm in the night and started at 5am.
Not sure if it was a temporary time slot or an year long activity.

In a nutshell, nice property, but wasted because poor management,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandar_Karnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our executive rooms always were clean and really good views of the sea - I liked to see on sunrises and sunsets.
On breakfast we have buffet with an excellent choice. And every day they change food so you won't miss a little if stop for a week, for example. Quality of food the very good. And to have breakfast so pleasantly at restaurant on a roof-top's balcony.
You also can take massage in a Spa Center, and it is very good and have the normal price. I had a problem with my foot and 3 sessions of massage practically made to me a new foot!
So this hotel is located directly on a beach, noise from waves is well audible. If you have a bad dream, it can disturb you maybe. And you will have only one hour of free wi-fi. If you need more you will pay.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor have big balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amin0ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our tour around Kerala. The hotel is situated in Papanasam beach which is where all the locals go after visiting the local temple. We loved seeing the locals doing their rituals on the beach and going in the sea complete with saris! It was a brilliant spot for people watching and if you clamber over the rocks there's a quiet beach more suitable for bikinis and our Western ways! There are lots of restaurants further along the beach towards the North Cliff and on the cliff itself.
The hotel was very good. The staff were friendly on arrival and some of them spoke very good English. The rooms were clean and spacious and the swimming pool was lovely and again had good views of the beach. We only ate breakfast at the hotel but these were very good each time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMeMore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staad, Switzerland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is badly placed for a beach holiday the beach directly in front of it is a holy place where Hindus come to make offerings for the dead loved ones. The priests set up their places right in front of the hotel and the religious ceremonies begin at 5 o’clock in the morning, every morning. If you want to swim or paddle, then a hotel situated further along the beach on the cliffs of Varkala would be more appropriate.

We had a suite but there was a lot of mould in the bathroom as well as around the air conditioning unit. The windows were very dirty and the protective netting outside was old and torn which meant the pigeons could get in, hence the window ledges were thick with their droppings. There were also broken plugs and lights that didn’t work. Two small complimentary bottles of water were supplied but you were charged extra if you used any in the minibar. An hour’s free WiFi was available but after that you had to pay, RP250 for 24 hours which is a lot considering that every beach restaurant offered free WiFi. One of our windows looked onto the hotel’s car park behind the building which was very dirty and unsavoury. On a positive note, the laundry service was good.

We found the staff at reception helpful but the staff working in the restaurants were unfriendly, disinterested and unhelpful. The only helpful, smiling member of staff was the pool gentleman. At the pool area there were only three tables where you can sit at and have a snack and something to drink. Of course these were soon full and when we asked if they could supply further tables all we got was a shrug of the shoulders. Breakfast was very unappetising and the table cloths were dirty because they hadn’t been changed from the previous day(s). We ate one evening at the hotel and were the only guests, which probably says it all. To be recommended are the small restaurants on the beach where they serve freshly caught fish. We will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zortean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindustan Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindustan Beach Retreat

Property: Hindustan Beach Retreat
Address: Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hindustan Beach Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varkala. The new tourist destination in God's Own Country, Kerala. It is 55 km North of Thiruvananthapuram accessible by road NH-47 via Kallambalam. By train, Varkala is a station from where a short drive by taxi will get you to Hindustan Beach Retreat. Hindustan Beach Retreat is a venture of the reputed Hindustan Textiles Group based in Kannur since 1939. We have 27 well appointed rooms each one with a spectacular view of the Arabian Sea giving you the luxury of the solitude that you can enjoy with the sounds of nature. · Accommodation o Standard Room - 12 (6 king size + 6 twin bed) o Executive Room (Balcony) - 12 (10 king size + 2 twin bed) o Suite Room (Balcony + Living Room) - 03 (3 king size) · Food o Nothin' Doing - The Restaurant near the Pool Side o Wait'n Watch - Coffee Shop on the Roof Top o Slow motion - The Bar. O Room service - 24 Hrs.· Swimming Pool with Jacuzzi (costumes a must) · Kid's Pool · 100 Seater Conference Hall · Turtle - The Souvenir Shop · Travel Desk · Beautiful Lawn · Wi-fi Internet · Television/Cable · Mini-bar· Telephone · Library · Turtle Bay - The Spa · Coffee makers· Doctor on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hindustan Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hindustan Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing