We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost without claims”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel is in a great location allowing you to sit and watch both the locals and the tourists for many an hour. There are a couple of restaurants close by on the beach or if you don't mind a short walk many more can be found on the north cliff. All of the staff were extremely professional, friendly and attentive. The rooms were comfortable and clean. But I can not understand why they don`t offer free wi-fi. Every cheap restaurant or hotel offers it! It was very annoying to go down to the lobby buying the silly strips with inlog info for 100 rps p 2h !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

One of the best hotels I stayed in India - surely cost was higher as well - luckily of the season!
So good:
* the views from balcony (You definitely need room with balcony);
* clean
* perfect view from restaurant with good service during breakfast;
* great pool
* location - good!

Not so good:
* need to pay for wi-fi;
* maybe breakfast could be better.

Overall I enjoyed it a lot.

Room Tip: Take higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Some good points and bad points here. The view from the restaurant and a balcony seat for breakfast is fantastic. So was the size of the room and the massive bed. The staff are a little indifferent; having to carry our own bags and find our own way around the building. Information on what the hotel had to offer was hard to find.

Its not too expensive, so we can't complain too much. Its in a great location and the food wont kill you.

C&C, UK

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pixel_wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This place is totally different to every other place in Varkala, it is a high rise hotel straight out of Hawaii. It is really nicve though and good value. The rooms were comfortable and the pool is excellent, the view over breakfast is particularly nice. It is about a 10 minute walk down the beach from the main strip.

Room Tip: All are very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Average, what more can I say !
Front desk guys a bit indifferent but OK.
Restaurant has nice view and food is OK, not great.
Our room was fine with a small balcony with an interesting view down to the beach which is fascinating. So the location with it's vantage point just above the beach is very good.
Wifi is available but extra cost.
The beach itself is picturesque with the high cliffs above, reasonably clean (for India) and not bad for swimming. It is popular with locals and fisherman alike and with tourists all coexist nicely.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here on April 6th for 1 night. The staff do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A complementary juice drink upon arrival was a nice touch. This property is located within 30 seconds of the beach. However it is located on the opposite side from the cliff and all the western tourist places. The area of the beach it is located on is considered to be holy by Hindus and is always packed with Hindus preforming religious rituals. So it is great to stroll down the beach and watch all of this. And if you feel like swimming you can walk 10 minutes further to the touristic part.
My room located on the 4th floor had an awesome view of the beach with massive windows and a balcony. The bed is comfortable however, you can tell that it is ageing a little. There is a brilliant pool that is elevated on the 1st floor overlooking the beach. And the rooftop restaurant has great views of the beach. The breakfast buffet was good as well. Nothing fancy but certainly enough to keep you happy.
Overall a great stay on an amazing beach (1 of India's best beaches!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fajer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

OK so me and a few friend stayed here which was an amazing location. The rooms were decent and the breakfast not the best in terms of quality. My quarks are with the very slow service. Just to order a food bill we waited 20mins. The reception staff are also a bit wierd, none really understand English but none even smile at you, you ask them questions and they jut stare you in the face rather than offering you alternatives for something they dont have. Overall good but not the best, would recommend still on for location.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaysingh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Varkala
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindustan Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindustan Beach Retreat

Address: Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $70 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hindustan Beach Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varkala. The new tourist destination in God's Own Country, Kerala. It is 55 km North of Thiruvananthapuram accessible by road NH-47 via Kallambalam. By train, Varkala is a station from where a short drive by taxi will get you to Hindustan Beach Retreat. Hindustan Beach Retreat is a venture of the reputed Hindustan Textiles Group based in Kannur since 1939. We have 27 well appointed rooms each one with a spectacular view of the Arabian Sea giving you the luxury of the solitude that you can enjoy with the sounds of nature. · Accommodation o Standard Room - 12 (6 king size + 6 twin bed) o Executive Room (Balcony) - 12 (10 king size + 2 twin bed) o Suite Room (Balcony + Living Room) - 03 (3 king size) · Food o Nothin' Doing - The Restaurant near the Pool Side o Wait'n Watch - Coffee Shop on the Roof Top o Slow motion - The Bar. O Room service - 24 Hrs.· Swimming Pool with Jacuzzi (costumes a must) · Kid's Pool · 100 Seater Conference Hall · Turtle - The Souvenir Shop · Travel Desk · Beautiful Lawn · Wi-fi Internet · Television/Cable · Mini-bar· Telephone · Library · Turtle Bay - The Spa · Coffee makers· Doctor on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hindustan Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hindustan Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing