We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kerala Bamboo House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bamboo Haven(Varkala)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    InDa Hotel(Varkala)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (137)
    Filter reviews
    137 results
    Traveler rating
    37
    43
    32
    12
    13
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    37
    43
    32
    12
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscooking classlow seasonthe cliffno hot waterlovely gardenthe north endrestaurants and shopsstayed for nightssea viewhutporchcookeryacbungalowmassageclassesnets
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    53 - 58 of 137 reviews
    Reviewed December 21, 2012

    Lovely surroundings, decent huts, great location, chilled out staff. Also security guard at night makes it feel quite safe. No cleaning done in 4 nights however so room got very sandy, and the power went off quite a bit (though this probably isn't their fault). The cooking class is pretty rubbish but was fine to pass some time on the 1 rainy day at the beach.

    Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    Thank Mic1902
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

    Stayed here for 3 nights last week. Lovely grounds and amazing location but the rooms weren't great. uncomfortable bed and bathroom was dark, smelly and never felt clean. No cleaning in the 3 nights we stayed and Sheets and towels smelt a bit. That said it was all bearable and staff friendly and helpful.

    • Stayed: November 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank sarah l
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 20, 2012

    I LOVED this stay, lovely complex with cute bamboo huts, decoration inside is minimal but in character. Warm welcome with lovely management, security guard at night to make you feel that extra bit comfortable. Very cheap (although we travelled in monsoon) perfect location on the cliffs in Varkala. Walking distance to everything you need. Lovely retreat. Booked an elephant ride at reception which was a once in a lifetime experience !!! Bathroom was clean, good shower. Mosquitos are quite bad here so make sure you have lots of repellent. Big room for money, with double bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, couch and seating area outside. One tip - the dogs are CRAZY in Varkala, most nights when walking back to the Bamboo House we would have wild dogs barking, chasing us, trying to attack us. Dont try and walk back from the beach in the middle of the night or you will have packs of dogs attacking you :( ! the only bad thing about Varkala,

    Loved this stay, loved varkala, touristy but fun :)
    xxx

    • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mhl123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 16, 2012

    First of all: we only stayed for one night wich make it hard to give it a just rate. We also arrived in low season which lowered the price. And for the price we got this was a good room. We choose one with out door bathroom but there were alot of ants walking around. Big red ones, but they never attacked, only climbing around on the roof.

    The room had everything we needed, a little dark though. It was a long walk to the beach, to long.

    Never did the cooking class.

    The reception seemed nice and not "selly". We recommend this place.

    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank koonkanon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 27, 2012

    The cliff area offers two story cement hotels and cabanas. If you want a cabana this is the best value option with big, clean, rooms, and friendly service. As far as inexpensive Indian hotels go, this is one of the better ones we stayed in four months of traveling India.

    • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank LivingIF
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews