We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to kick off and end your trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to kick off and end your trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

We doubled our time here as we liked it so much. The sea views - with dolphins and sunsets thrown in (though not arranged by the hotel) are a highlight and the restaurant is fantastic (probably the best in Varkala and one of the best we went to in all of Kerala). Try the Odayam Prawns for the best dish you will eat in Kerala and the tandoori chef is an expert.

The hotel included breakfast which was great for the coffee alone and you can get wifi whilst sipping your latte.

Hillview is very close to the beach (though we would recommend walking up to a quieter swimming place further north) but set back so it's not disturbed by music in other places.

Finally, the rooms had AC and fans so sleeping in the heat wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMoulays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    49
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
53
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

When we first got to Varkala we had booked into the Sanctum Springs resort with the plan to have a look around and see what we liked before we booked anything for our further 4 nights. The room we were given was on the bottom floor next to the reception and was a bit like a cell. We didn't check out the rest of the hotel so I couldn't really comment on it. We ended up booking into the Hill View resort and did not regret the decision. The room was on the top floor in one of the two story buildings towards the front of the resort. We could see the water from our balcony. The staff were very friendly and the room was definitely good value for money at Rs 3500 including tax and breakfast. The room was large with a great size balcony and it had a bar fridge which a lot of hotels in this price range do not. The location was right in the middle of the shops/hotels along the cliff but was not too noisy as the rooms were set back. The restaurant Cafe Del Mar also had some of the best food we tasted in Varkala. The negatives about the hotel were as with many hotels in India the lack of hot water and the dodgy water pressure. Also when we arrived we had been travelling around india for about 2 weeks and had totally run out of clean clothes and this was the first time we were staying in one spot to enable us to have some done. We put it in one afternoon and were advised it would be back the same time the next day. We did get it back the next day (a couple of hours after they said) but I would not say that the washing was clean. I know I should have known better but the light coloured stuff that I put in came back a very odd shade of grey and some it it had die on it from some other clothes, obviously they had just put it all in together. They did take it back and have another go at the white stuff but when it came back it smelled of bleach.
Overall a very pleasant stay in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

Staying in this hotel allows walking less every day, as best things of Varkala is next to you, namely, Cafedelmar - restaurant that is actually the only place where you can get a very good European standart cofee (espresso,latte, capuccino etc). As my wife is a coffee lover, we didn't find any other place like this in rest of Kerala. If you still want to have comforts of home - ask waiter for wine. That is not in menu, as in most of public restaurants of India, but will be served covered. Red or White - Indian - rather good than nothing.
Also next to this hotel is stairs that leads down the cliff to the beach. Rooms are good enough to compare for Indian standarts (I must repeat: For Indian standarts). Prices are expensive to compare with rest of Varkala Hotels. Wi-Fi internet is available, but doesn't reach all rooms, as usual. :)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rouzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed here for two sessions of five nights each. This was twice as long as we'd planned. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. It's a great place to go to get respite if you're feeling overwhelmed by India. The restaurant (Cafe del Mar)was excellent and if you want some variety there are another fifty restaurants on the top of the cliff on which the hotel is found. Fresh fish is a key item on many of the menus. This hotel is one of many along the cliff, but it is reasonably priced, service-oriented, quiet, with good security and clean. The rooms are a good size. If you want cheaper accommodation there are cottages in behind the main complexes. The main complexes overlook the ocean and catch good breezes. Ayurvedic treatments, massages and yoga classes are readily available along the strip. There are 85 steps down the cliff to a nice large beach where there are people playing cricket every morning and others practicing and/or teaching yoga evry morning and afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilfridblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

This hotel is in a good location, set back from the main pathway on the cliff top and nearby to steps down to a wonderful beach. We stayed in a first floor deluxe A/c room which had a good size balcony where you can sit and watch the sun go down over the sea. The rooms are large, clean and functional, though I would advise to take a mosi net if you want a good night’s sleep. Both nights we were woken by cockroaches scurrying around the room! The mosi net gives you peace of mind....even after dealing with them!

The rooms are expensive compared to some of the other places we viewed (and stayed in for the rest of our time in Varkala) along the cliff and its best to negotiate the price first as they do vary in Hill View. Disappointingly the rooms were not cleaned and towels were not changed each day - we had to ask one evening for the room to be serviced which we did not experience or have to request elsewhere.

The big plus for this place is the location and the restaurant on site which is excellent and very popular. The breakfasts included within your room rate are very good and set you up for the day ahead!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cockroaches....
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank N-J0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

Stayed here for over a week and the experience was generally positive. Nice large rooms although they didnt clean it or change the towels of their own volition during the stay. The location is perfect, right on the cliff front and a short walk to the stairs down to the beach. The breakfast which is included at the cafe on the cliff front is good value and sets you up nicely for a day at the beach. Internet was included when we first stayed, but then for some reason they tried to renege on this. Also be careful when discussing any discounts. We secured a verbal agreement giving us a 25% discount on the rack rate when we checked in, only for this to be denied when we tried to check out. Despite the fun and games at the end it was a generally positive experience and we would probably stay again.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — the fact the rooms weren't cleaned
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BLlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

This was a wonderful hotel, with helpful and friendly staff providing good service. The position of the hotel opposite to the steps to the beach could not be more convenient - there are many fish restaurants and shops nearby, there is an internet cafe and bureau de change within twenty yards, you can telephone from the hotel. Despite this, it was remarkably quiet.

Food from the attached Tibetan restaurant, again a full 20 yards away, was superb, and taking a flavoursome breakfast overlooking the sea through the palm trees as soothing Tibetan music played was totally relaxing - about as good as it gets. During a lengthy trip in India, this was just the break we hoped for.

Varkala is subtantially a beach resort, but ayurvedic treatments and massages are available, and can be arranged by the hotel and enjoyed again very close to the hotel.

We had an air-conditioned room on the first floor giving good views over the sea and a garden with tables where coffee or "special tea" - beer served from teapots - was available. Room, shower, lavatory, air-con were all in good order, and the room clean. And we had a pink mosquito net!

So convenient was the hotel's position that, apart from an excursion to view the fascinating temple in the town, we hardly ventured more than half a mile in the week we stayed.

The beach was well kept (a pity the same could not be said for the cliffs, as shopkeepers tended to throw their rubbish over the cliff edge). The sea is excellent for bathing - the beach slopes gently and there seem to be no serious currents. Pineapple and mango sellers ply the beach to assuage your thirst.

The hotel is not cheap, but given the level of service, cleanliness and convenience, and a beautiful location, it is good value.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank theoldBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Beach Resort

Property: Hill View Beach Resort
Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is beautifully located on top of the spectacular and unique red cliff on the seashore with magnificent views, offering comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden setting with small pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hill View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill View Beach Hotel Varkala
Hill View Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing