We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed February 3, 2009

This hotel is in a good location, set back from the main pathway on the cliff top and nearby to steps down to a wonderful beach. We stayed in a first floor deluxe A/c room which had a good size balcony where you can sit and watch the sun go down over the sea. The rooms are large, clean and functional, though I would advise to take a mosi net if you want a good night’s sleep. Both nights we were woken by cockroaches scurrying around the room! The mosi net gives you peace of mind....even after dealing with them!

The rooms are expensive compared to some of the other places we viewed (and stayed in for the rest of our time in Varkala) along the cliff and its best to negotiate the price first as they do vary in Hill View. Disappointingly the rooms were not cleaned and towels were not changed each day - we had to ask one evening for the room to be serviced which we did not experience or have to request elsewhere.

The big plus for this place is the location and the restaurant on site which is excellent and very popular. The breakfasts included within your room rate are very good and set you up for the day ahead!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cockroaches....
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank N-J0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    49
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
53
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Stayed here for over a week and the experience was generally positive. Nice large rooms although they didnt clean it or change the towels of their own volition during the stay. The location is perfect, right on the cliff front and a short walk to the stairs down to the beach. The breakfast which is included at the cafe on the cliff front is good value and sets you up nicely for a day at the beach. Internet was included when we first stayed, but then for some reason they tried to renege on this. Also be careful when discussing any discounts. We secured a verbal agreement giving us a 25% discount on the rack rate when we checked in, only for this to be denied when we tried to check out. Despite the fun and games at the end it was a generally positive experience and we would probably stay again.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — the fact the rooms weren't cleaned
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BLlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

This was a wonderful hotel, with helpful and friendly staff providing good service. The position of the hotel opposite to the steps to the beach could not be more convenient - there are many fish restaurants and shops nearby, there is an internet cafe and bureau de change within twenty yards, you can telephone from the hotel. Despite this, it was remarkably quiet.

Food from the attached Tibetan restaurant, again a full 20 yards away, was superb, and taking a flavoursome breakfast overlooking the sea through the palm trees as soothing Tibetan music played was totally relaxing - about as good as it gets. During a lengthy trip in India, this was just the break we hoped for.

Varkala is subtantially a beach resort, but ayurvedic treatments and massages are available, and can be arranged by the hotel and enjoyed again very close to the hotel.

We had an air-conditioned room on the first floor giving good views over the sea and a garden with tables where coffee or "special tea" - beer served from teapots - was available. Room, shower, lavatory, air-con were all in good order, and the room clean. And we had a pink mosquito net!

So convenient was the hotel's position that, apart from an excursion to view the fascinating temple in the town, we hardly ventured more than half a mile in the week we stayed.

The beach was well kept (a pity the same could not be said for the cliffs, as shopkeepers tended to throw their rubbish over the cliff edge). The sea is excellent for bathing - the beach slopes gently and there seem to be no serious currents. Pineapple and mango sellers ply the beach to assuage your thirst.

The hotel is not cheap, but given the level of service, cleanliness and convenience, and a beautiful location, it is good value.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank theoldBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed in this resort one week last august and we found it a lovely place in Varkala. It is located at the north cliff near main restaurants and small shops. The rooms are big and well furnished (a/c, fridge, tv, hot water, fan, terrace) and it is very quite (even if it is located near the sea we couldn't hear it). The resort has a good restaurant with fresh bakery and good fruit juices (safe). The garden is well kept and it is nice if you want to relax.
We liked very much!

  • Liked — position and quality
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We loved our stay in this hotel. Staff was very friendly, rooms were very clean and the seaview is breathtaking! Also, it is absolutely true that the hotel's restaurant is by far the best on the cliff. I recommend this hotel to all my friends and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank piboBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

The general theme of most of the reviews below is spot on. The hotel is not the cheapest in Varkala, but it is not break-the-budget expensive either. The rooms vary in price, views and (on the basis of seeing two of them) slightly in condition, but are large, clean and comfortable. The first storey rooms are more expensive than the ground floor rooms, have the best views, and seem to be the ones which come with airconditioning. The staff were helpful, and the attached restaurant (with astounding sunset views of the Arabian Sea) is one of the best on the cliff-top, something that is evidenced by the fact it is full most nights. It's also where you have your hotel breakfast - not a bad place to drink your coffee and read the english-language Indian newspapers after an early morning swim. My partner and I stayed for four days and found it very relaxing ... something we needed before undertaking a hell-ish ten-hour bus ride over the Western Ghats to Madurai in Tamil Nadu.
There's a wide variety of accommodation available in Varkala and this place struck me as a good upper-middle range option.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert-Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights while touring Kerala in April 07.
Good location, breakfast fine, good restaurant & staff.

Poor room - broken toilet cistern, noisy fan, incomprehensible air con with a mind of it's own. Forced to sleep without fan or a/c because of problems with both. There is better value accomodation on the cliff in Varkala, I wouldn't pay full price for this place.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing worked!
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earlybird321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Beach Resort

Property: Hill View Beach Resort
Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is beautifully located on top of the spectacular and unique red cliff on the seashore with magnificent views, offering comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden setting with small pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hill View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill View Beach Hotel Varkala
Hill View Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing