We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, staff, food and location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in a cute bungalow with fan and found it a really cool, quiet spot in the heat and it was great value. The staff were nothing but completely helpful, chatty and friendly especially the manager. Hill view has an attached restaurant which in my opinion is the best in the area for variety and taste. Overall, an excellent stay in a beautiful location and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattatootoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 135 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

best location right at the cliff. spacious clean rooms, lovely quiet garden bungalows.environment conscious owner! only place at the cliff with own water treatment, waste management and biogas and solar facilities.
good restaurant up front, friendly service,great espresso
there was no yoga on the premises when i was there, but ayurvedic and yoga places are just around the corner. all in all a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: the garden bungalows are real good value for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bee a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the hill view for 3 weeks in september, after a similar legnth of stay last year. We were so happy we had no qualms in booking again for this year, I travelled with my daughter and young son, and all shared one room. The only problem I had with the rooms is that the beds are quite hard. However I am assured by my daughter that they feel harder than they are due to my age! As the people at the Hill View recognised us from last year, they gave us a really good deal. We had an AC room, but were given it at a discount as we did not waqnt the AC. The room we had was also conected to the generator, and absolute must with a small child, as the power cuts this year were long and frequent. The food in the attatched cafe, the Cafe Del Mar is superb, and very reasonably priced. The food can be brought to your room at no extra cost. The complex is right on the cliff top, but is gated at night, with a security guard. More to keep away dogs than people I think.

The rooms are spotless, with good quality furniture and plenty of storage. There is also a small balcony and a great TV package, if, like us, you are in the room in the evenings due to sleeping children etc. The bathrooms are lovely, with proper bath tubs., and endless hot water. A nice touch is the extra beach towels that are provided, along with bathroom towels

Rooms and facilities were being upgraded whilst we were there, and it looks as if it will be even nicer in a few weeks.

WiFi is available in the rooms also, which is another nice touch.

The staff, both Sanu in the Hill View office and the people in the cafe are lovely, and are very helpful.

We will be visiting Varkala next year and will again choose this place.

Room Tip: WiFi available in 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went there for the second time and got exactly what we'd expected and more. this place has the cleanest and most aesthetically pleasing rooms. it's run by four brothers, obviously dedicated enough to make hillview what it is - even in the middle of off season, their restaurant cafe del mar is packed!they serve really nice north indian,italian and chinese which is a relief from the tibetan most of the others serve around the area.their yoghurt cheesecake is a must try.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Varkala a place where we have gone countless times. And we stay only at HILL VIEW. Have never attempted to try any new place as hill view and their people are so nice and friendly that we always feel at home. A should visit place with its multi cuisine cafe attached, Cafe del mar again a placer where we have all our meals when at HILL VIEW.

Room Tip: Book the room over looking the sea. Room 101 and 102 are the ideal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmrutaJawahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We moved to Hill View Beach Resort (right behind Cafe Del Mar) after we discovered our first choice was too far from cafes and restaurants during the off-season.
We stayed in an 800 R non aircon cottage, one of five facing a small garden at the back. It was large, clean, comfortable, quiet and restful. A perfect location for relaxing on the tiled porch in a rattan chair. We made frequent trips from this base in to town, down the cliff to the beach, to cafes etc, and could meander "home" again to wash our dusty feet, change our clothes or have a little nap.
Staff were friendly and helpful. They didn't service our room during our 7 nights but we were too chilled out to ask them too. Apparently they would have been happy to if we'd asked. They did fix our TV when we asked.
Towels and soap are provided, along with bed linen. There is a small fridge.

Room Tip: You might get a sea view if you stay at the front, but it's very quiet and peaceful at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemarieNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. Our car pulled into Varkala late one night and we somehow found the hotel in the darkness (our driver was not the best). The hotel staff provided great check-in, upgraded us to the room out front, and took great care to ensure that we had a wonderful stay. Imagine our surprise to wake up the next morning right on the cliffs and in such a prime location! Varkala is really a find (I preferred it to Goa). I will definitely return, and will definitely stay at the Hill View Beach Resort again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#10 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#24 of 52 in Varkala
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Beach Resort

Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $41 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is beautifully located on top of the spectacular and unique red cliff on the seashore with magnificent views, offering comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden setting with small pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hill View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill View Beach Hotel Varkala
Hill View Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing