We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my favourite restaurant with the best view”

Green Pepper Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 87 Restaurants in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: An awakening awaits you at Green Pepper! Our restaurant is unmatched in India for the exclusivity and the heavenly views from the South Cliff, overlooking the Arabian sea. As many reviewers commented we are in a league of our own for the dining experience we provide. Our food is always fresh and authentic, just like green pepper. We have three chefs specialized in Kerala, North Indian and European cuisines. Our staff is attentive and courteous; our prices are at 70% discount to Europe. Come for the ambience, the delicious food or the prompt service. We guarantee a memorable experience, every time.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“my favourite restaurant with the best view”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

thank you niti & abhi + team for everything! i will miss all the sunny mornings having breakfast (number one!) in green pepper. the food was great and the service as well. we enjoyed the christmas eve party a lot, it was like christmas and new years together :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Varkala”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were delighted to discover this place in Varkala. Tucked away in the quiet, residential south Cliff, Green Pepper is built on the edge of the cliff with uninterrupted views over the sea. We ate here 4 times during our 6 day stay - including Christmas day. All the food is prepared fresh and so although when it's busy you might have to wait a little, it's worth it. All the more time to enjoy a Kingfisher and the view and the cool music. I'd recommend this to everyone visiting Varkala.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenPepper_Varkala, Owner at Green Pepper Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks to everyone for your kind reviews. This is our second season. Expect more. We will keep working hard to improve your Varkala experience. Please visit us again; it's always special to see familiar faces having a good time at our restaurant. If you are still around, please join us for the New Year's eve party. Dec 31 at 6:30pm.

SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing food and view”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Hidden treasure! This place is amazing. It has a great menu! I am sorry I am leaving tomorrow and will not get to try some of the other dishes. By far the best restaurant I have found in Varkala.

It sits perched on Couth Cliff with the best view of the beautiful ocean, sky and the sound of the sea.
The walk from town is and ideal stroll on the beach which I prefer to the main road access

Helpful?
1 Thank Pilarcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I had Candle light dinner here. beautifully located on a cliff and served freshly cooked delicious food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SachinKakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazingly Delicious”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed very close to this restaurant, and ate here twice for dinner and twice for breakfast. Our first night we had prawns in banana leaf, amongst other dishes, it was incredible. Our friends had swordfish, loved it (and one is a chef - hard to impress). Good quality food, well cooked, fresh, and yummy. The view, vibe and atmosphere is divine. You can eat with a panoramic sea view, this is gorgeous in the morning, great sea breeze - a must visit restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Pepper Restaurant also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Green Pepper Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing