We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
123
62
13
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
123
62
13
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff double room hostels beach helipad
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 210 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2017 via mobile

We were 2 couples, went here for Christmas. Booked this place through MMT. Trust me, I have never been so disappointed with a hotel room. We reached around 9am, yes it was early, but there wasn't anyone at reception, reception was not even maintained properly. Well once we got our room, realised rooms are equally bad too. There wasn't bulb in the lights, when I asked for same I was told if I need more lights may be they can give us another room. Other room also had same issue, and when I entered the room, saw dust/spiders on side tables/lamps, told them to clean. Once I opened the cupboard, that was also full of dead spiders, dust on curtains. Basically no maintenance at all. Bathroom taps were also not working like you expect in a decent room, no hot water, water flow was minimal too. I think management of Vedanta seriously needs to wake up !!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank komalb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VedantaWakeUpHotels, General Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Dear Guest, We would like to apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We will look into each issue that you have mentioned, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

We only booked this hotel because we thought it was an hostel as it was written on the app “Hostel world”. They just upgraded it as an hotel for some reason.
The first contact with the manager was good. He was smiling, explaining everything blablabla.
The room wasn’t great and few things were missing (toilets paper, half soap samples...) and bad WiFi.
We didn’t mind about the view on the wall, we were there just for 2 nights, waiting for our fly.
BUT COLD SHOWERS ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE FOR 30€ PER NIGHT!!!
We know that India and Europe have not the same standards but hot showers are a minimum. When we called the reception, they laughed and said “no more water, wake up early”. We were chocked. We didn’t get some hot water at 5 pm and next morning at 7am either. I got sick after this stay.
And when we tried to talk with the manager, he was trying to avoid us, making himself busy.
At the end, we called the main office in Mumbai because the manager didn’t want refund us the 30% that we asked as a compensation.
The office said ok for a refund but we’re still waiting for the money that they promised us.
AVOID AVOID AVOID We stayed in hostel much better in term of facilities and management

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank O7996TRkarenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VedantaWakeUpHotels, General Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our team members. We look forward to more opportunities of welcoming you back at Vedanta Wake up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

Located in one of the prime location near the cliff. Offers dorm beds, bamboo house and other rooms. Though it says budget rooms, we paid RS.1999 per room for bamboo room. They don't clean the room in regular basis unlike other hotels. You need to inform them if you want them to clean the room. The main drawback is power. Power goes off quiet often and they don't provide proper power backup. We came to varkala for relaxing, but we felt terribly irritated. Water is another major issue. You don't get water in bathrooms often. Too irritating. We chose the right destination but the wrong stay. Won't recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank iyshkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017

The staff at this hostel are very informative and friendly, making my stay feel very comfortable. Dorm room has air conditioning and also laundry services are available. Great option for those traveling through varkala.

Room tip: Great location
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Kelsie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VedantaWakeUpHotels, General Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our team members. We look forward to more opportunities of welcoming you back at Vedanta Wake up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the double AC room in the main house. The room is grubby- there are lots of dirty marks on the wall... Including a footprint above the headboard! The bed sheet was full of holes. The water on the shower was either burning hot or cold. The guys at the front were not particularly friendly nor helpful.... Asking for a towel (there was only one in the room on arrival) seemed to be a major inconvenience did them, and when it did arrive it was full of ants. Also, the guys at the front watch TV or stuff on their phones with the volume on loud.

On the plus side the location is good.

Overall value-for-money wise there are nicer places on the main stretch for the same cost or less. We know because friends that we were with had to find accommodation and they found much better deals!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Raybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that during your last visit we were unable to deliver the service standards that we always provide to our valued guest.

We have taken careful note of your feedback on issues highlighted by you. We can assure you that your experience was certainly not reflective of our usual standards of service and We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you.

We request you to provide us with another opportunity to serve you better and to regain your confidence in Vedanta Wake up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews