We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Quaint Place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
Ranked #21 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Quaint Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a great property just by the Helipad / Cliffs. I chose the Bamboo Huts here in Varkala Vedanta! Neatly built with Bamboo thatches and with AC and attached bathroom. The huts are slightly smaller than they should have been, but not bad... There us a TV in the hut too. Cleanliness and Hygiene is great too. By far, the best property Vedanta has... There is no room service and you have to go over even for drinking water. this makes the price, slightly higher than than value. In general I feel, Vedanta can be much more Value for Money with 10% price cuts!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    55
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
27
90
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deutsch Wagram, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

when I arrived this hostel I planned just to stay one night, but I ended up staying more than ten days. I had a nice and clean room and thanks a lord for your service and help from the reception, especially Mr.Aneesh. I will recommend this place to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marko_miro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a good property and its ambience is awesome . their service is not just the best its legendary. Very good staff courtesy. Mr. Aneesh is a very good man he is very helpful 4 as. I will recommend this hotel to my friends. Thank u once again for given a pleasant stay 4me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vineesh087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Recently we happened to stay at this hotel for two nights at Varkala.Due to a sudden bandh in Kerala, we had taken a circuitous route all the way through the adjacent State Tamilnadu and after a drive of around 14 hours, we reached Varkala around 7 p.m.Everything upto this point was fine;but, we could reach the hotel only around 8 o’ clock! Locating the hotel should have been easier from where we were, but the man in-charge at hotel, one Mr.A couldn’t give us the driving directions clearly and he became rude while talking over the phone.While we made several phone calls from where we got stuck, he didn’t have the courtesy to call even once.This person, to say the least is not fit to be in hospitality business.Had he told me that this hotel is located right on the road leading to the North cliff, It would have helped matters because everyone around knows the cliff.Instead he gave us an obscure ‘super market’(which is nothing but a small store) opposite to the hotel, as the land mark!Atlast we reached the hotel, as I said around 8 with the help of some nice people we met on the road(though hard to find at that hour in that part of the town).On checking in, the roomboy opened the room door(bamboo cottage) and to our horror we saw a rat running from the bedside on the side wall cald with bamboo.Each time we had to struggle opening and closing the room door as the cheap quality padlock and lock called for a lot of effort and force.One wouldn’t bargain for this kind of problems in the hotel that one is checking into.But, when you go to Vedanta, you should anticipate this.While the rest of our trip in Kerala went off well, we are still unable to erase from our memory that night of our checking into this hotel and the attitude of this hotel personnel is still haunting us.If at all there is a good thing to mention about this place, it is the location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jayes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed at this hostel 3 times and all of them have been great. The staff is very professional and always willing to help.
The rooms have always been clean and the Internet and AC are always working.
The hostel is a 5-minute walk to the main attraction area.
****I highly recommend this hostel****

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaMLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean as were the bathrooms. Offered a place to lock away your goods. AC wifi all present and correct as well as a decent living area. Friendly and attentive staff. All good from me (although I don't think much of the area - just a beach and tourist shops and restaurants)

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CMortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I can highly recommend this hostel. One of the best value, most fun and enjoyable places we have stayed in the 7 months we've been traveling. Awesome local food and great tours as well. Hari is amazing and will look after you like a friend. Just don't book on their website (it's way more expensive)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#19 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shiva Garden
Shiva Garden
#19 of 96 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#21 of 96 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff

Property: Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
Address: North Helipad Cliff, Varkala 695141, India (Formerly Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala)
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling.Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers.Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala, is an exclusive hostel with beautifully landscaped gardens. The hostel is walking distance to the golden sands of Helipad beach, Black beach and Papanasam beach. Guests also have an option of staying in wonderfully hand crafted organic bamboo huts for an earthy living experience.Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with ensuite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge.We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!)We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing