We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal back-packers; great staff, excellent dorms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
Ranked #18 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here purely due to my fantastic experience of Kochi. The standards were equally high, though in a nicer building, with lovely garden and rooftop. The staff were fantastic - I would particularly like to thank Binnu and Michael. They went out of their way to make our stay (and all the other guests) one to remember. Welcoming, friendly and very professional. If all the staff are as good as in Kochi and Varkala, I have no doubt that Vedanta will be an instantly recognisable name across India and beyond.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newzfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 205 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

I visited this place just to experience how does a backpacking hostel look like in India. I cam back home happy! Vedanta lives to its expectations and its a good start. But as a critic, I have to put down few of my observations/feedback to the management.
1. I stayed in the ground floor mixed dorm that houses 6 beds. For that room size, 6 beds seemed to be constricted. But the beds were clean and adequately sized (Suits westerners who are long). bedding neatly tucked and all.
2. Guys, please keep the Kitchen clean.
3. The lounge/lobby isn't interesting. The ambience here will not promote a community network if there is just a TV and a few magazines.
4. If it's a backpacking hostel, you need to encourage usage of lobbies. And if you do not keep an ac/cooler in the lounge, travelers will stick to their rooms in the evenings.
4. The staff do not provide the bill at check-out. It doesn't send the right signals. Ain't it?
5. The garden area is beautiful and well kept with seating provided. Kudos!
6. The water heaters at the bathrooms are of lower capacity and doesn't suit shower system for faster water delivery.

But overall for the price you offer, you are doing a great job Folks! Keep progressing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yssunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aadil M, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking time to review us. Your feedback is valuable to us. We have made a note of all your great suggestions and we will definitely work on them and get them implemented. We are also very happy to note that you had a nice time at Vedanta Wake up!

We would love to have you stay with us again so that we get another opportunity to demonstrate our strongest commitment to the highest standards of hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Team Vedanta Wake up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was welcomed by the warm and courteous staff who took me to the room first and asked me to check in after I had settled in. Rooms were clean and had great interiors. The room had an air conditioner, ceiling fan, table with two chairs and an LCD TV. Clean sheets and Duvets as well as clean towels! Overall, it was a Great Experience. The hotel is a five min walk from the cliff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Vivek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I'd stayed at the kochi hostel and had an amazing time so trusted that this would be as good. It exceeded my expectations: the rooms were so nice and clean with spacious bathrooms, the garden was so nice and green, the location was perfect cos after a long day t the beach and the noisy cliff you had a nice few minutes walk back where it was peaceful, and the staff were great, Binu and Nadish were polite, helpful, friendly and attentive. I definitely recommend staying there, good value for money and comfortable. The Vedanta management and staff are very efficient and client focused...Excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDD1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here for a few days during March. It was quite quiet but a lovely stay. It's very close to the beach, just a short walk along the road to the start of the cliffs. The staff were friendly and helpful, always smiling and in a good mood. The beds were comfy, the AC was nice & cool :)
Plus they have cool movie posters hanging up in the lobby and hall, nice decor!
My only recommendation would be to boost the wifi signal and make it stronger, available in the rooms and not just the lobby. My only complaint!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Hostel like accomodation. The standard room was good. AC and plenty of space. The guys are helpful. Just when we were there there were no other guests so it was a bit quiet. Just a five minute walk to beach/cliff and restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onderweggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in Vedanta last week and boy what a treat it was, It’s a backpackers paradise, A huge house and we had booked a deluxe double room, which was just perfect. This place is a total value for money, situated on the road to Helipad and two minutes walk from the beach and the cliff with brilliant restaurants. We received a warm welcome from the manager and he helped us with directions to the various places nearby. This place is perfect for a group of friends as they have dorms apart from the deluxe rooms and bamboo huts. The garden is good to laze around and huge balcony, all in all a brilliant place to stay in Varkala.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfreakPrathikJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#24 of 52 in Varkala
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Varkala
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bamboo Village
Bamboo Village
#29 of 101 in Varkala
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff

Address: North Helipad Cliff, Varkala 695141, India (Formerly Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala)
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range: $11 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling.Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers.Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala, is an exclusive hostel with beautifully landscaped gardens. The hostel is walking distance to the golden sands of Helipad beach, Black beach and Papanasam beach. Guests also have an option of staying in wonderfully hand crafted organic bamboo huts for an earthy living experience.Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with ensuite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge.We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!)We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing