We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place and people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
Ranked #21 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely place and people!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I book on line , so I had the offer for 300 rupiees for the dorm, confy bed and AC. During the night is quite. No hot water...but you do not really need :)
Laundry service and breakfast service available.
Nice and big garden in the front, just for chill out.
Nice and clean place.The guys that working there are really nice and helpfull.Nice place to met people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veroveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    55
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
27
90
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varkala, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

They have a weird requirement that you have to book online which was an issue for us when we tried to reserve a room thru Nitish (the manager) and were told there would be a room for us, but then there wasnt so we found a much pricier spot on the cliff, despite the small confrontation with the bad cop in my group and we tried to bribe Nitish to tell the other people to go away... He was sooo nice to us the whole time and when we came back 2 days later, we stayed there for a week!

We even took a day off and slept on the beach and we kept our stuff there and used the wifi and he was super cool about it. The house was soooo nice, we stayed in the dorms and had a blast. Great Mattresses!

We looked around at a lot of places in Varkala and this one was leaps and bounds above any of the other ones out there! It had the best Hostel atmosphere in a brand new mansion and it was only $6 a night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed in one of the coconut huts and generally found the level of service relative to the price you're paying for the huts (which at 1,800 rupees a night is not a basic coconut hut tariff) just not up to scratch. For example, the advertised WiFi doesn't cover the huts' 'compound' so you have to go out on to the street walk over to the other 'compound' and use it there, and the 'small restaurant' that is also advertised as being part of the facilities, either doesn't exist or doesn't operate if you're staying in the huts. The hot water took a couple of days to work on demand as management kept turning the water heating off at various points to save money, and then I had to chase management to refresh the bed linen and towels after a couple of days, which is not what you would expect for 1,800 rupees a night. Add to this the less than ideal location, i.e., not on the cliff / beach front, and the overall impression is that this place is not value for money. Indeed there are plenty of better offers both in terms of price and quality you can obtain elsewhere in Varkala.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetMourns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aadil M, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time yo review us! Your feedback is valuable to us. Organic Bamboo Huts are a premium category of rooms and we are glad to offer our guests with a type of room that is made from natural bamboo and it is an experience of its own to stay in a hut made of bamboo. Please also understand that we they also need a high level of maintenance. We try and offer them at affordable rates since we also cater to budget travellers. These huts offer exclusivity and privacy and therefore are away from the main building but in the same compound.

The efficiency and the range of WiFi is heavily dependent on the signal and that fluctuates in case there is any obstruction in its way. However, we will get the range of the WiFi checked.

We offer all 3 meals at very nominal charge that are hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day.

We would love to have you stay with us again so that we get another opportunity to demonstrate our strongest commitment to the highest standards of hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Team Vedanta Wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Originally booked in for 6 nights here over the New Year season and ended up extending for another 2 nights. The hostel manager mentioned that it had only been open for just over a month, and in fact everything was still clean and pristine. Stayed in a dorm and the beds were really comfortable plus the AC offered fantastic respite from the crazy hot weather outside. The bathroom was spacious and we always had soap and toilet paper. Comfy couches and a great TV in the common area but unfortunately it always seemed that the staff were sat there watching movies in a language I couldn't understand. The lawn out front was a good spot to chat to other people. Also, loved the location as it was a few minutes walk to the North Cliff, but the distance meant it was nice and quiet at night.

A few downsides: Everyone seemed to be paying different rates. I booked the hostel for 700/- per night on hostelbookers but walk ins were only paying 500/- and other people got it online for 300/- ?! Managed to get my 2 extra nights at 300/- but they should certainly have fixed rates. Also, they need to organise their reservation system as sometimes they turned people away saying the hostel was full but in fact we had empty beds in our room. One other thing was that they have a great kitchen but I was told that guests aren't allowed to use it, which didn't make sense to me. The hostel has loads of potential to be a very social place - it would help if the staff encouraged that in the common area rather than using it for themselves in the evening.

Room Tip: Try get a dorm upstairs as the ones downstairs are right next to the common area and sometimes the T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmwayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here less than 2 weeks ago. Nice place to stay. Very clean accommodations for a very fair price. The manager and staff were willing to help us with anything that we needed. The location was great. just a 2 minute walk to the beach and shops. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Baden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Just stay here..the other reviews are right. Marble floors, beautiful garden, ice cold A.C , extremely helpful manager. You cannot ask for more, a perfect vacation hostel !! Beach is close and the recommended travel agency helped me with the travel plans. Only negative point: The hostel chain sometimes pretends that it is booked out. Wish I couldve booked directly but ended up booking via Booking.com

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuelrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful staff and always available to answer your questions and help you out.
Hot showers.
Clean and simple rooms, with good sized beds.
Most hotels are in the main strip. It was nice to stay just away but can walk there in about 2 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganSewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.6 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Varkala
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#19 of 49 in Varkala
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#24 of 97 in Varkala
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shiva Garden
Shiva Garden
#18 of 97 in Varkala
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bamboo Village
Bamboo Village
#39 of 97 in Varkala
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff

Property: Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
Address: North Helipad Cliff, Varkala 695141, India (Formerly Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala)
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling.Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers.Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala, is an exclusive hostel with beautifully landscaped gardens. The hostel is walking distance to the golden sands of Helipad beach, Black beach and Papanasam beach. Guests also have an option of staying in wonderfully hand crafted organic bamboo huts for an earthy living experience.Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with ensuite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge.We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!)We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing