We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”
Review of Sky Lounge

Sky Lounge
Ranked #18 of 92 Restaurants in Varkala
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: SKY Lounge,A restaurant with an excellent ambience for travellers of all categories. A place where you can think of enjoying your drinks along with delicious and mouth-watering cuisines. Specialised in Sea food delicacies, the restaurant is located in the heart of Varkala's Cliff exactly opposite to the entrance of the beach. Divided into three sections i.e. a restaurant where you can spent your precious time and treasure it all your life as a memory, a lounge where you try different cocktails and rocking music throughout the day and finally there's a open air space where you can get the tropical experience. The restaurant has a transparent kitchen which reflects the hygienic environment where your meal is prepared, friendly and cooperative people are running this place to take it to the heights of sky so we call it "SKY LOUNGE".
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great location which catches the sea breezes. Really LOVED the Mojitos and the Fish cooked in a Banana leaf with coconut milk. I would most definitely eat here again, had a blast!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suellene3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jee S, Public Relations Manager at Sky Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

It feels rewarded to know that you had loads of fun in our restaurant. We are very happy that our place is liked to this extent by our guests. Hope to see you soon again. Wish you a very happy & prosperous NEW YEAR-2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 191 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

In Varkala, most of the shacks/restaurants have a person standing on the walkway who tells people about the place and sends them to the restaurant.

The person standing outside told that that this is the best place for North Indian food in Varkala and they have happy hours till 9 PM. I asked him to make a reservation in my name and showed up at 8:30. At first we were told there is no table facing the ocean(which we had asked for in our reservation) but later we got a table. Then we were told that the happy hours are till 7 PM only.

We still ordered some food as we had taken the pain of waiting 15 mins for a table even after making a reservation. The chicken tikka turned out to be aweful and undercooked. I called to the person who sent us here and he apologized for the bad food but are evening was already ruined and we left.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Discoverer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jee S, Public Relations Manager at Sky Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

It was really nice to get a genuine response from your end. We really apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and ruining your evening. Usually there is no issues with the table reservation thing at our place but still it might have happened in the evening when you were at the restaurant because it was a busy evening and most of the stewards were busy serving food on other tables and in the mean while someone might have come and occupied the table reserved for you. We accept that it is the management's loophole and your holiday was affected. But we hope you understand that once a guest sits on a table, it is unacceptable and rude for him if the hotel people ask him to vacate the table. That might have been the only reason for you to wait for 15 minutes. And about the feedback on the quality of food, we agree to what you are saying. It is possible that the chicken tikka that you ordered might have not been well cooked because the chef always tries to protect the tandoori cuisine from getting burnt because the tourist coming to varkala are very peculiar about the appearance of food as well. We would be more than happy if we could replace the food served to you. There might also have been a mis-communication about the happy hours thing. The guy on the walkway promised you for something and the restaurant had to keep his words but there is a probability that he didnt inform the people upstairs in the restaurant. The sky lounge family as a whole sincerely apologises for the lack in service and quality of food which forced you to write a negative feedback. We will look forward to an opportunity of serving you again and making up to the expectations you had with our restaurant. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

One of our best dining experiences in Varkala. Apart from excellent service and really well trained staff, it is one of the very restaurants on the cliff that are ready to add Bacardi Rum to your cocktail on not some cheap unknown white rum. Highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arj_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jee S, Owner at Sky Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

glad to hear from you that you had great time in sky lounge.thank you very much for feedback.we'll love to serve you good food and drinks in the future.sky lounge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Recently under new management....all the variety of seafood on offer was very fresh and when cooked to order was delicious..King prawns, crab, calamari, snapper, butter fish, kingfish, sea salmon, baracuda, pomfret ,you name- it.all wonderfully fresh. The staff also efficient and friendly and a nice location on the cliff top. Good coffee too This place deserves a higher rating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pandc2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jee S, Owner at Sky Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

we are glad to hear from you that u had great time in sky lounge and fresh seafood.yes sky lounge is new in varkala just three and half month.we are trying to do our best service and food.thank you very much for writing feedback about sky lounge.we,ll love to serve good food and drinks in the future.hope to see u again.sky lounge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If there is anything that could add beauty and fun to the already breathtaking cliff beach in Varkala, its the Sky lounge. With one of the best cocktail mixers in the city and brilliant view from the balcony, there is nothing more a person could ask for.

Drinks:
Brilliant Cocktails. Feast for the eyes and your taste buds.

Food:
Very good at continental dishes and even better in Indian seafood. Especially Squid.

Now the most important part.

Music and Dance:
With a laptop, music system and a dance floor with disco lights at our disposal, there is no way a person can refuse to dance here. Play your own music and choose your dance as sky lounge plays host to you like you are at your home.

The shocker came when we knew the place had just opened a month ago. If this is what they came up with in a month, I can only wonder what sky lounge would be like in the coming days.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Menon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jee S, Manager at Sky Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

we are very glad that u had good food n drinks.it was great music you guys play and dance.we are happy to serve u more in the future.sky lounge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky Lounge also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Sky Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing