We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnolia Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

In the beginning, we actually planned to stay somewhere near varkala cliff but due to some reasons one wonderful rickshaw driver took us to this fabulous place called magnolia guest house,what a wonderful plan it turn out to be. Because magnolia guest house gave us comfort,peace and an excellent value for money. Definitely visit there again and a very nice choice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vipinfreakout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    25
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
24
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you're ever in the Varkala area and are needing a nice place to stay, this is seriously the one to choose. The host Lillemor is fantastic. we arrived at around 9 30pm on a saturday night after a long plane journey, but we were met on arrival by Lillemor and she instantly put our worrying minds to rest and invited us inside and to the room so that we could take a well earned rest after a 14 hour flight. We've never felt so welcome in a guesthouse and as such we will go back again and again. We have always loved Varkala and now we have another reason to go back. Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Magnolia Guesthouse is a nice place to stay and the amenities you required are not far . The rooms of the guesthouse have a spacious feel and free wireless internet access is available. Magnolia Guesthouse is run by Swedish family and they are very welcoming and friendly and gives us very special tips about where to visit and stuff.Overall we had a very good time there and no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalpesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

When we entered Magnolia Guesthouse we felt an atmosphere of peace & serenity. We spent 5 days at this lovely place and are already planning next year's visit. The room we had was large and airy and exceptionally clean.The service provided by Lillemor,The Swedish host was exceptinal as well.She really knew the magic of looking after this beautiful guesthouse. The location suited us as it was at the quieter end of Varkala and only 3 minutes walk away from the beach.Defo reccommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deero v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went to Magnolia Guesthouse in Varkala for my honeymoon and trust me it was wonderful. we stayed there for 6 days which wasn't enough. could just not get enough of the place.
This guesthouse is by far one of the most wonderful places I have ever stayed at. It's located near the beautiful Odayam Beach or famously kown as the Black Beach beach which is an absolute treat.The cottage was clean,spacious,and the whole set up were pretty good.If you are thinking of going to varkala - visit Magnolia and have a great time and relax.
PS Go for one of the front cottages.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

i stayed in this woderful,lovely beautiful guesthouse for 2 weeks.I have to admit that i stayed in places like caracus,sydney,capetown etc,and i rate Magnolia Guesthouse among them.The atmosphere of the whole guesthouse revitalised me.The owner has a dog called Ramsey and they allowed me to take him for my morning walks,which was so so nice.Over all a fabulous place.c u soon ramsey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimS368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I spent a most enjoyable two weeks at the magnolia guesthouse. Good sevrice friendly staff and great location ,good value from money Iwould stay here again if iwent back to varkala

The cliff is such a beatiful place to stay with its breathtaking sunset and sunrices

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thasimkutty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.8 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#21 of 52 in Varkala
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Guesthouse

Property: Magnolia Guesthouse
Address: Odayam Beach Road | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Varkala
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Guest House is a little paradise in Varkala, Kerala. Magnolia has beautiful view over Indian Ocean. From Magnolia, there is only 3 minutes walk to a number of beautiful and romantic beaches which provides privacy and happy times. 10 minutes walk away from Magnolia is the Varkala North Cliff and the main beach where you can enjoy the thrills and pills of various restaurants, shopping or a game of beach football or volleyball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Guesthouse Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing