We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Varkala Beach

Varkala Beach
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Golden Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views and food”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We enjoyed all our walks on the beach, some holy men there.
The food at the restaurants is amazing in its variety and quality. Try a different place each day and you will be surprised

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarianE52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    632
    202
    46
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great waves!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Plus points - felt very safe, relatively clean and the waves were ace!
Minus points - the fishing area was smelly and a little dirty but this is away from the tourist swimming area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WiltsGoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stunning beach, so relaxing and picture perfect - worst part was the crazy dogs that seem to hang around trying to attack you at night !!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mhl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“completely over-rated”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This beach had been reccommended to us by Indians in Goa and Cochin and we therefore decided to get a train down south to see for ourselves. the beach was frequented by a lot of local people who were not used to seeing ''white'' people and therefore followed you on the beach and stared at your for uncomfortable lengths of time. It was the most uncomfortbale I had felt on a beach and I therefore decided to keep my clothes on instead of sunbathing on the first day. On our second day we strolled the length of the beach and discovered an area of sunbathing tourists and decided to sunbathe. I had groups of men then stand around me a proceed to take photos and they could not understand why this was rude. We then took a dip in the water and discoverd it wasn't very clean, with rubbish floating in the sea and obvious oil on the surface of the water. the current was also very strong and not great for swimming but it would have been OK to swim further if you had a surf board as waves broke further out. All in all I would say the beach in Goa are much nicer (Candolin and Pallolem in particular), I would not waste my time or money travelling to this beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirunelveli, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“varkala”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

varakal beautiful palace beach ,,,, resturant good for holiday with friends... calm beach with lot of resturant and resorts.. highly recommended for need less crowded calm beach to enjoy holiday...all cusine r available .... good palace and view from resturant ... good palace for beach lovers..

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sankar_crus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varkala Beach also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Varkala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing