We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a solo 60+!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Jacaranda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Jacaranda
Ranked #8 of 96 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great for a solo 60+!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Having just spent 2 weeks touring my family around Rajasthan , Villa Jacaranda was a great place to stay . A room and garden out of Elle decoration , the candle lit garden at night was gorgeous . Pramod and the other boys and ladies looked after me and cooked delicious local food which I ate alone by candle light ! By day , swam at the Black Beach, less touristy ( and no thongs) than the stunning main beaches.
Villa Jacaranda is certainly a notch above the numerous cliff top hotels , private and intimate .
Thanks Ajay !

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank STEAMSHIP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    25
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
153
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

During our two weeks in Kerala we stayed in hotels, lodges and home stays. Most were very good but only Villa Jacaranda deserves a five star review.

Most importantly, it is situated in the South Cliff area - in my opinion the only place to stay - away from much of the ugly commercialisation, crowds and litter of North Cliff - and with access to the clean and much more beautiful southern beaches.

Add to this the well thought out design of this villa - with all four rooms having private balconies and delightful garden or sea views - and you begin to appreciate what a wonderful place this is. Ajay, the owner has a wonderful sense of style. The decor is both sophisticated and casual. Colour is used wonderfully throughout the villa, whether bright or pastel hues. All the fabrics and ornaments are delightful and the carefully orchestrated flower arrangements are a joy.

We had rooms 1 and 2, both facing the sea. The balcony in room 2 (first floor) was wonderful for a sunset drink and the downstairs garden balcony (room 1) was a perfect setting for the beautifully presented and delicious breakfasts.

Ajay spends time with the guests to make sure that you have as much information as you need, without ever being intrusive. He has created a wonderful culture amongst his staff - they just do everything well and make a stay at Villa Jacaranda a delight.

Two tips. The restaurant at the Surf and Soul resort next door is a wonderful place for a really fresh and delicious lunch and the ayurvedic massage at the nearby centre was absolutely outstanding - I have forgotten its name but you will pass it as you walk down past the school to the main beach - it is on the right hand side just down from the road and has a bright orange reception area - highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baliboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Villa Jacaranda is a small, clean, peaceful, 4 rooms accommodation on the south cliff of Varkala. You are basically staying in a very well taken care of house while you have full privacy as the rooms are independent with their own balconies. I stayed in room number 4 on the top floor which has its private huge veranda with sea view in the distance. Very peaceful with amazing gardens where you can relax and feel like at home. The people working there as well as Ajay make sure that you everything you need while they will provide you very practical information about the broader area. Breakfast is served at your balcony the time you will request and you have choice of various things. The room aren't ariconditioned but the fan especially during the month of February when we visited was enough to keep us cool during the night. There is a great Ayurveda spa centre right next door and if you are staying at villa jacaranda you can also receive a 30% discount which made it an excellent deal. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 4 at the top is private with a great veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antinoosgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed in Room 4 at Villa Jacaranda for 4 nights. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The roof terrace was a real bonus and you could watch the palm trees sway and the sea shimmer in the distance. Sunset was gorgeous (Remember to bring your gin along for those G and Ts in the planters chair.)
Breakfast was on the terrace and was laid out stylishly. I would have liked to have seen more of a rotation of the menu but that is a small quibble.
Everyone at the Villa was very helpful and friendly. They helped us organised transport and a back water canoe cruise around Munroe island which was a real highlight of our short trip.
The Villa is only a 5 minute walk from the beach. Varkala town is a short walk or rickshaw ride away. It was very interesting and there were some great little local shops to explore. Check out the meatl shops for tiffin carriers at bargain fixed prices. The nearby temple is also worth a visit, especially the water tank area. Ajay, the owner, pointed all this out to us on arrival which was very helpful.
The area was generally very peaceful. We were woken by birds and the light in the morning. :)
Please remember this is NOT a 5 star hotel with aircon and TV. If that is what you are looking for then Villa Jacaranda is not for you. If you are looking for some peace and a great place to chill out, come and visit. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a must. The terrace is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSGilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We spent the last 13 nights of our 6 week trip in India at Villa Jacaranda and we definately saved the best till last! We booked room 4 (roof top terrace) having read previous reviews and we were not dissapointed and our stay was perfect from start to finish. Located on North Cliff it was just a short walk to South Cliff, restaurants and the beach. The Villa is beautifully mainted and run with wonderful gardens and Ajay (the owner), Sunny or Brumoo were always on hand to help. Breakfast was served on our terrace every morning and if required supper could be too. The wi-fi was speedy and our room was spotless with a marvellous shower and constant hot water! Without rambling on, words cannot do it justice, a visit to Villa Jacarnada is a must if you are planning a trip to Varkala - you will not be dissapointed...

Room Tip: Room 4 with the roof terrace has a large outisde area with views to the sea - great for sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I had a fantastic week at Villa Jacaranda, coming without expectations and going a great surprise due to Amazing people, spiritual atmosphere , focus on simple but correct and precise design , great food and wonderful location.
I will definitely be back

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YSpada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The Owner, the Staff and the location make Villa Jacaranda a very special place to stay. Previous reviews have decribed the wonderful breakfasts, the impeccable service, lovely rooms and beautiful garden.....there is really nothing to add......this was by far the best place we stayed at in India......what else can one add. Thank you Ajay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#8 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jacaranda

Property: Villa Jacaranda
Address: Temple Rd W South Cliff, Varkala | South Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bijou guesthouse in serene South Cliff area of Varkala overlooking the Arabian Sea. Just four individual rooms full of character, fragrant garden, lily pond & roof terrace. Ayurvedic massage and treatments on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Jacaranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Jacaranda Hotel Varkala
Villa Jacaranda Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing