We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very memorable stay”
Review of Villa Jacaranda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Jacaranda
Ranked #9 of 102 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at Villa Jacaranda as a solo traveller for 9 nights. i loved staying here, the Villa and the garden is peaceful and lovely and the rooms have everything you need including fridge, safe, Wi-Fi and a fantastic shower. Villa 1 has a lovely terrace that overlooks the Arabian Sea as well as being a nice and spacious room. I really enjoyed the location, it is in a quiet local area of the South Cliff, it is an easy walk into town and nice walk along the beach and cliffs to the very touristy North Cliff. Sonny from the Villa was very helpful, firendly and genuine which I really appreciated. Breakfast is great as well! I will definitely stay at Villa Jacaranda again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank PrincessCoco2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaJacaranda, Owner at Villa Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your appreciation - it makes all of us at Villa Jacaranda extremely proud and happy to know that our efforts to make your stay a memorable one were successful and that you left us with a desire to return. There can be no greater compliment for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 286 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Villa Jacarda was everything and more than we expected. We had only booked for three nights as part of a trip through the coastal parts of Kerala but wished we had been able to stay here longer. Ajay and his wonderful staff are just great. Whatever they doing they are doing it right. Hope they don't change a thing because we will be back!

Room Tip: WE stayed in Room 1 on the ground floor but I'm sure they are all just as perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaJacaranda, Owner at Villa Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you, dear guest, for your kind words. There is one complaint I hear so often from happy departing guests - "we wished we had been able to stay here longer". If I may, I will quote your words to all future guests. I promise that if there are any changes made at Villa Jacaranda, they will be made with the enhancement of your stay in mind. We eagerly await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Villa Jacaranda is in a great location. The shops and restaurants of North Cliff are a short walk away. The less crowded neighborhoods and beaches of South Cliff are right there. You wake up to an amazing breakfast and garden everyday, and Ajay and staff are always friendly, approachable, and accommodating. An ayurvedic treatment center and the temple are neighbors. You may catch an elephant meandering by or walk a few short steps and look out over the Arabian Sea. Have fun!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etotheray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaJacaranda, Owner at Villa Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We are indebted for your words of praise. Thank you! Your delight in the garden and the many individual plants was a source of great pleasure for me during your stay. We look forward to your return to Villa Jacaranda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

All the other reviews are accurate, including the lonely planets description as being the ultimate in "understated luxury." We had a great two days with Ajay and his soft spoken, gracious staff. The masala chai and breakfast were wonderfully prepared and having the meal on a balcony surrounded by flowers and overlooking the ocean was a magical moment for our family. In the premonsoon heat, be prepared for warm temps while sleeping.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Reid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaJacaranda, Owner at Villa Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

It was a pleasure playing host to you and your lovely family. I am so glad your stay was a pleasant one. It is rewarding to learn through our guests' comments and reviews that our efforts "backstage" have been noticed and appreciated. Thank you for taking the trouble in posting this review. We look forward to your return to Villa Jacaranda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were in Kerala in March 2013 and had the pleasure to stay in Villa Jacaranda.

Before booking of course did a bit of inspection and when we arrived I was like WOW.

Stayed 3 night in Room1 which had a veranda with garden view. Room very clean, good and nice shower and toilet. My wife liked of course the big mirrors also. :)

Breakfast: served to your veranda and was quality. The staff asked what time would we like to get the breakfast served and you can choose from the list what you want for breakfast.

We liked the place the so much that we decided to come back to Villa Jacaranda after visiting Alleppey and Kochin. The second time we stayed in room2 which was above room1 and had a balcony with a sea view. Same classy quality as room1.

Staff is very, very helpfull answering all your questions and helping as much as they can. If you need a houseboat trip, restaurant recommedations, taxi booking, tips where to find this and that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Petri78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaJacaranda, Owner at Villa Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

As someone who is extremely fond of travel, I know the hours, days and weeks of anticipation which precede the day one boards the plane or train to make the journey. We cherish our guests' dreams and hopes they bring with them and do our very best to make them come true during their stay with us. You paid us a huge compliment by returning to Villa Jacaranda for a second time during the same holiday. Your review is like icing on a delicious cake! Thank you most kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay in this beautiful boutique guesthouse with my boyfriend in November last year at the beginning of a 3 week holiday in kerala. Looking back, villa jacaranda was definitely my favourite, of all the lovely places that we stayed in. Everything about it whispers class and elegance. The owner Ajay and his team are warm, hospitable and helpful in a non-intrusive way and were always available to us.
Our room was beautiful and had such a romantic feel to it. It also had its own private balcony with hanging plants and flowers overlooking the main garden and with views of the sea. Breakfast was served to us on this balcony each morning and was so tasty.
A definite winner, and I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikki28ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaJacaranda, Owner at Villa Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We were the lucky ones to have had the pleasure of your company during your stay at Villa Jacaranda. Our esteemed guests are after all our "raison d'être". It pleases me no end to know you have marked us out for such high praise out of all the many undoubtedly special places you stayed in during your three weeks in Kerala. Thank you. We sincerely look forward to the day you shall return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My partner and I started our week-long Keralan holiday here. It was perfect. The breakfast is wonderful, the staff attentive, friendly and extremely polite (Pramod was amazing!).

The restaurants recommended to us were fantastic and the houseboat stay that owner Ajay organised for us was excellent. I can't recommend Villa Jacaranda enough!

The highlight of all three of our days was returning to our beautiful terrace early evening...fresh jasmine awaited us on our terrace as did beautiful, fresh flowers in our room.

We didn't expect touches like a safe in the room, a fridge (with fresh, filtered water), constant hot, running water for the price we paid.

The location is perfect - right next to the beach and close (but not too close) to the shops/restaurants etc along the cliff.

Would be a perfect place to stay for a couple, solo traveller or group of friends...wonderful.

Room Tip: Room One is beautiful...you have a terrace on to the garden. You feel as though you have completely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vickers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaJacaranda, Owner at Villa Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your words of praise. Villa Jacaranda was designed as such - each room to have maximum privacy. The last thing one wants is to face a crowd first thing in the morning! This is one reason why we decided not to have a common breakfast area but rather to have private verandas for each room instead. It was the best decision we made. Foremost in our attempt to create a guesthouse was the comfort of our guests. "What would we like to find in our room on a holiday in a beach town?" was the question we asked ourselves. It is heartening to know that for most of our guests we have done the "right thing".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 114 in Varkala
417 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Akasa
Villa Akasa
#3 of 114 in Varkala
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jacaranda

Address: Temple Rd W South Cliff, Varkala | South Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: $109 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bijou guesthouse in serene South Cliff area of Varkala overlooking the Arabian Sea. Just four individual rooms full of character, fragrant garden, lily pond & roof terrace. Ayurvedic massage and treatments on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Jacaranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Jacaranda Hotel Varkala
Villa Jacaranda Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing