We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed after 2 weeks travelling through the south”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just what we needed after 2 weeks travelling through the south”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

To start with some positive points. The rooms were excellent, clean and nicely decorated. The views from the hotel are amazing : palm trees everywhere you look, and the sea at the horizon.
The kids loved the swimming pool.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a nice selection of international and Indian items. And every morning the chef even came to say hello to all the guests.
From the hotel you can walk to the beach through nice green surroundings.

Less positive was that we had an issue on check-in : Taj confirmed a quadruple room for 4 persons with us, but in the end didn't even seem to have quadruple rooms. Only after some discussion, and after the GM was called in, we were offered an extra bed for our 2 kids (which worked out well after all).
Food service was slow (we waited one hour for lunch, and even got the wrong thing then : fair enough, the cheff and restaurant staff sincerly apologized for it in a correct way).
Wifi is expensive (but that's often the case in similar hotels in India)

Summarized, we had some minor issues which you should not have in a Taj Hotel, but all in all we had a great stay and loved Varkala.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    256
    61
    23
    13
See reviews for
265
290
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had booked a stay at the Gateway for 2 night from 12/25..When I booked thought expedia.com, X'mas dinner was also included in the package. However, on checking- in, I was told that the dinner was held on the 24th..I am not sure if the error was at expedia’s end or at the Hotels end.

Any way I raised this a number for times with various staff & management..Each time I was given a lot of sweet talk & told to reach to Expedia. Unfortunately nothing was done to redress this.

We felt cheated & disappointed. The new Manager Suresh & his right hand Ramesh should have at least acknowledged this & tried redress this during our stay..but nothing..Being a new promote, I think this reflected the Manager's lack of experience in managing their client’s experience on the property.

Note...this property is not on the North Cliff ( where all the action is ) & is atleast 7 to 10 min walk away from the beach. Anything over $175/night ( Peak season ) is paying too much.

The Property itself is OK and most other staff are decent and well meaning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj_G_Menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

First we had booked a hotel in kovalam. Later realized that vaekala beach made better sense and based on trip advisor ratings booked the taj gateway hotel.
It is a small hotel with thirty rooms, with an excellent swimming pool and give minutes walk from the beach. The staff is very courteous and friendly and gives you a home feel. Bijoy the head chef was very helpful. He prepared some amazing local dishes which we thoroughly enjoyed. Overall a great 4 star experience

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arijit_Sarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Was just an average stay.

1. Beach is near enough, but it is a public one. The hotel does not offer any shade umbrellas (not even sure about beach towels). So you will be sharing the surf with locals and others from the area in the hot blazing sun.

2. No free wifi (which turns out to be the case at most Taj hotels). Every other hotel we stayed at offered free wifi!

3. Staff are eager to please.

4. Don't count on breakfast starting at the stipulated 7:30am. We had a early morning transfer and service only really started around 8am.

5. Food is not an issue as there are a few other restaurants in the area if you are not happy with the hotel restaurant.

6. Pool is nice and welcoming but a bit too small. On our stay all the lounge seats were taken.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahendren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel - excellent service, awesome food and very well maintained. Trust Taj to get all elements right. The Cliff (hilly part of Varkala) which has a string of shacks, restaurants catering to foreigners mainly is a small walk away. The famous Janardhanaswamy Temple is another must visit ..five minutes away. The Papanasam("the one that washes your sins") beach is at the foothills of the hotel. Offers a very different and relaxing experience. Delighted with the holiday.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sumeetpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel - excellent service, awesome food and very well maintained. Trust Taj to get all elements right. The Cliff (hilly part of Varkala) which has a string of shacks, restaurants catering to foreigners mainly is a small walk away. The famous Janardhanaswamy Temple is another must visit ..five minutes away. The Papanasam("the one that washes your sins") beach is at the foothills of the hotel. Offers a very different and relaxing experience. Delighted with the holiday.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sumeetpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Have stayed here 3 times in the last 4 years and I'm almost certain to go there next year. Varkala is an extraordinary place and Gateway Hotel with its easy access to the beach is a great place to stay. One suggestion is to book deals that includes food by calling the Hotel directly. Great service and the rooms are a pleasure. There is a nice gym, a ayurvedic massage place and a great swimming pool. Our last stay was the best and memorable for lot of reasons.

Room Tip: Choose Beach facing
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sampath_Parth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Property: The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing