We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finding true peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mektoub

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mektoub
Ranked #26 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finding true peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

First things first: Rafiq, the owner is an absolutely lovely person, always greeted with a big, warm, welcoming smile. And the name - Mektoub (meaning fate) - says everything. It was true fate that we found this place in Varkala. After traveling in India for 5 weeks, this place was by far the best place we stayed in for a reasonable price. Just 3 km or a 15 min walk away from lively Varkala Beach, here you have the chance to relax and find yourself. The Bungalows built out of the same bricks the local fisherman use to build their own houses, the place fits perfectly in its surrounding. Having no boundaries around this little resort really gives you the feeling you are not trapped in a resort but part of the landscape. We would definitely recommend you stay here.
Thanks for everything Rafiq, Judith and Elliot

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JudithK1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a lovely, earthy, beautiful and gentle place. It is in step with the natural environment of the area and the livelihoods of the local fisherman who work on the quieter and more rustic beach of Odayam just in front. The rooms are clean, comfortable; many with balconies and lush, warm sea breezes. We loved our philosophical chats with Fariq, who is so kind and considerate to his guests. The staff team were also kind, respectful and great. Low key and rustic, its a great escape.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

no words to describe ,best place to stay in kerala
awesome manager-rafiq(gem of a person)
awesome food
awesome staff
awesome ambience
very neat and clean
feels like u r not in varkala somewhere else
ideal for any one family,couple or single travellers

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immusole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was my second time to stay at the Mektoub in Verkala. This place has the perfect combination of comfort and nature. The rooms are simple and elegant, with a rustic feel, just moments away from the beautiful uncrowded Odayam beach and surrounded by lush palms and grass. One drifts to sleep to the sound of crashing waves and wakes to the sound of the buffalo in the fields behind. Rafik, the manager makes the stay extra special with his gentle approach adding to the complete relaxation of Verkala.

Steps away from a great yoga and ayurvedic centre, so there really is everything you need for a healthy and rejuvenating vacation, away from the hustle and bustle of the cliff, but still close enough to head there in the evening if you fancy.

I can't recommend this place enough, and will hopefully keep coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Mektoub resort is on the far side of Odayam beach or black beach. It's a place to relax and enjoy the quietness broken only by the crashing waves.
The cottages / rooms are sea facing, clean, spacious and well maintained. Rafiq and his team makes sure you are well looked after.
The north cliff is around 15 minutes by walk but ýou can also hire a tuk tuk by asking Rafiq to arrange one.
Had the most hearty breakfasts at mektoub followed with pots of coffee.
The restaurant wasn't up and running when we were there but the team was to reach next week.
All in all a very beautiful place with beach access, excellent service and clean spacious and well maintained cottages.
Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azkazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My stay here was my first time to India. A few of us left Abu Dhabi to go see a friend who lives in Goa, but we decided to meet in Varkaka and stay at the Mektoub. I was really looking forward to a relaxing weekend with friends and that is exactly what we got. I didn't miss TV, phones, wi-fi or any of that. You can get lost just sitting on your patio for hours listening to the waves and the birds and whatever else is out there.

We were greeted at 4 or 5 in the morning by Rafiq and his coworker who were nothing but lovely and helpful all weekend. Candles lit on your porch. Incense lit...coffee or tea only a word away.

The accommodations are simple, but clean. The water for the shower was not warm, but the weather was so nice we never minded. You can heat up the water by stove if you need to.

They organazied airport transfer and Tuk Tuk drivers whenever we asked. If it was dark, they offered us flashlights or helped us get to and fro. Otherwise, they just leave you alone. Funny...it's almost like they aren't there until you need them. There were only a few other guests the weekend we were there, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves which was even better.

The food was simple, but delicious. Eggs, Fruit dishes, toast, coffee, tea, juice, and some other dishes that I can't remember, but all tasty! We left every day satisfied for hours.

There isn't enough to say about this place that hasn't already been said below. It's very close to paradise. Don't stay on the busy cliff. Mektoub is only a short walk to the cafes and shopping.

I can't wait to return, but perhaps next time just with someone special. Rafiq and his crew deserve all the best and I hope more people try this little gem (just not TOO many!)

Room Tip: If you are a couple, try and spring for the room that has a sitting room, but honestly we were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

While traveling through South of India we stumbeld over this very nice,cosy and quiet place.We stayed there in the off season(August)
The Hotel itself is hidden in the woods, walking distance to the sea shore and a little path will guide you to the more busy part of Varkala(10,15 minutes walk at the Cliff/beach),so you can still enjoy the fish restaurants or the busy shopping.
The whole place is so quiet, you can hear the sea and the animals around this area.Especially at night when the big windows are open, you have the feeling of sleeping outside. There is no Wi-Fi or Television, which made this place even more peaceful and calm.The room was very modern,clean, comfortable and had a front and rear Balcony. The very friendly owner of the Hotel, Rafiq, took very good care of us and we had very nice conversations with him.He alaso made us really good breakfasts and decorated the Balcony with nice flowers.so we felt even more at home.
Back in Germany we still miss the peace,the silence and staying at this beautiful place a lot.
So if you are looking for a perfect place to relax, find peace at a perfect location with reasonable prices, this is definelty the place to go.We will stay there again for sure.

This is the phone number of Mektoub:
+919447971239

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Guesthouse
Magnolia Guesthouse
#24 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 93 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#10 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green Villa Garden Home & Guest House
0.1 mi away
MINT INSIDE beach hotel
MINT INSIDE beach hotel
#44 of 93 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Cliff Cottages
Bay Cliff Cottages
#27 of 93 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mektoub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mektoub

Property: Mektoub
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mektoub is a Green Hotel with natural and endless wilderness, set in simple, peaceful, rustic ambience in Varkala, secluded and rightly placed in Odayam Beach where the traveler halts and rests. Mektoub is passionately eco-conscious, friendly and helpful, envisioned to bridge tourism and the local community pro-creatively through sustainable developments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mektoub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mektoub Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing