We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mektoub
Nearby Hotels
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$39
$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Kshetra Beach Resorts(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$15
$11
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varkala Marine Palace(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
44
7
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
7
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddy fieldspalm treesodayam beachlove naturevarkala cliffclose to naturesmall beachrooms are cleanshort walkrafikpeacebeingsseabalconyindiafishermanwaves
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 58 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012

After travelling India for some months I had the luck to find this place by chance and have to mention that at last I found PEACE.
It's a simple build hotel, clean and well equiped, located out of the noisy Cliff but on a walking distance, infront of scluded small beach, sorrounded by locals and a profound silence.
The restaurant is very good and the staff so friendly.
I would suggest everybody to visit this place at least for a few days and enjoy the other Varkala beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler67188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

My salutations to you!

PEACE - even in its entirety, is found in Mektoub and that for the earnest seeker and right within the heart's trembling grasp... and that is less of a coincidence but a burnt yearning... of both the wanderer and his refuge as their luminous paths collide...

Rafiq.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This January we stayed at Mektoub for the third year in a row - and we will be back again. Mektoub is truly peaceful and relaxing - during the summer in Europe we dream of sitting on the veranda at Mektoub, with the sound of the Indian Ocean and the utter tranquility of the environment. It is a simple, fabulous, tranquil place to be. If you are loking for a place to unwind, this is it. With a couple of fish restaurants within ten mins walk, and busy Varkala only 15 mins walk up the coast, you don't need to go very far for anything. If you don't want to leave this tranquil spot, Rafiq will russle you up a tasty Keralan meal. I can't speak highly enough of this place, Rafiq has got the pitch just perfect - comfortable, non-fussy rooms, no wifi (go to the cliff for that), no TV, just calm and peace. We love it and will be back for year four soon. If it wasnt for discovering Rafiq's place three years ago, we would never have gone back to Varkala again, but since discovering the view of the long sandy beaches along Odyam beach, with local fishermen catching their lunch every day, is not to be missed. Don't stay on the cliff, make the effort to walk up to Odyam beach and stay here. Many thanks to Rafiq for creating such a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TR4Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

I remember how lost in tranquility you BE in Mektoub. Isn’t that so because you have in you true finding of Yourselves! Yes my friends, Yes….!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Well, what can we say..! Its a challenge to express our deep gratitude for Mektoub and its humble owner and caretaker Rafik. A hidden treasure, away from the commercial tourist industry. This place will be highly appreciated by anyone who is looking for a quiet, beautiful and clean place at an affordable price. In full abundance we just stayed on for longer and longer... As the days turned into weeks we got to know our honorable host Rafiik who is an openhearted welcoming being with many wonderful ideas to make people feel at home.
With great care he manage the place with minimum struggle it seems and is very conscious of not making Mektoub into another tourist trap, at the same time will do anything to make sure you feel at welcomed. In his own way Mektoub is opening the space for an authentic meeting with Varkalas beauty. The food is also excellent. So, all in all, not much to complain about here. It is a bit tricky to find though, good luck and enjoy the stay.
If you are a need of a good doctor and dont want to take the allopathy way we can warmly recommend Dr. Ashok at the Devi Clinic (located along the cliffs).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 419MarcusI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Yes, my Marcus, aren’t we just humble subjects to the full abundant Grace of life. Mektoub is a place that may open one’s space to open expression of such Gratitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

If you are looking for tranquility and peace, fishing villages, palm and banana groves with paddy fields at the back, then Mektoub is the place for you. This little gem has a totally unique position, away from the bustling cliff area but only fifteen minutes walk away along an established and safe path, with two shops close by and with easy reach to Verkala town. This is Kerala at its best. Fantastic beach and abundant bird and wildlife to be seen.
All rooms are modern and clean with front and rear balconies. Two rooms have adjoining kitchen with fridge and cookers etc for long stayers. Experienced chef available to cook delicious meals in thatched restaurant overlooking the sea where you can watch the local fishermen at your leisure. The owner Rafiq is a charming man and we had many delightful chats with him.
We stayed for a month and literally found it to be "a paradise on earth". Will visit again and again. Thank you Rafiq.
Nicky and Paul

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickyH215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

You words bring in me those times when you two were here and I can’t help but smile and smile and smile. You are always welcome because isn’t life so charming true and beautiul!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

First time when you arrive there, you would be impressed how beautiful it is. It is indescriable in words. I have been visiting this place many times yet always I get impressed how beautiful it is on each visit. The room is simple but very appreciatable. Each room has its own balcony & we can enjoy the complete silence at night without any kinds of disturbance- his place is isolated from anywhere which makes a bit difficult to get food(sometimes they have room service, yet not all the time) but totally worth to stay for those who want to be away from any attachment to this human world and recover with nature power.
The owner of this resort has a concept of sustainability. People who love nature and think of alternative to this industrialized world should enjoy the talk with him. However, this place is the best to enjoy the calmness and silence which we may never get anywhere else.
what you may experience here is totally different & speechless.

Room Tip: Upstairs - better! There is a family room which has 2 rooms with a small balcony and kitchen No AC room to enjoy the real breeze from nature Near by yoga center is there
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ayumisanthigiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Ayumi, it is amazing how clearly you observe Mektoub - it is exactly this profoundest peace and the healing power of nature why I spent all my life in here. It is such fulfilling to hear precious travelers like you comment in such conviction the truth about the spirit of this place. As for the food you mentioned, now we have pure tender loving food anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews