We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnolia Guesthouse(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$20
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Garden(Varkala)
$14
$13
Booking.com
View Deal
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$38
$29
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $36/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$36
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
InDa Hotel(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$19
$16
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$23
$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $23/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
$16
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $18/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
44
7
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
7
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddy fieldspalm treesodayam beachlove naturevarkala cliffclose to naturesmall beachrafikpeacebeingsbalconyseakeralawavesyoga
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 58 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Well, what can we say..! Its a challenge to express our deep gratitude for Mektoub and its humble owner and caretaker Rafik. A hidden treasure, away from the commercial tourist industry. This place will be highly appreciated by anyone who is looking for a quiet, beautiful and clean place at an affordable price. In full abundance we just stayed on for longer and longer... As the days turned into weeks we got to know our honorable host Rafiik who is an openhearted welcoming being with many wonderful ideas to make people feel at home.
With great care he manage the place with minimum struggle it seems and is very conscious of not making Mektoub into another tourist trap, at the same time will do anything to make sure you feel at welcomed. In his own way Mektoub is opening the space for an authentic meeting with Varkalas beauty. The food is also excellent. So, all in all, not much to complain about here. It is a bit tricky to find though, good luck and enjoy the stay.
If you are a need of a good doctor and dont want to take the allopathy way we can warmly recommend Dr. Ashok at the Devi Clinic (located along the cliffs).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 419MarcusI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Yes, my Marcus, aren’t we just humble subjects to the full abundant Grace of life. Mektoub is a place that may open one’s space to open expression of such Gratitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

If you are looking for tranquility and peace, fishing villages, palm and banana groves with paddy fields at the back, then Mektoub is the place for you. This little gem has a totally unique position, away from the bustling cliff area but only fifteen minutes walk away along an established and safe path, with two shops close by and with easy reach to Verkala town. This is Kerala at its best. Fantastic beach and abundant bird and wildlife to be seen.
All rooms are modern and clean with front and rear balconies. Two rooms have adjoining kitchen with fridge and cookers etc for long stayers. Experienced chef available to cook delicious meals in thatched restaurant overlooking the sea where you can watch the local fishermen at your leisure. The owner Rafiq is a charming man and we had many delightful chats with him.
We stayed for a month and literally found it to be "a paradise on earth". Will visit again and again. Thank you Rafiq.
Nicky and Paul

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickyH215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

You words bring in me those times when you two were here and I can’t help but smile and smile and smile. You are always welcome because isn’t life so charming true and beautiul!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

First time when you arrive there, you would be impressed how beautiful it is. It is indescriable in words. I have been visiting this place many times yet always I get impressed how beautiful it is on each visit. The room is simple but very appreciatable. Each room has its own balcony & we can enjoy the complete silence at night without any kinds of disturbance- his place is isolated from anywhere which makes a bit difficult to get food(sometimes they have room service, yet not all the time) but totally worth to stay for those who want to be away from any attachment to this human world and recover with nature power.
The owner of this resort has a concept of sustainability. People who love nature and think of alternative to this industrialized world should enjoy the talk with him. However, this place is the best to enjoy the calmness and silence which we may never get anywhere else.
what you may experience here is totally different & speechless.

Room Tip: Upstairs - better! There is a family room which has 2 rooms with a small balcony and kitchen No AC room to enjoy the real breeze from nature Near by yoga center is there
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ayumisanthigiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Ayumi, it is amazing how clearly you observe Mektoub - it is exactly this profoundest peace and the healing power of nature why I spent all my life in here. It is such fulfilling to hear precious travelers like you comment in such conviction the truth about the spirit of this place. As for the food you mentioned, now we have pure tender loving food anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Mektoub after 14 days of stay has been much more than just a place to sleep. The direct contact with the pure nature, the simplicity, the interaction with the local community, the peace, the respect, the humble, the silence, the long talkings with the worthy owner, the sustanible policy, has been a priceless experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank locadeatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Ana and Alberto, thank you for all those beautiful words you wrote and as if your time in Mektoub was more than anything else than the meaning of those words! Such a brotherhood, the moments with the two of you were really priceless.
Rafiq.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews