We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mektoub Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mektoub

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mektoub
Ranked #25 of 96 Varkala B&B and Inns
Newark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mektoub Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

If you are looking for tranquility and peace, fishing villages, palm and banana groves with paddy fields at the back, then Mektoub is the place for you. This little gem has a totally unique position, away from the bustling cliff area but only fifteen minutes walk away along an established and safe path, with two shops close by and with easy reach to Verkala town. This is Kerala at its best. Fantastic beach and abundant bird and wildlife to be seen.
All rooms are modern and clean with front and rear balconies. Two rooms have adjoining kitchen with fridge and cookers etc for long stayers. Experienced chef available to cook delicious meals in thatched restaurant overlooking the sea where you can watch the local fishermen at your leisure. The owner Rafiq is a charming man and we had many delightful chats with him.
We stayed for a month and literally found it to be "a paradise on earth". Will visit again and again. Thank you Rafiq.
Nicky and Paul

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyH215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
You words bring in me those times when you two were here and I can’t help but smile and smile and smile. You are always welcome because isn’t life so charming true and beautiul!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
trivandrum - yokohama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

First time when you arrive there, you would be impressed how beautiful it is. It is indescriable in words. I have been visiting this place many times yet always I get impressed how beautiful it is on each visit. The room is simple but very appreciatable. Each room has its own balcony & we can enjoy the complete silence at night without any kinds of disturbance- his place is isolated from anywhere which makes a bit difficult to get food(sometimes they have room service, yet not all the time) but totally worth to stay for those who want to be away from any attachment to this human world and recover with nature power.
The owner of this resort has a concept of sustainability. People who love nature and think of alternative to this industrialized world should enjoy the talk with him. However, this place is the best to enjoy the calmness and silence which we may never get anywhere else.
what you may experience here is totally different & speechless.

Room Tip: Upstairs - better! There is a family room which has 2 rooms with a small balcony and kitchen No AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ayumisanthigiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Ayumi, it is amazing how clearly you observe Mektoub - it is exactly this profoundest peace and the healing power of nature why I spent all my life in here. It is such fulfilling to hear precious travelers like you comment in such conviction the truth about the spirit of this place. As for the food you mentioned, now we have pure tender loving food anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palencia, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Mektoub after 14 days of stay has been much more than just a place to sleep. The direct contact with the pure nature, the simplicity, the interaction with the local community, the peace, the respect, the humble, the silence, the long talkings with the worthy owner, the sustanible policy, has been a priceless experience.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank locadeatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafiqMektoub, Owner at Mektoub, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Ana and Alberto, thank you for all those beautiful words you wrote and as if your time in Mektoub was more than anything else than the meaning of those words! Such a brotherhood, the moments with the two of you were really priceless.
Rafiq.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Guesthouse
Magnolia Guesthouse
#24 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.5 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Villa Garden Home & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 93 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Cliff Cottages
Bay Cliff Cottages
#27 of 93 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mektoub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mektoub

Property: Mektoub
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mektoub is a Green Hotel with natural and endless wilderness, set in simple, peaceful, rustic ambience in Varkala, secluded and rightly placed in Odayam Beach where the traveler halts and rests. Mektoub is passionately eco-conscious, friendly and helpful, envisioned to bridge tourism and the local community pro-creatively through sustainable developments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mektoub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mektoub Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing