We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khan is a food artist, best meal/cooking class we had in South India!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Khan's Cooking Class
1 review
“Khan is a food artist, best meal/cooking class we had in South India!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Khan is an artist when it comes to cooking! And an excellent teacher too!

The best thing is that he teaches you anything you want to learn, keralan dishes are his bests Without a doubt.
You get to actually cook with him (you won't just sit scribbling notes), learn from his personal touch which he puts in every dish (not "just another keralan meal") along with which tools to use (types of pan, knives, intensity of the fire etc) and how.

At the end of it all you get to eat what you just prepared. Delicious! We learnt a lot and made a very good friend. Thank Khan!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
“Best. Food. Ever.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My friend and I took Khan's cooking class and after that wanted to eat his food every day! It was the best meal in Kerala and now we know how to make everything! We learned how to make fresh coconut milk and the best parota ever. Ever. Can't wait to go home and repeat the meal for family and friends! Thanks Khan!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you're in Varkala - go and find Khan!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The lovely laid back Mr Khan taught me some great Kerala dishes which I will definitely have a go at. The class is not expensive and takes at least a couple of hours. After you've done the class - you get to eat the food! Kerala cookery uses a lot of fresh coconut, I wonder if these dishes will taste the same with a british supermarket coconut that has been sitting on a shelf for weeks and weeks. Oh Kerala - how I'm going to miss you when I go back to the cold and grey.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best cooking class around!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We came across khans cooking class through his friend. We were drinking in the moon dance bar and asked about a cooking class so he took us to meet khan.
We were pleasantly surprised to meet khan, a young man with tons of cooking experience from all over the world not just Kerala.
Khan asked us what we wanted to cook first then gave us some ideas.
Our first lesson we made onion pakoras ( our request) , chaptis, beetroot thoran and veg aviyal. All were so simple and tasted delicious!
He went through step by step all of which were very easy an straight forward.
We loved the recipes so much we booked another class the day after, and couldn't wait to learn more Kerala dishes!!
Our next class we were taught to make veg samosa, paratha, mango curry and mung bean dhal. The samosas were the best I've every had and the mango curry was a first! I can't wait to get stuck in at home and try it all again for myself!
If you want an easy laid back cooking class for beginners to experienced then try khans class! Such a laugh.
Thanks for a brilliant couple of lessons! See you at the wedding ;) x

Helpful?
1 Thank han43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Taste of Kerala”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Khan is a chef in Varkala who provides cooking classes out of the Cliff Lounge Guest House. He is very sociable and friendly. He taught us how to make 4 different dishes with simple local ingredients and professional methods of cooking. The course itself could have been a little bit more hands on but the food was excellent and we have been able to replicate the dishes since we've been home. You can find more information on the guest house website or on Khan's Cooling Class Facebook page.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank taiwantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khan's Cooking Class also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Khan's Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing