We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service above all”
Review of Maadathil Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maadathil Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The place was fantastic, the location perfect but we were surprised at the quality of personalized service that is rare to come by these days. The team at Maadathil sincerely care.
Everything was superb; from the attention to detail in the rooms to the lay outs for the meals and the readiness with they were willing to help for any little thing.
Muhajir has the makings of a great hotelier. Wishing him all the best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Maadathil Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 403 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Room was great, as was the food, and the two brothers who run the place were great lads and even personally drove us to our next destination (Kovalam) as their usual driver wasn't available (broke his ankle playing football!). Would recommend this place to everyone, especially if you're looking to get away from the usual tourist spots in Varkala. There wasn't much beach available to us as it wasn't the season, but I've been told it's amazing earlier on in the year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have had the pleasure to be guests at Maadathil Cottages in the mid Sept. 2013 and had the most peaceful stay of our lives.

Perfectly located on the Black Beach it provides a unique the least touristy possibility to turn off the rest of the world!
Supported by the most kind family and employees none of your wishes will be kept open and none request left unsolved! Perfect hospitality!

Thank you for this beautiful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best place that we have ever been to. Calm, Silent, Peaceful atmosphere. customer Service was remarkable. Excellent food. A splendid holiday stay beside the beach. We loved it. Thankz to Maadathil Cottages, this was indeed a memorable experience for us. We are coming back very soon. Luv u guyz at the cottage,

Manu an Indhu

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indhu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent three days at Maadathil cottages and loved our stay there. Our bungalow was spacious, nicely furnished and extremely clean. It also has a lovely front porch, which is ideal for afternoon reading or breakfast. The surroundings are enchanting: front view on a beautiful coconut grove and the ocean, back view on a lotus flower pond (visited by some beautiful buffalos every day). We had breakfast on site every day and really liked the food and the luxury of having breakfast delivered to our front porch while staring at the ocean.
The place is located at the North of Varkala, which in our opinion is the best place to stay at because it is still well preserved and not overly touristic compared the Varkala cliff. During the day, it's about a 20 minutes walk to Varkala cliff. At night, the staff will be glad to provide you with a flash light but the walk is abit more complicated as there are no lights. As an alternative, you can also take a rickshaw. This may sound a bit inconvenient but it's totally worth it if you want to enjoy the beautiful views and nature of Varkala.
Muhajir and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Muhajir organized a special dinner and our rickshaw ride back to the train station. The very nice man that works on site also brought us some fresh coconuts in the middle of the day: delicious!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan_Lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It has been wonderful experience staying in maadathil cottages in varkala. Staff and muhajir were very friendly , helpful and hospitality at best. Cottages have very nice view and sound of sea in front. We had just breakfast all the time in cottage and it was excellent. Dinner requires some adventure and fun to go to cliff restaurants , If your partner is scared of dark and see too much scary movies please make sure u rent a bike and go to cliff by bike rather than by walk..lolz.

Cliff restaurants are around 20 minutes walk from cottages and way is a big raw/rough for night but it has its own fun. Super view from cottages and nice lotus pond behind cottages. I got the best scotty arranged by muhajir (white and very new in excellent condition) on which we went to explore the varkala and surrounding beaches.

If you plan to go to cliff restaurant for eating in varkala from any resort/hotel make sure you buy a torch for the night walk.

Thanks muhajir and maadathil cottages for making out stay very pleasant and wonderful. I and my girlfriend would love to come back and stay again for longer next time.

Regards
Sumit

Room Tip: Choose one which faces sea , we have C-4 cottage and i think C1-C4 has best view of sea.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sumitks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This delightful collection of ten cottages is run by the owner with a small team of staff. They are set in pristine gardens and a beautiful coconut grove right by the sea - it's almost like a tropical paradise but there is no beach. To the rear is a beautiful lotus flower pond. The cottages, like the grounds and the guests, are treated with love, are clean, and everything works: quite something for India! Having the delicious breakfast - the special muesli really is special - on your porch makes you feel you could stay here forever.
However you do need to know that the resort is quite hard to access. It's a good walk from Varkala beach - take a flashlight - or an expensive (by Indian standards) rickshaw ride out. The food is OK, but you can eat very well in Varkala, as long as you don't want to eat Indian food! We ate on Varkala cliff most nights and walked back in the dark, but it isn't an easy walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.9 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
938 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#24 of 52 in Varkala
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maadathil Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maadathil Cottages

Address: Manthara Temple Road | Edava, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range: $33 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maadathil Cottages are a collection of 12 traditional Kerala style bungalows (built 2011) on Odayam beach. Each cottage includes one large double bed (with mosquito net), en-suite bathroom with shower and hot water, a verandah overlooking the palm trees and sea where you can enjoy our home cooked breakfasts and fresh seafood dinners caught straight from the beach. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maadathil Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maadathil Cottages Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing