We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very calm and remote beach”
Review of Maadathil Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maadathil Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very calm and remote beach”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

If you want to party go to Varkala on the cliff. This place Maadathil Cottages is beautiful and ideal for relaxing. They do have access to a private beach (100 m distance). It is difficult to find (as in April 2012), but this makes it so charming. Varkala cliff is within walking distance (20 min) all along the beach. You can even so some workout by helping the fishermen in the morning to pull in the nets.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    38
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
212
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

A little piece of paradise we are still happy to have gotten to know. This inimitable place is lovingly looked after by Muhajir, Ganesh and team. We are only all hoping that they will be succeeding in protecting the cottage against mass tourism

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederiquebkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Really enjoyed our little adventure to Maadathil Cottages and so pleased that we stayed away from the tourism which you find a little further along the cliff. The staff were so friendly and I loved having breakfast on my own veranda! The cottages are set in natural surroundings, fields behind with farmers ploughing the fields with their cows, kingfishers in the trees and a lovely little private cove with Herons lazily hanging around. Helping the fishermen in the morning was really enjoyable and the rest of Varkala is just a short walk away along a lovely coastal path. The food and hospitality was first class. Basic bungalows with a great fan above the bed and a lovely mosquito net. What more could anyone ask for! Thanks so much for the personal taxi trip to the airport too :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Since my mother came home in December from her first trip to India where she ended her vacation on Odayam Beach, she wouldn’t stop raving about this magical and beautiful place called Maadathil Cottages, and she soon decided to go there again in February. Since we’ve never seen our mother so enthused after a vacation my brother, his girlfriend and me (her daughter) decided to join her on our vacation.
We soon found out why she had been hooked by this place. It is a green oasis between rough red cliffs, coconut trees, the sea and rice paddies. After a swim in the sea, a fruit salad with Masala chai beneath the lotus pond, a breathtaking sunset enjoyed from the porch of your cottage and watching the fire flights whilst lying in a hammock you will be completely enchanted by this place. I am glad my mother discovered this magnificent place, I am very grateful for all the great time I spent there and I am already looking forward to returning some day. Thank you for everything Muhajir, Ganesh and Roy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraDol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

If you wish to have a quite stay, a bit far from the hectic Verkala cliff, Maadathil Cottages is your place.
Cottages are new, clean and nice decorated with a balcony facing the sea. It is located between coconut trees and a small pond with lilies and lotus plants.
In the morning, you can join the fishermen, helping them to pull their nets out of the water.
There are few restaurants around, if you wish to get variety.
I wish we had more time to spend there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avihub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Maadathil Cottages in December 2011 after some days staying at the north cliff. We were looking for a quiet place to stay in terms of noise and of tourism and we were so lucky to find Maadathil.

It is 3 or 4 km away from the cliff, so far away but close enough to walk if you need to buy something or want to have food at one of the restaurants. Although you will find nice little restaurants near Maadathil cottages so there is no need to move! We really enjoyed the food at maadathil, especially our breakfasts and the best banana porridge we've had in our lives!

The beaches are beautiful, sunsets are beautufil and the staff are fantastic and very friendly.

We highly recommend this place to anyone with children or anyone wanting to spend some quality time in nature. Perhaps try to avoid Christmas time as the prices do increase and you'll have to share this beautiful place with many others... ;)

Thanks Muhajir and your brother, Ganesh and Roy!

Big hug from Spain

Rocio & Paco :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2012

we just spent our time enjoying this gorgeous place at the palm-lined seaside in the comfortable cottage.
If you're planning some beach holiday in kerala: varkala is the only reasonable choice and the ne plus ultra for your over-night stay are the Maadathil Cottages!
I truly can recommand this place managed by the most friendly staff - I'll be back...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan-ueli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maadathil Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maadathil Cottages

Property: Maadathil Cottages
Address: Manthara Temple Road | Edava, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maadathil Cottages are a collection of 10 traditional Kerala style bungalows (built 2011) on Odayam beach. Each cottage includes one large double bed (with mosquito net), en-suite bathroom with shower and hot water, a verandah overlooking the palm trees and sea where you can enjoy our home cooked breakfasts and fresh seafood dinners caught straight from the beach. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maadathil Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maadathil Cottages Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing