We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maadathil Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$107
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$24
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kshetra Beach Resorts(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karthika Plaza Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
InDa Hotel(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$25
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varkala Marine Palace(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$23
$19
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
411
42
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
42
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsodayam beachlotus pondthree brotherspalm treesa family run businessnorth cliffsmall beachminute walklocal fishermensound of the waveshis teamvarkala areaamazing placesmall restaurantevery morningtourist areaother resorts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 455 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at Maadathil cottages for two nights in Dec11'. The cottages were new, clean and of good value. The location of the cottages makes them even more attractive: a very quiet and beautiful location a few kilometers north from all the hassle of the Varkala cliff. The breakfast was also excellent, one of the best ones I ran into on my journey across Kerala. I would highly recommend this place for anyone seeking tranquility in a beatiful setting with a budged price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RattusDomesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

When we arrived in Varkala we stayed for one night at the cliff and were a little bit disappointed. But then we found this place, a bit away from the cliffs, calm, beautiful, shaded by palms with beautiful views and a refreshing breeze from the sea.
It is a perfect place to enjoy a relaxing time at the sea if you are looking for nature, not for luxury.

We can recommend this place without any restriction.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zwulfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We (my friend and I) wanted to spend some relaxing days in Varkala after travelling two weeks through Kerala. After we stayed three nights at a noisy and busy place in the middle of Northcliff, we decided to look for a more peaceful place, away from the tourist scene (where we would be able to actually sleep at night). We we're walking along the beach when we discovered a beautiful lotus pool in front of four freshly built cottages. The Maadathil brothers told us that two of their cottages were still free to rent and we instantly moved our stuff. On our porch we enjoyed breathtaking sunsets and delicious meals, prepared by Roy the talented cook.
Behind the cottages in the paddy fields you can spot a kingfisher and in the darkness the fireflies are flying around the coconut palms . Savely under the mosquito net and hearing the waves, we slept like angels. The bathrooms were generously big and clean.
Additionally, despite the lotus pool near the cottages, there were almost no mosquitos bothering us.
For breakfast we ordered freshly made juices and Roy the cook really knows how to make the most delicious fruit salad! If you like some toast, eggs....there's a great selection for every taste, even the typical Keralian breakfast called "upma".
There's a beautiful path along the cliff if you like to go for a run or a walk, afterwards you can enjoy a bath in the sea and at the clean beach you can watch the fishermen bring in their fishes (if you like some fish for dinner, Roy prepares them delicously).
Muhajir and his brother kindly helped us planning some daily tours and and when we had to journey on they helped us to organise the trip to Kochin.

We will always remember the unforgettable time we could spend at Odayam Beach and thanks to the Maadathil brothers and Roy this place honestly is one of a kind!
Back in Switzerland I already started to plan my next trip to Kerala and booked a bungalow at Maadathil cottages for this time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We decided to come to Odayam after 3 months travelling round North India. We'd booked into a place up the road, but thought it was a bit expensive so walked along the beach and looked in every place we passed to compare prices. Luckily we stumbled upon the little patch of paradise that is Maadathil Bungalows, the best value out of everywhere we saw - and also the nicest setting.

Muhajir, his brother and the chef Roy run the place and are the loveliest hosts. The bungalows were only opened this year and are lovely, clean and set around of a little pond with red lotus (and no mozzies!) Muhajir's uncle is a fisherman and would come by with what he'd caught that day (often still wiggling!) and Roy would cook us delicious dinners which we enjoyed on our veranda, listening to the sea. Breakfasts were great too (opt for Keralan Upma and Fruit salads - we were addicted).

We've put some piccies up on our blog if you'd like a look: http://alongnicewalk.tumblr.com/

We've been travelling around India for 3 months and this place was just what we were looking for. You get up every morning to watch the local fishermen pulling in their nets (sometimes they ask you to help!) We had a sunset ride out on a home-made canoe - it all feels a lot more beautiful and less touristy than Varkala cliffs.

We meant to stay a few days and ended up booked in for 2 weeks. It's been one of our favourite places in India - I'm loathed to share it on trip advisor because it is a great secret little place, but I'm sure it won't stay off the radar for long!

Massive thank you to Muhajir and everyone for looking after us.
We'll be back!!

Room Tip: There are 4 identical bungalows, all looking out over the sea. If they are full, Muhajir's uncle has 4 similar ones next door (Red Lotus Cottages).
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhajir M, Owner at Maadathil Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews