We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay!”
Review of Black Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Time of Visit - Mid September;
It was the end of Monsoon, when it rained the rooms would drip {It was negliable}.
View from the room was excellent, had specifically asked for Sea Facing villa, which was arguably the most closed cabin from the sea. In Night if you could listen to the waves if you could ignore the AC noise.
Kitchen was closed due to Onam week, But it was a huge disappointment for me as i had to look for option out for food.
Hired a bike for sight seeing. Check on rate with multiple vendors before you finalize. I opted with hotel guys they ripped me off with their commission. I had 40% lesser option when enquirer d outside.
Kappil Lake and Anjengo Fort was worth a visit. Loved the drive with my wife.

Food - I tried all the restaurants for one sitting, I found most of them to be good and tasty(If you can take coconut oil cooking). You would miss an experience if you limit to one. But you mus be ready to pay more understandably they business is season driven. They make their money only during 4-5 months in a year.

Thumbs Down :: No Kitchen, Bike rates high, Receiptionist must atleast know english/Hindi, Dripping room(they must find a solution) may lead to fire hazard as the room are made of Wood.
Thumbs Up :: Sea View, Sun Set, Evening Walk, Kappil Lake, Welcoming stalls for shopping your souvenir

You may find foreign national more in number than Indians in and around beach.

Room Tip: For beach view Sea View heritage, but beware the room leaks during rainy season.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karthigeyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Black Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place is right on the cliff top and has a good lawn right in front so you have have a relaxed time in the evening. I really liked the wood work that was done in the rooms. The staff was good and really helpful.
It is located at a very good spot on the cliff which is not far from all the shacks on the cliff and as well as lets you have some silent time in the room.

Strongly Recomended

Room Tip: The rooms which are in front of the lawn are the best ones
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jegan4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

the hotel is on a great spot on top of the cliffs of varkala. we loved our stay there, staff was friendly and the room was fine. the price was a bit high but it might be because we booked too early. all in all though it's a good place to spend some days in wonderful varkala

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely "garden" > very clean & perfect for chillin in the sun! Free Wifi, very nice people + the location is perfect, as the hotel is located at the end of the little "strip" (don't feel disturbed in any way when hanging there)> but think in small dimensions > just takes a walk of 1 minutes to get to the first of plenty of restaurants.
If i'd come back, i'd stay at the Black Beach!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauraaa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in the first bungalow closest to the beach. The cottage is made of carved wood with an attached porch that leads onto a curvaceous red and white tiled walkway across a short-cropped green lawn. Our son loved to run on the lawn between the little lights that punctuate the grounds at night. The black beach itself was under water during our stay (with its accompanying price drop). However, we enjoyed the walk along the cliff to get to North Beach. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and kind while never being intrusive. Our room included a soft bed, large flat-screen TV, AC, and hot water. The on-site restaurant is clean and available at most hours for set meals as well as some special orders.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaiya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

There is no beach at Black Beach - the nearest one is a very hot 30 minute walk along North Cliff. Aside from one or two trophy rooms the rest are average. The food is nothing special. The biggest problem is that it presents itself as a premium place but it is literally in the middle of nowhere and everywhere you might want to go to is a long hike. Avoid.

Room Tip: Sea view generally doesn't actually have a sea view! Avoid!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was here for two weeks with our yoga-group together in January, 2013. Hotel appears really wonderful! Placed in wonderful quiet place, near the ocean. Every evening we were able to watch sunset, sitting on a green lawn, under palms... Wonderful times.... Personnel works carefully and professionally. Rooms are big and clean, beds are very comfortable, my back rated it)) Many thanks to the staff for all staff together for making good impression about vacation for us, and for administrator Sarath separately for doining his best , resolving problems with bagage for my friend Karina! ; -)

Helen

Room Tip: The closer is the room to the Reception, than better is WiFi )
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlenaTykhomyrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.0 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $21 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Beach Sea Face Resort Varkala is one of the leading luxury resorts in Varkala. Our affordable tarriffs and dedicated services in the industry help us to be the number one resort in Varkala, Kerala. We focus on the quality services which will be a great state fore the visitors. Black Beach Sea Face Resort makes your holidays more comfortable and joyful... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Black Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing