We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times at Black Beach!”
Review of Black Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great times at Black Beach!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely "garden" > very clean & perfect for chillin in the sun! Free Wifi, very nice people + the location is perfect, as the hotel is located at the end of the little "strip" (don't feel disturbed in any way when hanging there)> but think in small dimensions > just takes a walk of 1 minutes to get to the first of plenty of restaurants.
If i'd come back, i'd stay at the Black Beach!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauraaa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
28
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in the first bungalow closest to the beach. The cottage is made of carved wood with an attached porch that leads onto a curvaceous red and white tiled walkway across a short-cropped green lawn. Our son loved to run on the lawn between the little lights that punctuate the grounds at night. The black beach itself was under water during our stay (with its accompanying price drop). However, we enjoyed the walk along the cliff to get to North Beach. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and kind while never being intrusive. Our room included a soft bed, large flat-screen TV, AC, and hot water. The on-site restaurant is clean and available at most hours for set meals as well as some special orders.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

There is no beach at Black Beach - the nearest one is a very hot 30 minute walk along North Cliff. Aside from one or two trophy rooms the rest are average. The food is nothing special. The biggest problem is that it presents itself as a premium place but it is literally in the middle of nowhere and everywhere you might want to go to is a long hike. Avoid.

Room Tip: Sea view generally doesn't actually have a sea view! Avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was here for two weeks with our yoga-group together in January, 2013. Hotel appears really wonderful! Placed in wonderful quiet place, near the ocean. Every evening we were able to watch sunset, sitting on a green lawn, under palms... Wonderful times.... Personnel works carefully and professionally. Rooms are big and clean, beds are very comfortable, my back rated it)) Many thanks to the staff for all staff together for making good impression about vacation for us, and for administrator Sarath separately for doining his best , resolving problems with bagage for my friend Karina! ; -)

Helen

Room Tip: The closer is the room to the Reception, than better is WiFi )
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlenaTykhomyrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas. The location of the property is great, at the most quiet end of the beach and with extremely well-kept gardens running down to the sea.
We stayed in one of the wooden houses right by the sea, which seem to be a lot better than the rooms in the main building. Our room was spotlessly clean and nice and bright. It had everything we needed - big bathroom, good AC, big fridge and a view of the ocean.
This is not a service-driven hotel (!), in fact there's not very much service at all - but we actually liked that, we were left to our own devices and not interrupted at all - a very relaxing beach atmosphere.
The manager (we assume he is the manager) was very attentive and helpful when required to be and was very eager to help.
All in all a clean, quiet, relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in one of the wooden rooms by the sea. The ones in the main building were a bit drab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ_DEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the best located hotel along the north cliff ( I don't know about the south cliff). And if you are in one of the villas, u are in style! Its been renovated so everything is new and clean. There is no swimming pool and the hotel restaurant is not open yet. But the big lawn on the beach side and the close access to beach makes up for these. Then there is wood house restaurant on the left with a great view and Trattorias a few steps up right where one can spend idyllic hours enjoying the sea.

They were nice enough to let us keep the room a couple of hours after check out time to accommodate our travel time. Make sure that you have your travel plans(return tickets) intact though, as the hotel staff or nearby travel agents are not of much help in this regard!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MehrinShahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

very Good place..lots of kekdas were thr :D was there for one night only... I think 2 nights are more then enough for ths lovely place…..ppl like me whos pure veg will surely face a problem of taste.too much spicy food ….. but overall good experience…the best part about the place is its beach..private beach with electricity!! Rooms were too good..balcony ke baare mei to puchho hi mat... wow...acording to me THIS IS THE BEST PLACE To stay in Varkala !! Thums up

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ_ADITI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.0 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Beach Resort

Property: Black Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Beach Sea Face Resort Varkala is one of the leading luxury resorts in Varkala. Our affordable tarriffs and dedicated services in the industry help us to be the number one resort in Varkala, Kerala. We focus on the quality services which will be a great state fore the visitors. Black Beach Sea Face Resort makes your holidays more comfortable and joyful... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Black Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing