We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place for breakfast in Varkala!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coffee Temple

Coffee Temple
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We want you to feel comfortable and looked after in a lovely setting overlooking the main beach, with classic tunes, free WiFi ,filtered water and newspapers, friendly staff and dogs. Our coffee is ground to order, and freshly made cakes are made throughout the day.Hard to beat in Varkala We have a new menu (3 years in the making!) Mexican dishes served all day. A huge array of breakfast items served from 630 a.M until lunchtime at least. 27 chilled / icy fruit juices plus a dozen smoothies to choose from. If you're after some authentic keralan dishes, try our acclaimed Masala Dosa , and one or two other indian breakfast items. Our new list of snacks includes the popular veggie burger and falafel wrap, cheesey chips. Recently added to Coffee Temple is our Wood Fired Pizza Oven , and we now serve them, with accompanying Italian dishes from lunch till 10.pm
LONDON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best place for breakfast in Varkala!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

So glad our friend introduced us to Coffee Temple. It really is THE place for breakfast. Don't be fooled by it's slightly ram-shackled appearance - that's it's charm! And yes, sometimes the service can be a tad slow but that's just how things seem to go in Varkala. The staff are all friendly and laid back and Les, the owner, is a great guy, so ignore the bad reviews and go try their fruit salad, coconut pancakes, eggs on toast, mugs of masala tea, caffeine fuelled cappuccinos and delicious juices, and sit back and take in the sea views. As for the reviews that say it's expensive, we must have only spent a fiver each day for two breakfasts with at least two coffees and two juices, which i think is extremely reasonable.
And do try the banoffee pie - a fantastic afternoon sugar rush if you need it.
I'd also recommend as another great place to watch the sun go down!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank estellebaylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    247
    78
    20
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varkala, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The best coffee you can get on the cliff!! Perfect place to sit and relax, read a book and enjoy a latte. And don't miss the pancakes!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancinggirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cook tried to stab customer with a knife”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Walked into the coffee temple this morning as it looked cool and had a good name. They have pictures of different Indian gurus on the wall like Yogananda and Amma which is inviting. About two minutes into ordering our meal, one of the cooks from the kitchen bursts out of the kitchen brandishing a knife swinging it at a customer he got in an argument with. Everyone was cussing.

The owner didn't do anything other than to tell the cook "easy, easy".

No thanks. I left immediately.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee, shame about the price and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The coffee here is amazing. Best in Varkala? Probably. One of the best I've had in India. Worth paying the premium for.
Food quality also good, less value for money though.
However, they trade on the coffee quality alone it seems as the service is poor, which lets the place down, and the prices are high, even for Varkala.
Beans on toast for 80INR, one slice of toast, a small spoonful of beans. I wouldn't pay a pound for that in the UK! Tasty but tiny.
Desperately need a couple more staff to take orders and settle bills, or a bit more organisation. Very frustrating seeing tables taken up for too long at peak times by people clearly trying to pay & leave or still waiting to order, while two staff run round making fresh orange juices. I'm all for freshly squeezed but a surely stuff like this could be done an hour or two in advance?
Great coffee, just a shame they can't get make it a more relaxing experience to grab one on the way to the beach.
Tip to the owners....pretty sure you'll see a return in profits if you invest in a few more tables and staff for breakfast time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best coffee on the Cliff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thank goodness for Coffee Temple!! It's run by europeans and they have the best coffee and banoffe pie to be found! Thank you Leslie!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripwmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Temple also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Coffee Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing