We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Coffee Shop that makes is Possible to live MONTHS in Varkala”
Review of Coffee Temple

Coffee Temple
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We want you to feel comfortable and looked after in a lovely setting overlooking the main beach, with classic tunes, free WiFi ,filtered water and newspapers, friendly staff and dogs. Our coffee is ground to order, and freshly made cakes are made throughout the day.Hard to beat in Varkala We have a new menu (3 years in the making!) Mexican dishes served all day. A huge array of breakfast items served from 630 a.M until lunchtime at least. 27 chilled / icy fruit juices plus a dozen smoothies to choose from. If you're after some authentic keralan dishes, try our acclaimed Masala Dosa , and one or two other indian breakfast items. Our new list of snacks includes the popular veggie burger and falafel wrap, cheesey chips. Recently added to Coffee Temple is our Wood Fired Pizza Oven , and we now serve them, with accompanying Italian dishes from lunch till 10.pm
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The Coffee Shop that makes is Possible to live MONTHS in Varkala”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good or Bad. For a coffee addict, this place makes it possible to happily stay in Varkala for months. I really doubt i would have stayed as long as i did if "Coffee Temple" did not exist. Top marks!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    254
    81
    20
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view and great coffee.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Best coffee on Kerala made by Stanly, friendly owner. Feel free to hang out there from morning to evening, drinking espresso drinks, eating cakes or breakfast. Enjoy the great view of fishing boats and dolphins.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank osnat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best chai in India”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This quirky little coffee and tea stall offers snacks and small meals too. Just on the cliffs above Varkala. The coffee and masala chai are amongst the best I have tasted. The service is very friendly . If you are going to Varkala do try this place out. It opens early morning. Les who runs it is an English gent from London I think and he sometimes offers accommodation to travellers who can spare a few days to help out and give him a bit of down time. I doesn't look like slave labour!
Finally it is quite a location. Enjoy.
There are some photos helpfully put on other reviews of this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelaqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love It!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Best coffee on the cliff made by friendly owner. Feel free to hang out there, drinking espresso drinks, eating cake or breakfast. Some of the better coffee you'll find in India.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivingIF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best coffee on the Cliff”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

After nearly a month of traveling around India & Nepal we crazed for decent coffee.

Coffee Temple, runned by Les from London, provided not only that but much more.

A fantastic breakfast, warm and attentive service, tranquil/relaxing atmosphere, with gorgeous view of the Arabian Sea and a perfect place to start or wind down the day.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Temple also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Coffee Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing