We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place with family atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keratheeram Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jaisalmer
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“lovely place with family atmosphere”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My room was booked already before I arrived at middle of Night from train station. The Owner is so nice. She was so helpful. They offer me kerala food. as i had few meals their home with other family member. the great sea food and coconut and fish curries with rice. Delicious.
I stayed there almost 2 weeks and I really enjoyed stayed there. room was specious with fan, mosquito net and hammock. The price was so nice... all in my budget which make me stay more.
Just thanks to make this energy. will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAsharaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    42
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
93
93
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Keratheeram Beach Resort for just 3 nights and we all wished we could have stayed for longer. Priji and Saji are such warm, kind and genuine people: they are great hosts! The rooms are clean and spacious and the location is excellent - very near the cliff with all the best restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlashpackerOz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our trip to Varkala was a rewarding one and so was our stay at Keratheeram. It's just half-a-minute walk from the cliff from where you can get amazing views of north and south cliff of Varkala. Staying there was a real value for money and the rooms were pretty comfortable with all the basic amenities. Well, the best USP is their hospitality which knocked me down completely. Firstly, we have been welcomed from the station uptill the resort. We fell sick in between our trip and the owner (Priji) took effort to find required medicine for us instead of a public holiday in a Sunday evening. Such help is really commendable and gave us a feeling of home away from home. If you are looking for a decent homestay with good hospitality without much luxury, Keratheeram is the place for you.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Varkala is a gem in itself and so is Keratheeram. The rooms are neat and practical. the bathrooms are spotless. The hosts are very helpful. We called them to ask for directions so they met us halfway to the resort. True it's in the middle of a lot of guest houses ,but the location is good. A minute's walk will take you to great views. The lunch served was authentic south Indian and we loved it. The hostess also served us with great care. The rooms have a narrow verandah attached which is great for reading. They have a decent collection of books you can read from. The also at very short notice arranged a cab for us to go to Alleppey . At 400Rs a night it was totally worth it. I will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shwetasque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Sometimes it pays to read between the lines when it comes to TA. I booked here on the high ratings on TA. There are much better options around at this price in off season.
Firstly the positives:
Very comfy beds with mosquito nets, which means you can keep the windows open.
The rooms, bathrooms and sheets are very clean.
We were provided with a morning cup of tea and biscuits.
At 440 INR, off season, the rooms are cheap.
They are centrally located.

Now some negatives:
The rooms are smallish.
The guesthouse is located in a cluster of guesthouses on a laneway to the cliff. This means little privacy. The communal verandah is narrow, people pass by your room to get to their own and If they are noisy,or even chat, you will hear every word from your room. The lights from the adjacent guesthouse verandah shine through the curtains. If you hang out on verandah, you can almost look into the rooms over the way.
There is a noisy, yelping dog nearby.

The managers/owners also attempted a swift rip off when the bill was presented. A neat rounding up of450 INR was added. Hmmmm!!! I have always found the people of Kerala so honest and was shocked by this. On pointing out the rort to her husband, he returned the extra, and apologised. So, watch that final bill!!
The woman here also asked where I was moving to and why. I found this intrusive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgana3761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Well what can i say... I stumbled upon Keratheeram by accident and what a good stroke of fortune for me. The rooms are simple and lovely. Four poster beds with very clean sheets, comfy pillows and mosquito netting. Attached is a cool tiled and roomy ensuite. With a hammock on the balcony and a little table setting too.
As the home stay is right on the cliff the breeze coming through the windows at night and the peaceful ambiance are a real haven. The true gem of this home stay is not only the unbelievably reasonable pricing but the genuine home stay experience. Saji, her husband and little son are gorgeous! politely offering tea or coffee in the mornings and food made for any meal you would like. I never once have felt intruded upon.
I came down with a terrible fever a few nights ago and Saji's husband maintained a respectful check my progress and summoned Saji's brother to take me to the hospital. He was there in minutes and stayed with me for hours at the hospital to make sure i was ok and bring me home safely. A true gentleman wanting nothing in return for such a kind favour.
I cannot recommend Keratheeram enough! Take a chance on my review and do yourself a favour.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the cliff have a lovely garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Friendly family atmosphere, very clean room with private bathroom, just few houses from the sea, very good value of money. Spent 5 nights there and enjoyed my stay very much. Was really great to watch beautiful sunsets and not to worry about finding place I stay in the darkness. It's also very safe there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailes_lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Varkala
31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 50 in Varkala
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keratheeram Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keratheeram Beach Resort

Property: Keratheeram Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Keratheeram" is situated near the popular Middle Cliff, is a peaceful heaven for the visitors, and caters to their needs. Mindful of their comforts, we have provided adequate and comfortable accommodation, wholesome ethnic food, and assistance to visit places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Keratheeram Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keratheeram Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing