We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rajadhani Fifth Season Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Loved this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Surprised at last reviewer as we found this to be excellent value (specially as we booked for 27th December just a few days before)- but maybe that's because we come from England. The little houses were in beautiful condition, wooden beds, tastefully decorated, air condition was silent and worked well. Nice towels, nice beds. Great location - right on the North Cliff - amongst everything. And the wi fi worked okay in our room. Very helpful staff. Just a couple of things to note - you need to pay in cash, no cards. And there's no safe facilities - even in office -but they will keep your valuables in the office for you if required (at your own risk). Right next to great coffee bar. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenGapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Pros:
1) Location. Rajadhani is situated right in the middle of the North Cliff, next to the Coffee Temple and a few metres away from the German Bakery.
2) Easy to reach the place
3)Air conditioned rooms to relax in after a swim in the beach

Cons
1) Wifi did not work in the room
2) Bathrooms kept running out of water
3) Very low water pressure in showers
4) Rooms not cleaned regularly
5)Cottage has just a bedroom and a attached bathroom

Not worth the 4.5k I paid in Dec for a cottage for a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JovieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I visit Varkala often and my preferred location is on the North Cliff near the taxi stand. Normally i stay at the Hill View Resort next door, but this time I gave Rajadhani a try. All round a nice place to stay, but the promised wifi in the cottage never worked and one had to ask at the reception to turn the water pressure up for showers. However, with one of the best coffees in Varkala and the friendliest shop keeper just outside the gate, one can't complain. I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpassionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

As a family we are always delighted to find family friendly hotels and guesthouses. This is one of those places. Incredibly clean, nice hot water to shower the little ones, an extra bed was even placed on the floor to accommodate our two children, making for a very comfortable nights sleep. It's also a huge plus that there's a tv with satellite to catch up on the latest bollywood hits and air conditioner to keep nice and cool (ceiling fan also if a/c isn't your thing). The wifi connection is really good, but if you're without computer they also have an internet cafe open during the day and afternoon. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here, not just families. They are incredibly helpful on all levels. When the power went out, which happens regularly in India, there was someone to come bring us candles and we didn't even ask... they just came right away! Also, the location is central, not too far north and not too close to the helipad and right on the cliff. And There is a coffee shop right in front that opens really early, like 7am, perfect us early risers and the coffee shop has the best banana shakes! Enjoy your stay. We surely did! And we look forward to coming back year after year!

Room Tip: They are all equally good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunkyMonkeyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

As two older women we were very happy with our five night stay here.Taxi able to drive right to door from helipad.
Best beds,crispy white sheets and fluffy white towels with working bathroom made our stay very comfortable.
But for me the best part about this hotel was their extremely helpful ways when during an electrical storm I was bitten by a crazy dog in a near by cafe.They arranged for a taxi to come immediately and take me to The Sivagiri Sree Mission hospital for treatment.The man from the office and the taxi driver came into the hospital, even helping with registration and procedures.This is a new hospital in Varkala and I was most impressed with the standard of the
hospital and the care I was given.
We will definitely return to this hotel for future holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanIchols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

After arriving in Varkala, I left my bag with my friends and spent a good couple of hours walking from the Helipad right down to the far end of North cliff. Of all the rooms I saw and sussed out, Rajadhani was definitely the best.

As with a lot of North cliff accomodation, our room was not simply a budget room tarted up to make it look nice. It was very high quality and luxury throughout. The bathroom was the defining feature for me, not simply a shower sticking out of a wall in a wetroom, but a real walk in shower with closing doors.

The location is ideal with only a short walk to the beach which passes by Coffee Temple and Amma Stores for any convenience needs, and though the evening there are great restaurants and bars going either way.

The staff are very helpful and always on call, any minor issues, like water running out (it gets pumped into a tank from the freshwater spring) or wifi being turned off, are sorted out quickly and in good spirit.

We intended to stay for 4 nights and ended up staying for 10!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do not pick up wifi as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dannydanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was the most comfortable place I've stayed in India. The beds alone made it worth while, they are huge mattress' with lots of clean sheets, pillows, towels. The whole place is super clean and new and classy. Nice staff, no nonsense, mid range price for high end accommodation. In the middle of the cliff, walks straight out into the "Coffee Temple" cafe. Great scene, its a sure bet.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaktiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.0 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#23 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hill View Beach Resort
Hill View Beach Resort
#13 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Savithri Inn
Savithri Inn
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thanal Beach Resort
Thanal Beach Resort
#7 of 93 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rajadhani Fifth Season Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajadhani Fifth Season Beach Resort

Property: Rajadhani Fifth Season Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rajadhani Fifth Season Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajadhani Fifth Season Resort is a family owned establishment nestled atop a spectacular laterrite cliff overlooking the Arabian Sea on the west coast of India. It features six heritage style bungalows built in the traditional way with natural and modern products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rajadhani Fifth Season Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rajadhani Fifth Season Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing