We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gumnut Beach House - Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gumnut Beach House Homestay
Ranked #5 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Gumnut Beach House for ten days this month (Jan 2013). We originally booked for four days but extended it to ten. It was a lovely place to stay with big clean bedrooms and bathrooms. We stayed in the room upstairs and loved sitting on the balcony watching palm tree tv in the afternoons. There was also a kitchen downstairs that we used to make breakfasts in the morning and cups of tea or coffee when we wanted. It was great to be able to make at least one meal for ourselves and handy to have a fridge that we could use to keep drinks cold as well.
Rose and Radha were wonderful hosts and helped us to arrange a few things that we wanted to do while we were there. We mentioned that we wanted to learn to make mango pickle and Rose helped us arrange a local lady - Padma to teach us. Padma's husband Kumar translated everything for us in impeccible english. It was a great experience.
Overall, it was a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. The location is on south cliff and is a short walk into town or over to North Cliff - very convenient. It is very close to the beach, but it is still in a quiet and tranquil location. We loved it and will come back to stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rochelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Gumnut during January 2013. We loved the location, very close to the beach, super restaurants near by and a lovely house with very kind hosts. The rooms are spacious and are very clean, with everything working properly (after 2 weeks in India this was a big thing). We had a huge balcony where we could play games or just relax. Our host, Rosemary, could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for her, showing us around the local town and temples through to organising transport and details of local attractions - thank you Rose!
Very good value and it does what it says on the box, great place for couples and families - cooking facilities, large kitchen area and washing provided too ;-)

Room Tip: Speak to rose beforehand about what you want and she will make sure you get the right room. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 15 nights at Gumnut Homestay in Varkala and would definitely recommend it. The things which impressed us the most were; the cleanliness (room was immaculate), space (large bedroom and spacious bathroom), facilities (well designed bathroom with hot and cold water, and a shared kitchen with fridge, kettle and toaster) and the lovely, spacious balcony where we could sit and read/ have breakfast/ aperitifs etc. Tea, coffee and milk were provided in the kitchen and Rose, the owner, brought us fresh fruit from the garden, which made for a very nice breakfast each day. Rose also helped us with advice on trips to go on (train times, etc), best places to eat and dealing with the local scooter hire firm when our bike broke down. We felt looked after and appreciated as guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our first stop in India and provided a quiet, clean, peaceful introduction.
It's a short walk from here to the beach and a little further along the clifftops to the heart of the tourist action.
Our room was clean and spacious, and the balcony was delightful.
It's a shame we missed Rose, but Rhada was a fine host.
Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank missamberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Myself and my partner had a great stay at the Gumnut Beach House in Varkala. Usually we are very hard to please but this place ticked all the boxes. The rooms and the building itself was immaculate, although its been there for a few years it looks brand new. Rose the Australian born owner and her husband Radah could not have been more helpful and were always on hand to offer invaluable information about local authentic restaurants or sites beyond the beautiful beach. The house is located in peaceful surroundings on Varkala's South Cliff, worlds away (but within walking distance) of 'The Strip' on Varkala's North Cliff.

We were staying in a room at the top of the house and we had a huge private balcony all to ourselves. There is also a excellent kitchen on the second floor complete with filtered water, fridge, cooker etc should you need them. We we fortunate enough to be given some fresh bananas grown in the garden surrounding the house on our stay - even better than the ones you can buy in the shops!

I would thoroughly recommend this homestay to fiends, couples or families, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floors have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rossweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We booked Gumnut beach house online using www.MyIndianStay.com. Their response was very prompt and our booking was accepted quickly. We stayed at the Gumnut Beach House for a week.Its a great place to stay . The Host gave us a warm welcome at the beach house .The rooms were clean and tidy.It was great that we could cook our own food. Rose was very helpful and help us with our visit to the village.It was a great stay and very much appreciated .
Direct link for this place is
http://myindianstay.com/property/gumnut-beach-house-temple-road-west-janardhanapuram-varkala-kerala-south-india

Room Tip: Book in Advance using the online platform to avoid last minute rush. WE booked this homestay using M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorldTravelerinIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were made really welcome at this beach house home stay. We loved our clean and tidy room and especially the balcony attached. Great to be able to prepare some of our own food and only a short distance from the beach. Thanks so much to our host (Rose) for taking us to town and showing us around - especially appreciated the help to find a really good local place to have a pedicure and manicure(pampering before going home!!) and the opportunity to experience riding on a local bus.We also received help in organising our train trip back to Kochin and Rose got up at 0600 to see us off and made sure our taxi turned up. A two-night stay was definitely not long enough!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.7 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Akasa
Villa Akasa
#3 of 109 in Varkala
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
1.9 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 109 in Varkala
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Eva Luna
Casa Eva Luna
#1 of 100 in Varkala
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumnut Beach House Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumnut Beach House Homestay

Address: South Cliff Temple Road West | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range: $28 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful new homestay: 5 spacious rooms with fans and hot water, all attached bathrooms. 2 Minutes walk from main beach and restaurants. Guest kitchen has complimentary tea, coffee and filtered water. Close to Janardhana Swami temple. Budget accommodation. Lovely quiet area on South Cliff With free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gumnut Beach House Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumnut Beach House Homestay Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing