We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like showing up at a friend home, you felt at home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gumnut Beach House Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

What a great place to call home for as long as you can. Rose is very helpful and friendly, but don't ask to take her picture, she is shy in front of the lens. The rooms are very clean, and you have the use of a kitchen, and drinking water is avaiable for free. It is located away from all the busyiness , in a nice neighbors setting.I look forward to getting back there in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mouchnino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Gumnut Beach House Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

Gumnut Beach House is situated in an ideal location to see, smell and hear the ocean next to the cliffs. The rooms are large and very spacious with new and clean furniture, kitchen facilities, and internet was handy. Surf was great and there are many spots close by for explorers. I had an incident with my board and thankfully was able to get it repaired cheap locally.

Room Tip: Book in advance
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our Indian travelling experience wouldn't have been the same without the kind hospitality and local knowledge of Rose and Radha at Gumnut Beach House. My family and I loved the rooms and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the stay. Great big bathrooms and nice new facilities make it a winner after visiting several other older style home stays which didn't meet our expectations. With great beaches, temples, restaurants and much more Varkala is the place to be on holiday when the winter blues kick in! Book early if possible so you dont miss out on a room when the holiday season starts as we will definatley be coming back next year!
Regards
Scratcher

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank globalwanderer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Traveling alone to India can seem a little daunting to some but meeting up with Rose and radha was very comforting & soon felt that I had known them for years.
Upon opening the front gates, you instantly feel a calming presence as you pass through the tropical gardens. The lush trees & undergrowth provide for the wildlife which is entertaining.
As you approach the front door, you are warmly greeted & invited in for a cuppa & a chat. Gumnut has a personal touch that is lacking in the more established hotels and home stays. I was treated to a tour of the house & noticed straight away that the rooms were spacious & comfortable, the bathrooms spotless.
You can wake up with a warm soothing herbal tea upstairs as a cool breeze gently blows away any humidity.
Rose and Radha were extremely helpful & offered me a personalized tour as well as local information on the best shopping. I even had traditional Indian tattooing at Roses beauty parlor !!!
Gumnut is situated on the southern cliffs & a nice distance from the tourists. It is close to town as well as yoga, meditation and ayervedic treatments.
Gumnut is reasonably priced & great value for money. I am sure they have many travelers returning. Next time plan to stay for 2 months.
See ya next year.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ronny38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Gumnut Beach House is clean and comfortable and relaxing. Hosts Rose and Radha are friendly and helpful and made our stay special. We enjoyed swimming in the beautiful Lakshadweep Sea, shopping, rejuvenating ayurveda massages and visiting amazing places like the ancient Janardhanapuram. The local food was fresh and delicious and I enjoyed learning to cook Varkala cuisine at Rose's beach house too! Very affordable and within walking distance of good restaurants, shops and Papanasham beach. The garden is a photographer's dream -full of beautiful butterlies and birds. Gumnut Beach House is the perfect place to stay in Varkala.

Room Tip: There are lots of rooms to choose from at Gumnut.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zacandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

After staying at the famous, but much to loud and busy North Cliff, we were looking for
a more relaxing place to stay.
We found the newly opened Gumnut Beachhouse, where we became the first Guests.
First, we wanted to stay for one week and then we left after 4 weeks.
It was just to good, to leave earlier.
The location of Gumnut house is ideal. Close to the famous old temple and the more quiet South Beach, but still only ten minutes to walk to all the restaurants and shops of the North Cliff. Varkala Town is only a short ride by rickshaw or bus.
Our room was upstairs and we enjoyed the big balcony.
The bathroom was excellent, because the shower was separated from the rest of the room, which is quite rare in India. Good to have a dry bathroom floor.
The Guest Kitchen and Dinner Area on the first floor is quite large and open on two sides,
with a fresh, airy views to the surrounding gardens. The views are even better from the terrace
of the top floor room. When this room was not occupied, we enjoyed the sunsets from the hammock on this terrace. The whole house is always kept very clean. Rose, who runs the place, looks really after her guests. She organised a day-tour to Neyardam Park for us. She provided a lot of information, books and even a DVD Player to use, for us.
Thank You Rose and Radha! You made us feel like home.
We really can recommend the Gumnut Beachhouse in Temple Road, West in Varkala Kerala.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mr_Kurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

After roughing it for far too long, my friends and I were desperate to find accommodation that would restore our faith in the Indian travel circuit: clean, trustworthy and good value for money! Gumnut was just what the doctor ordered, and more - a place to relax, rewind and revive.

From the moment we arrived Rose and Radha made us feel welcome, treating us like visiting friends: giving us good insider information about the area - such as where to go for the best shops, tailors, beauticians and restaurants - introducing us to a lovely local lady for cooking classes, lending us DVDs and demystifying Indian life for us a little bit by answering our many questions. The rooms were brand new and kept impeccably clean, with towels and sheets provided for and replaced regularly, and the kitchen was a real coup as we were able to prepare our own meals, for a nice change. Although we weren't based on the North Cliffs (they were a short, but pleasant walk along the beach away) our location was still close to a number of restaurants, the main beach AND and alternative southern beach, and put us in a quieter, less touristy area. Music from the nearby temple was played quite loudly and late into the evening, which was a mild disturbance to our sleep, but all part of the experience and nothing the soft beds couldn't make up for!

With a total of six months experience traveling through India I know when I've come across a real guest house gem, and I cannot recommend Gumnut more.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank natfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.1 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#21 of 52 in Varkala
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumnut Beach House Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumnut Beach House Homestay

Address: South Cliff Temple Road West | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range: $34 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful new homestay: 5 spacious rooms with fans and hot water, all attached bathrooms. 2 Minutes walk from main beach and restaurants. Guest kitchen has complimentary tea, coffee and filtered water. Close to Janardhana Swami temple. Budget accommodation. Lovely quiet area on South Cliff With free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gumnut Beach House Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumnut Beach House Homestay Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing