We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome staff and food. always consistently great.”

Abba restaurant and Everest German Bakery
Ranked #3 of 90 Restaurants in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: One of the biggest restaurants on Varkala Cliff. ABBA is the only restaurant on the cliff who has got Certificate of Excellence 6 years in a row. We are famous for our excellent service and high quality food. ABBA Restaurant is located on the cliff with an amazing seawiev. Our customers use to enjoy the sunsets when they enjoy a drink or some early dinner. We have a library where you can exchange books for free and we provide toys for the children so they can play on the big lawn.
Varkala, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“awesome staff and food. always consistently great.”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Excellent food, you can trust them with everything. They take a lot of care with properly preparing food, very safe. And the staff are very good genuine, hardworking people.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessicaM1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    216
    91
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

i had the salad nicoise and it was delicious! the staff are friendly and nice. i only wish they would actually play some ABBA.

Helpful?
Thank Stella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, fast service.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

- Their burgers are great
- Great indian / swedish dishes as well
- Amazing Lasagna
.
Didn't dislike a thing about this place. Check it out if you're in Varkala.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank James_Christiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Abba is the best!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We came here everyday and loved it! The staff are so friendly and accommodating. And the breakfasts are honestly the best we've had in India so far!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krishnagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go for margaritas rather than food!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Sadly, Abba didn't prove to be a dancing queen during our stay in Varkala. We found the food rather insipid. It was saved only by the excellent margaritas. Slightly more upmarket than the majority of its neighbours, like them, Abba has a huge menu. In fact it menu is even more extensive - it even manages to include schnitzel with humus and pitta bread. Everything we tried was edible but bland - apart from the margaritas that is. It seemed as though they'd forgone spices, herbs and anything that adds flavour in order to appeal to a mass market. Go for a drink and maybe a meal but don't expect the food to excite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abba restaurant and Everest German Bakery also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Abba restaurant and Everest German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing